We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight camp for animal lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park
Save
You added Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park to your Saves list
Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overnight camp for animal lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My friend and I were in South Africa last February.
I already had been here in November 2008. The Reason was a documentary about the lion man, which had seen. I was so thrilled, so I had to take my friend over here.
In contrast to 2008, the tents have own bathrooms (with shower) now.
The tents are equipped with four beds, two in the fisrt rooom and another two in the back.
Behind the second room you find the bathroom.
You have a refrigerator and microwave, towels, soap, shower gel and shampoo.
Everything is clean.

You can sit on your terrace in the evening and you can watch the animals right in front of you.
It's fantastic.

You can ride through the terrain with your car and watch lions, cheetahs, hyenas and jackals. You'll see black wildebeest to giraffe, antelopes, leopard, black leopard, caracasl, wild dogs, spotted hyena and black-backed jackal. Then you'll find seven large herbivore species, bles-buck, water-buck, springbok, impala, zebra, gemsbok and black wildebeest - BEAUTIFUL.

You also can enjoy all the animals on a guided tour. That's interesting, because you'll get a whole lot of information about the various animals.

If you want to, you can cuddle lion cubs.

My favorite is Gambit, the giraffe (see the pictures I took). I alreday had fallen "in love" with him in November 2008. I was happy to find him healthy. By the way: You can watch his sister Purdy, but she's a little bit shy. Both of them (and the ostriches) like the pellets you can buy for less money.

You can get breakfast and a snack in the evening in the restaurant.

Resume: It's a must for animal lovers and don't forget your camera!!!
It's a special feeling to be in bed and hear the lions roar pretty next to you.

Room Tip: Animal lovers - BOOK IT!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The accomodation rate is very reasonable as it can be upgraded to go on a day/night game drive for just an additional R100 which gives you R150 savings per game drive. The tent we got for which we paid for double occupancy has 1 double bed and 3 single beds! The bed and pillows are comfortable. The tent has huge zipped windows which you can unzip to allow the cool breeze to get in. It is equipped with a small fridge (with freezer!), drinking glasses, cups, plates and utensils. The balcony has a picnic table and bench (camping chairs are also available inside) and a bbq grill for an authentic South African braai! It's perfect for groups and families. The bathroom has hot/cold shower. Towels and toiletries are provided too.

The tents face the game park so as you get out of the tent, you could see bucks and zebras.
The night is perfect with the cold Johannesburg climate and "wildlife sound"! The tent is inside the game park where we do game drives and so when I went outside I saw 2 zebras strolling behind our tent. It's amazing how the sound of lions filled the night!

The park has excellent curio shop with most of the African souvenirs you can think of. Right next to it is a restaurant that closes the kitchen at 5pm so beyond that time until 8 pm they will only serve pizza.

The game drive is great especially if you do not have time to visit Kruger Park. Since this is a small park, sightings are guaranteed... and since it's a lion park, there are plenty of them! It is nice to go during feeding time.. but I must say, they the cubs really look cute even when they are devouring bloody meat!

The highlight of my stay is the interaction with the "super cute" cubs. It was really amazing. We went in the afternoon to see them but with the numerous visitors, each person was only given 5 minutes to be with the cubs. Since we stayed for the night, we had the chance to spend more time with the cubs after most people have left. They are like giant puppies that love to lick and give playful bites! i felt so sad that I couldn't have one of them.. they are amazing!

Ooopss.. and by the way, there are giraffes roaming around.

This is an excellent overnight destination. One night per visit is enough as you will run out of things to do.. but I will definitely go again for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best time to come to the park is early morning. We came at about 8:30 on Wednesday (February), and there were just a few people, so we had lots of time to take pictures with the giraffe and lion cubs, not being disturbed and waiting in a queue. It's life time unforgettible experience to touch and pet lion cubs, I don't know any other place in the world where you can do it freely. The pictures are amazing! Then we made a self-drive and saw a lot of white lions and a cheetah. Also the curio shop is a good place to buy T-shirts with South African animals. We enjoyed the lion park a lot and hopefully will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I came here with my family for the whole day including the night. We loved the day and went on a night safari, but then a storm started. The bathroom was horrid, a rusty old shower and rank toilet were included. Considering the accommodation was a tent (but had concrete base, windows, bathroom and wooden frame) it was handled pretty well by the storm. A noisy night was bad, but was made up by the two giraffes by the fence in the morning. DON'T WORRY THEY WILL NOT HURT YOU BECAUSE THERE IS A STRONG FENCE BETWEEN YOU!!! Quite unclean and a medium walk between the tents and the park. I wouldn't recommend it as the quality wasn't great and had very unhelpful staff, but for animal lovers and campers would be great.

