We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Village Green Guest House to your Saves list
Village Green Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 259 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
clacton-on-sea
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The Village Green Guest House has been one of our best stays on our around the world trip. All the members of staff and owners have been very helpful and meet all our requests quick and efficiently. If you want a small and friendly place to stay I would recommend it. The guest house is very clean. The gardens are excellent and very private. You will feel very secure here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much at our guesthouse. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are back in Johannesburg! Good luck with the rest of your trip around the world! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
19
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This boutique location is tiny - five guest rooms only, but it compensates by providing quality accommodations, with large, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, large, well-appointed bathrooms and an attentive staff.
The gardens, which surround the guest rooms, are nicely maintained, as is the small pool area.
The car-park is safely behind the entrance gates. There is a small strip mall diagonally opposite the B&B, which has three restaurants (Italian, Oriental and a cafe), a quality greengrocer's, a bottle shop, a pharmacy, a pleasant and well-stocked bookstore, and a variety of other stores.
Zoo Lake is a ten-minute walk away.

The B&B is in a safe neighborhood, but be cautious at night.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in the converted house, and are very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your informative review! We are very glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!! All the best in the new year! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This guesthouse is in a well-kept period dwelling with pressed steel ceilings and wooden floors in a residential neighbourhood. It is well located to Joburg business destinations such as the CBD, Braamfontein, Parktown, Rosebank, Melrose and Sandton. It is close to Zoo Lake and is adjacent to a small local business centre with a number mid-range non-franchise restaurants, green-grocer, pharmacies and a Spar grocer.

The room is well furnished, has a quality bathroom of reasonable size a TV with the full DSTV channel selection and sitting area. There is access to a small garden and swimming pool.

The breakfast selection is moderate but adequate. The English breakfast is a full plate and is freshly prepared on order.

There is onsite parking behind secure walls and gates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Many thanks for your very informative review. Your effort in compiling this very descriptive review is very much appreciated! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Village Green Guest House for one night on our way home from Tanzania back to Australia - not enough time! The room was spacious and nicely appointed, the complimentary soft drinks in the fridge (for the first night of your stay) a nice touch. The place has a quiet and cozy feel about it, and the staff are very lovely and helpful. The guest house is just a few steps away from a small shopping mall and restaurants and if you like Indian food, we can highly recommend the Taste of Punjab. You'll be spoilt for choice with Jacques' (the manager) list of things to do around the area or further afield. When we come back to Jo'burg we will definitely make sure that we stay for a few nights!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so very much for submitting your feedback on our guest house - we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Village Green Guest House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thank you for the lovely evening we spent at Village Green guesthouse. It was lovely to spend some quiet time away. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Thank you to all the staff for their friendly smiles and always eager to please attitudes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many many thanks for submitting your review and feedback of the Village Green Guest House! We really appreciate it! We look forward to seeing you again and making your next visit as enjoyable as your first! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left was an amazing experience. The atmosphere was so friendly, the service we received was exceptional from Jacques and staff. The accommodation was luxurious and relaxing, will be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We really appreciate your time in submitting this review! Your thoughts and opinions mean a lot to us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bathrooms are just as spacious. The friendliest staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The Guest House has exceeded all of my expectations... The property is well situated near many Johannesburg attractions and businesses. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts and feedback for Village Green Guest House! We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay - and we hope to be welcoming you back in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Guest House

Address: 25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Green Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Guest House offers spacious and luxurious accommodation in Johannesburg, South Africa. With free WiFi, breakfast and satellite television. With a four star rating, our en-suite rooms provide comfort and relaxtion in a peaceful and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Village Green Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.