We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at the Holiday Inn rosebank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One night at the Holiday Inn rosebank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I wanted to redeem my Points and decided to stay my last day in Joburg at the Holiday Inn Rosebank
Well located , on top of the Zone shopping mall and few steps away from the Rosebank mall
No club floor and no suits but the rooms are nice and well decorated
Nice breakfast
overall experiences - very good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and writing the rewiew on our hotel and that your stay with us was satisfactory. We do hope that when you are visiting Johannesburg again that we can be of service to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    91
    28
    3
    6
See reviews for
21
35
17
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for the first time in a while, since I usually stay at the HI in Sandown. Expecting a similar if not better experience, I was let down. Very little recognition of Priority status upon check in and during stay, so don't expect much. The hotel is attached to the Zone shopping centre, which is good for bars and amenities, however the room I had was overlooking the main street of the Zone and was very noisy, especially as it was Heritage Day. Rooms are quite small and this was supposed to have been one of the better rooms. I had to reset TV and search for channels every day, which was quite annoying as the TV would stick on one channel.

Amenities: Don't think you are going to have a swim in the pool - it is more decorative than functional. Service at poolside was non existing and I had to constantly walk in to the bar. Breakfast was ok, but quite limited. Nice Omelette making station and personnel friendly. Hotel bar very small and the hotel can seem quite claustrophobic after a couple of days. Wifi - quite good that it is free to all, but only 30MB per day and only other option is to buy, no conventions or benefits for priority members........... unlike all other HI hotels in SA and generally worldwide.

All in all, ok, but for a 7 day stay, it just didn't meet my expectations. Which is a pity as I travel often to SA and I like the Rosebank area. My suggestion would be to check out the Sandton HI, which for similar pricing is much more modern, better equipped, with much better breakfast and pool/services well in advance of this HI.

I did speak with the duty manager on a couple of occasions to try and resolve some of my disappointments, answer - I will inform the manager, who never contacted me or was any feedback provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Zone street if you dont want noise. Also lower level rooms better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my sincere aplogies for the areas that we have let you down. All the points that you have mentioned will be actioned immediately and where possible rectified.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Rosebank quite a few times now when I'm in Johannesburg on business.

The room rates are good compared to nearby hotels and the location is convenient for both the local mall with a good selection of restaurants and of course the Guatrain to and from the airport.

Breakfast is also a treat, with the restaurant staff doing a great job.

What let my stay down this time was a lack of hot water. I informed the front desk when I left for dinner, staggered into bed after a very long day at work later that night and then found that there was still no hot water the next morning.

I'm not a pampered traveller, but hot water is pretty high on my scale of must haves..

Room Tip: Try getting one with hot water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay and that overall you found everything to your satisfaction, especially access to the Gautrain and surrounding areas. Thank you also for your comment regarding our breakfast. My sincere apologies for the problem that you encountered with hot water. This has been investigated and and in line heater was found to be faulty, which has since been rectified.
We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and looke forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Although quit modest compare to Hyatt next door or crown plaza, butbgoog rooms, excellent location ( on the mall at train station) , helpfull staff
The room facing the road are noisy, I insisted and got a rear room but it was on noisy hvac equipment
There is no spa in the hotel and a very small gym room

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the road and far away from the noisy hvac equipment on top of the mall roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was
pleased to note your satisfaction with our location and most of our services offered. My sincere apologies for the problems you encountered with your room and from the feedback received from yourself, these will be dealt with immediately. In particular I was perturbed to learn that there was an smell of cigarettes in the room and this issue has already been dealt with and the particular room deep cleaned and deodoroised.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Pluses:
- price was right - used Priority Club award!
- great location 50m from Gautrain, which takes you to/from airport
- adjacent to hugh shopping mall with lots of restaurants
- new - built for 2010 soccer world cup
- free breakfast, at least with our rate
Minuses:
- small guest rooms
- some things don't work (two lights were out, drain in shower was slow, sylilsh shower fixture was difficult to figure out and sprayed cold water on both me and my traveling companion
- for some reason they put the hair drier by the small desk in the bedroom, so that became the vanity, precluding other uses
- bed was hard
- nonsmoking room had been smoked in bathroom

Room Tip: Check that room doesn't smell smoky before settling in. Change room if it does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Many thanks for your succinct review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is pleasing to note that you found our location to the surrounding area to be convenient and helpful with access to the Gautrain and the adjoining shopping centre. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the maintenance issues that you experienced which have all been rectified since reading your review. The particular room has also been deep cleaned and the smell of smoke has been removed.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Well-placed for Gautrein and Zone shopping centre (and do yourself a favour, go for a steak at the Grill House).

Rooms are very well furnished - modern, but not quirky, just quality.

Great views out of both sides of hotel - its on a hill so you'd expect that but its lovely to watch the sunrise in the morning at breakfast and sunset from your bedroom in the evening (if you're on the West side as I was).

Parking is a bit weird - you are told you have to pay forty rand once and then get your parking tickets authorised at reception. There seems to be plenty of parking though.