Room Tip: No tips because tents are basically all the same! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you didn't get a chance to see Lions in the wild in the parks, this is the place to do it. We wished that there had been more (or more accurate) information provided though. the staff were remarkably unhelpful and, at times, downright rude. The tent was spacious and well-equipped for the 4 of us. The outdoor private bathroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. We wished we had been told that the tent was fully equipped with Brai, dishes for 5 and pots and pans. On our one night there was an electrical storm, which put out the lights. We spent the entire evening and night in darkness not knowing that all we had to do was go around the back of the tent and flip the breaker switch. We discovered that all on our own in the morning or we would not have had hot water for showering. We had also been told that the restaurant would be open for dinner but when we arrived to eat we were told it was not operating, which was pretty frustrating because we had not brought much food (not knowing we could cook ourselves and having been told that the restaurant would be open). Again, the staff were rude and unhelpful. Highlight of our stay was being hands-on with the lion cubs, seeing the Giraffe wandering through the restaurant and watching the lions feed on the night safari. Low points were lack of information and the staff... the terrible, terrible staff.

Room Tip: All the tents are in good locations. Bring your own food to braii and don't expect any help at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a great time staying at the Lion Park! The tent is not a luxury tent, but did the job. Wear warm clothes in the tent during the winter season, since the tent is heated with only a fan heater. The stay included access to the lion cubs and self-drive. A great value!

When we first got there, there was a huge giraffe sitting in front of our tent! It was a special experience being able to touch the giraffe next to our tent, even though we got to feed him the next morning in the giraffe feeding area. I highly recommend the giraffe feeding, because the two giraffes are very friendly and gentle! I just love those two giraffes!

We went twice to play with the Lion cubs. The first time was at night, and the cubs were all awake and very friendly. The second time was in the morning when they were all napping and a bit grumpy. They can be quite scary when they are grumpy so I recommend going a bit later in the day when the sun is not as harsh. Regardless, we still got some nice photos.

The staff there are just wonderful! They would ask us what time we planned to have dinner so they had it prepared when we got back. We also had a braai dinner one night and they prepared a buffet with salads, sides, and meats for us. We were the only guests staying that night so we had the buffet to ourselves, and since it was during the chilly season, they set a table for us in the conference room. They made us feel really special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

When visiting the Lion Park you should realise that it is not one of the big game reserves South Africa is well known for, like the Kruger Park. If you want to see animals in their natural environment, drive approx. 4 hours east and visit the Kruger Park. That said... we loved our stay at the tented camp of the Lion Park. It is amazing that you can hear lions roaring whilst looking at the lights of Jo'burg in the distance.

A very special treat for all three of us (my husband, daughter of 7 and myself) was the giraffe that slept in front of our tent. Now, even for people visiting the Kruger Park regularly, this was an amazing experience! The giraffe is very tame, and even came close enough for us to touch it, which meant that we did not have to stand in line the next day to feed and touch the giraffe.

The tents were very comfortable and clean with everything we needed, including a braai, cutlery, microwave oven, kettle and bathroom annemities.

One of the advantages of your overnight stay is the upgrade that you can purchase at a very reasonable price to go on the night drive. This was an amazing experience. It is difficult to imagine that the lions are the same as the ones you see during the day, as they are nocturnal.

The service we received from Cecilia when booking the accommodation was not to be faulted at all. She went out of her way to assist us.

Staying at the Lion Park is very good value, in my opinion. You experience a little bit of nature (especially during the night when you are woken by lions roaring... in the middle of Jhb!!) for the price of a commercial hotel. Do yourself, and your little ones a favour and visit the Lion Park for the day, or if at all possible, for an evening. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the tents with an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

Address: Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.