We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Village Green Guest House to your Saves list
Village Green Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I had such a wonderful stay at the Village Green Guest House!

The garden that surrounds the house has clearly been lovingly tendered for many years and provides a place for relaxation and reflection. The décor is elegant and yet it still manages to exude a very homely feel for the weary traveller.

I found the staff to be super friendly and very helpful. The facilities were also superb as it catered sufficiently for the needs of business people and holiday makers alike, providing free wireless and braai and swimming facilities.

I look forward to slipping under the soft duvet covers and waking up to a yummy breakfast again!

Thank you to all involved!

Room Tip: I loved the Palm room, its doors open out onto the garden, which you can look at from your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of our guest house with Tripadvisor - we really appreciate it! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you again in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is the first stop that was made when I reached South Africa. It was beautiful. The rooms are nicely appointed and each one appears to be different. My room faced the courtyard and pool and almost next door to the kitchen where you could order what you wanted and have it cooked to your specifications. The host and help were excellent in helping you. It is also located up the street from the Zoo park lake and a few shops and restaurants. You are enclosed behind a wall (like most of the homes and B&Bs were) but when you stepped out it became lively. We walked down to the lake which was about 2 to 3 blocks down. It was peaceful and serene. I was enchanted by the atmosphere of the rooms and courtyard. I loved waking up to the sunlight streaming into my room through the french doors and windows. I would definitely go back to this one.

Room Tip: My room was on the west side of the building and had french doors that led directly to the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi there!! Thank you very much indeed for your constructive reply, and thank you for positive comments! We sure hope to see you soon! All the best from us at the Village Green Guest House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A group of us stayed for a family wedding and we were all very happy with our accomodation. Breakfasts were very good with fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals and a cooked "English" breakfast. Each room had tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge with milk supplied. Staff were very willing to lend plates and cutlery for us to make a picnic lunch to eat on the premises and as the shops were a five minute walk this was easy to arrange. A little further away was the Zoo Park with a boating lake to saunter round.

On site it was pleasant to sit by the pool although in mid March the water was pretty cool.
Jacques, the manager arranged taxis to places of interest and ascertained the cost beforehand. On the day of my departure as no-one was booked into my room I was given the use of it until late afternoon.

I would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Prices vary between rooms, all are pleasant but "Rose" is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Village Green Guest House! And we would like to thank you for submitting your review with Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Village Green was recommended by a friend who lives near-by. We were booked in here for 2 nights but stayed a third. It was so comfortable and at the end of our 3 weeks it was too nice to leave for another day of driving! Our room is the one in the picture. It is huge. There's a lovely sitting area and a large bath and French doors to the charming garden with several seating areas. Breakfasts are large and beautifully cooked to order and the mini frig comes stocked with waters and soft drinks at no charge!The little cache of delectable shortbread is not to be missed! The housekeepers are friendly and helpful,especially Demarise, who got the spots out of our laundry and ironed the shorts!

The neighborhood is charming and quiet with handy stores and restaurants a block away. We drove to the the Apartheid Museum and the Sunday craft Market with no problem. The neighborhood is not central but is beautiful and safe, very near the zoo and a lovely park.

Room Tip: The Rose room is very large and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and informative review - we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last night of our trip through South Africa and couldn't have been happier with our choice! We arrived and were told that we had been upgraded to a bigger room, which was absolutely lovely. The two women who tended to breakfast were so nice, as was the manager, Jacques. The neighborhood was cute, and there were a couple of restaurants right in walking distance. Jacques was able to help us hire a driver to take us around town (to the apartheid museum, etc) and the price was much more reasonable than it would have been to hire a taxi off the street. We would definitely return to Village Green and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself so much! We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Johannesburg, we'll think of some other exciting outing's for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a nice place! It's quit and save and everyone around is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Next time we go to Jozi, we'll certainly stay at the Village Green Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in future! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I had to spend one night in Johannesburg. I can't imagine I could have found a better place than the Village Green, especially at the price I paid (less than US $100). I stayed in the Rose Suite, which was spacious, beautifully furnished, and very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous. Best of all was the incredible service from the staff, led by Manager Jacques Kotze. Even before I booked the room, he arranged for a tour of Soweto on the morning of check-out to start an hour earlier than usual so that I would have time to catch a flight later in the day. When I arrived, on a Sunday, he arranged for two pairs of pants and a jacket to be pressed at no extra charge. The Village Green, located in one of Johannesburg's safest neighborhoods, is, without doubt, the best B & B I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Rose Suite, which is where I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for your kind words! We loved having you and making sure that you had everything you needed! We would love to see you again in future! All the best! Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Guest House

Address: 25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Green Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Guest House offers spacious and luxurious accommodation in Johannesburg, South Africa. With free WiFi, breakfast and satellite television. With a four star rating, our en-suite rooms provide comfort and relaxtion in a peaceful and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Village Green Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.