Noise - on the East side you have Oxford Road which can get a bit busy. Quite quiet on the Western side although there is a noisy airconditioning plant.

'Free Wifi' - or at least 30MB a day - is a total ripoff. I have my own 3G dongle that I used at work during the day. Even with some pretty extensive use I only managed to get through about 40 MB during the day. The '30 MB 'free' allowance' at the hotel was gone in about 10 minutes of very light use. This seems - as with the 'damage' to rental cars that requires you to check every last scratch on a car with 40000 km on it - to be a South African wheeze to get more dosh out of tourists and businessmen. Rather get your own dongle or be prepared to pay some very expensive rates for wifi!

Minor point - while the desk and chair in my room were absolutely brilliant to work at, the universal plug didn't allow me to fit my UK plug as it was only slightly above the desktop and the cable wouldn't bend. However, the South African plug was upside down and allowed me to fit my SA-UK converter plug - and then my laptop's plug - upside down as well.

Only free newspapers for Priority Club members? Very irritating although the staff were kind and helped me the first couple of days. I don't particularly like buying one from my car on the way to work but that might be the only option (or go to the garage on Oxford Road).

Beware that there is apparently no recirculation system for hot water in the hotel (which are designed to constantly circulate hot water so it comes hot out of the tap pretty soon after you turn it on) so if you're the first person on your floor to have a shower, it might take up to five minutes for the hot water to come through. In this time - if you're in a shower-only bedroom with the ridiculous wet-room approach where there is no shower door or curtain - the bathroom will be swimming in freezing cold water. I just don't know where some of these architects get their stupid ideas from! I understand the architect for Holiday Inn is a certain Louis Karol from Cape Town. Well the similarly-named Lewis Carroll (fair enough it was a pseudonym but don't bore me with detail) wrote 'Alice in Wonderland' which sort of sums up my feelings about pseudo-architects that can't restrain themselves from designing rubbish hotel rooms! It seems to be a disease in South Africa. Perhaps we should say 'Alles verlore in Wonderland' - I know I did on the second morning when I got all excited at the hot water coming out of the sink tap, got into the shower, lathered myself up with shampoo and soap (I'll leave that mental picture without any more detail) only for the hot water (which presumably was the end of the last person's shower on my floor) to abruptly stop and the water to turn cold. Can you imagine it. At that stage I would have loved to throttle the architect(s) or maybe arranged a public hanging. On enquiry at reception I was told they stay at this hotel on trips to Johannesburg. Well I hope - if it hasn't happened yet - that they have the same experiences as me and might finally understand what those discredited Western-style architectural tomes they probably dismissed as naff were trying to tell them about R.E.C.I.R.C.U.L.A.T.I.O.N M.A.I.N.S in hotels!!!

You may be asking why I've still given this hotel a good mark. Well - compared to others - its actually very good. The staff are unfailingly pleasant and patient (they obviously have to be with me) and the main bedrooms are very nice. The TV is good with four Supersport channels as well (although they should stop kowtowing to Asian visitors who want Hong Kong racing and leave them set to Supersport 1,2,3 and 4 as listed in the hotel guide). The malls in which the hotel is located have all the major shops and some very nice restaurants. If you don't go to the Grill House at least once on your visit you'll live to regret it - but watch out for the halaal Mike's Kitchen (at least the halaal Spur waitresses tell you you won't get pork or booze before you sit down!).

And could those pseudo-architects please tell me the reason for the ghostly green light under the handbasin? Totally weird and a waste of a good light switch that could have been used - with a light of course - to better illuminate the strangely-placed wardrobe (which is very difficult to put your clothes in as its squeezed in right next to the bathroom door). Oh yes, and that bathroom door. Which part of 'privacy' didn't they understand? While I admittedly was alone in Johannesburg on business, even then I felt exposed doing my toilet, because the frosted glass on the almost all glass door isn't all frosted and you can see out from (and of course, into!) the toilet and shower. Imagine if my wife was with me?! Doesn't bear thinking about......

Room Tip: Go for the West side but to the South of the lifts then you should avoid the noise of the aircon pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is not often that we get detailed feedback and we will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned. Thank you for the positive comments realting to our team, whicyh are greatly appreciated from a discerning traveller.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I spent around 2 weeks in Holiday Inn Rosebank. Generally the hotel is average. Location is excellent as it is attached to Rosebank Mall so you do not need to go out if you want to have dinner - go to cinema - shop... etc. Staff are average, they are not those smiling staff but still they help you if needed. The big disavantage there is rooms- while I had a room with very good view but the room is small and its ceiling is low which annoys tall people like me. I did't feel happy in the room. Their breakfast is fine.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel during your November stay. I was pleased to note that overall you found everything to be in order and that you found the convenience of the hotel an advantage. Thank you also for the comments relating to our team, which will be adressed with the team and my sincere apologies that we let you down. Cognisance is also taken of the comments regarding room size and ceiling height.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.