We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright, but chose bad night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park
Save Saved
You added Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park to your Saves list
Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alright, but chose bad night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I came here with my family for the whole day including the night. We loved the day and went on a night safari, but then a storm started. The bathroom was horrid, a rusty old shower and rank toilet were included. Considering the accommodation was a tent (but had concrete base, windows, bathroom and wooden frame) it was handled pretty well by the storm. A noisy night was bad, but was made up by the two giraffes by the fence in the morning. DON'T WORRY THEY WILL NOT HURT YOU BECAUSE THERE IS A STRONG FENCE BETWEEN YOU!!! Quite unclean and a medium walk between the tents and the park. I wouldn't recommend it as the quality wasn't great and had very unhelpful staff, but for animal lovers and campers would be great.

Room Tip: No tips because tents are basically all the same! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you didn't get a chance to see Lions in the wild in the parks, this is the place to do it. We wished that there had been more (or more accurate) information provided though. the staff were remarkably unhelpful and, at times, downright rude. The tent was spacious and well-equipped for the 4 of us. The outdoor private bathroom was clean and the beds were comfortable. We wished we had been told that the tent was fully equipped with Brai, dishes for 5 and pots and pans. On our one night there was an electrical storm, which put out the lights. We spent the entire evening and night in darkness not knowing that all we had to do was go around the back of the tent and flip the breaker switch. We discovered that all on our own in the morning or we would not have had hot water for showering. We had also been told that the restaurant would be open for dinner but when we arrived to eat we were told it was not operating, which was pretty frustrating because we had not brought much food (not knowing we could cook ourselves and having been told that the restaurant would be open). Again, the staff were rude and unhelpful. Highlight of our stay was being hands-on with the lion cubs, seeing the Giraffe wandering through the restaurant and watching the lions feed on the night safari. Low points were lack of information and the staff... the terrible, terrible staff.

Room Tip: All the tents are in good locations. Bring your own food to braii and don't expect any help at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and my boyfriend had a great time staying at the Lion Park! The tent is not a luxury tent, but did the job. Wear warm clothes in the tent during the winter season, since the tent is heated with only a fan heater. The stay included access to the lion cubs and self-drive. A great value!

When we first got there, there was a huge giraffe sitting in front of our tent! It was a special experience being able to touch the giraffe next to our tent, even though we got to feed him the next morning in the giraffe feeding area. I highly recommend the giraffe feeding, because the two giraffes are very friendly and gentle! I just love those two giraffes!

We went twice to play with the Lion cubs. The first time was at night, and the cubs were all awake and very friendly. The second time was in the morning when they were all napping and a bit grumpy. They can be quite scary when they are grumpy so I recommend going a bit later in the day when the sun is not as harsh. Regardless, we still got some nice photos.

The staff there are just wonderful! They would ask us what time we planned to have dinner so they had it prepared when we got back. We also had a braai dinner one night and they prepared a buffet with salads, sides, and meats for us. We were the only guests staying that night so we had the buffet to ourselves, and since it was during the chilly season, they set a table for us in the conference room. They made us feel really special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

When visiting the Lion Park you should realise that it is not one of the big game reserves South Africa is well known for, like the Kruger Park. If you want to see animals in their natural environment, drive approx. 4 hours east and visit the Kruger Park. That said... we loved our stay at the tented camp of the Lion Park. It is amazing that you can hear lions roaring whilst looking at the lights of Jo'burg in the distance.

A very special treat for all three of us (my husband, daughter of 7 and myself) was the giraffe that slept in front of our tent. Now, even for people visiting the Kruger Park regularly, this was an amazing experience! The giraffe is very tame, and even came close enough for us to touch it, which meant that we did not have to stand in line the next day to feed and touch the giraffe.

The tents were very comfortable and clean with everything we needed, including a braai, cutlery, microwave oven, kettle and bathroom annemities.

One of the advantages of your overnight stay is the upgrade that you can purchase at a very reasonable price to go on the night drive. This was an amazing experience. It is difficult to imagine that the lions are the same as the ones you see during the day, as they are nocturnal.

The service we received from Cecilia when booking the accommodation was not to be faulted at all. She went out of her way to assist us.

Staying at the Lion Park is very good value, in my opinion. You experience a little bit of nature (especially during the night when you are woken by lions roaring... in the middle of Jhb!!) for the price of a commercial hotel. Do yourself, and your little ones a favour and visit the Lion Park for the day, or if at all possible, for an evening. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the tents with an en suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

First of all we'd like to say thanks to staffs... They were so great. Thank you about the information about wild animals, no more to open a book or watch national geographic. You all told us everything!!
For the park... It was wonderful. We had only one day in Johanesburg that time, to spent our day at the park it was worth a lot. We did day safari and continued by night safari... at the same park but too much different feelings. Both safaries were fantastic. We played which lion cubs (they were so cute and amazing), walked with cheetah (unforgetable experience, I was scared to touch it at first, my husband not, but at last I was so enjoyed) , saw lion feeding ( it was amazing for a human like us to see wild animal like lion eating wildly) If you plan to go there , these three things might be unable to miss. Enjoy!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Haven't stayed at the park yet (see other traveler reviews) but I was trying to book in for me and my wife over 2 nights using email. I have sent four emails over a month and a half to them (I am in Australia), had one reply to the first email with a promise to have it followed up and to get back to me, and then absolutely nothing in response to the next three. I won't be staying here as I cant seem to book it, and if this is an indication of their "customer service" I am totally less than impressed. Maybe the visitors to the lion cubs mean they don't need overnight visitors? Try elsewhere and just do the day visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

During a working visit in Johannesburg, I found a few hours, which I took to nature.
Since Lions Park is located close to town I chose visited there.

Advantages of the place are:
1. Petting lion cubs.
2. The park provides a close encounter with the lions.

The disadvantages are:
1. Except lions and Wild Dog, the place does not offer any special animal viewing (maybe far away giraffe).
2. Guided tour only goes one for two hours, so if you miss it, you're stuck for two hours without doing anything.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park

Address: Corner Malibongwe & R114 | Lanseria, Johannesburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildside Tent Camp Lion Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.