We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Green Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Village Green Guest House to your Saves list
Village Green Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Stafford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well situated and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

A group of us stayed for a family wedding and we were all very happy with our accomodation. Breakfasts were very good with fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cereals and a cooked "English" breakfast. Each room had tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge with milk supplied. Staff were very willing to lend plates and cutlery for us to make a picnic lunch to eat on the premises and as the shops were a five minute walk this was easy to arrange. A little further away was the Zoo Park with a boating lake to saunter round.

On site it was pleasant to sit by the pool although in mid March the water was pretty cool.
Jacques, the manager arranged taxis to places of interest and ascertained the cost beforehand. On the day of my departure as no-one was booked into my room I was given the use of it until late afternoon.

I would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: Prices vary between rooms, all are pleasant but "Rose" is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Village Green Guest House! And we would like to thank you for submitting your review with Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Village Green was recommended by a friend who lives near-by. We were booked in here for 2 nights but stayed a third. It was so comfortable and at the end of our 3 weeks it was too nice to leave for another day of driving! Our room is the one in the picture. It is huge. There's a lovely sitting area and a large bath and French doors to the charming garden with several seating areas. Breakfasts are large and beautifully cooked to order and the mini frig comes stocked with waters and soft drinks at no charge!The little cache of delectable shortbread is not to be missed! The housekeepers are friendly and helpful,especially Demarise, who got the spots out of our laundry and ironed the shorts!

The neighborhood is charming and quiet with handy stores and restaurants a block away. We drove to the the Apartheid Museum and the Sunday craft Market with no problem. The neighborhood is not central but is beautiful and safe, very near the zoo and a lovely park.

Room Tip: The Rose room is very large and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Public Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind and informative review - we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to see you back again soon! Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last night of our trip through South Africa and couldn't have been happier with our choice! We arrived and were told that we had been upgraded to a bigger room, which was absolutely lovely. The two women who tended to breakfast were so nice, as was the manager, Jacques. The neighborhood was cute, and there were a couple of restaurants right in walking distance. Jacques was able to help us hire a driver to take us around town (to the apartheid museum, etc) and the price was much more reasonable than it would have been to hire a taxi off the street. We would definitely return to Village Green and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Jo'burg!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed yourself so much! We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Johannesburg, we'll think of some other exciting outing's for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

What a nice place! It's quit and save and everyone around is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Next time we go to Jozi, we'll certainly stay at the Village Green Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in future! Kind Regards. Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I had to spend one night in Johannesburg. I can't imagine I could have found a better place than the Village Green, especially at the price I paid (less than US $100). I stayed in the Rose Suite, which was spacious, beautifully furnished, and very comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous. Best of all was the incredible service from the staff, led by Manager Jacques Kotze. Even before I booked the room, he arranged for a tour of Soweto on the morning of check-out to start an hour earlier than usual so that I would have time to catch a flight later in the day. When I arrived, on a Sunday, he arranged for two pairs of pants and a jacket to be pressed at no extra charge. The Village Green, located in one of Johannesburg's safest neighborhoods, is, without doubt, the best B & B I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Rose Suite, which is where I stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you so very much for your kind words! We loved having you and making sure that you had everything you needed! We would love to see you again in future! All the best! Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Village Green is a great place to stay in Johannesburg. It's located right in the middle of Parkview, one of the nicest suburbs with a really friendly feel about it, and Village Green has the same 'home away from home' quality. The staff are so friendly and the breakfasts are wonderful (as is Demarise's shortbread!) - rooms are large and well-equipped and the pool, set in lovely gardens, is beautiful. This really is a place you can relax, kick off your shoes and maike yourself comfortable. The rates are extremely reasonable for the quality of the accommodation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Many thanks for your review! We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in future! All the best! Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here for only one night during the World Cup.

We were welcomed so warmly, and given a welcoming glass of sherry whilst signing in. The manager was a bit flustered by the chaos of the World Cup, but did a great job, as did her assistants.

Our room was one of the smaller ones, but loads of room and a big bathroom. There was a queensized bed and it was very comfortable. We had access to the garden through french doors. Other rooms were bigger and you'd feel quite comfortable there for a long stay. There is also a pool, but it's not heated. Breakfast was included in the dining room and we had fruit salad and then a cooked meal - made by the ever-smiling staff.

We ate dinner over the road in an Italian restaurant (Francos?) and it was great and so reasonably priced.

Staff organised a tour of Soweto for us and I'd recommend it. We made sure to leave a decent donation with our guide to help the local community.

The only reason I marked it down a bit on price was that we were gouged because it was the World Cup, but then every hotel was gouging and it wasn't just this place. Their usual rate is less than half of what we paid and we'd stay there again if we were back in Joberg.

Almost forgot - it's got FREE wifi - fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauriefender, Guest Relations Manager at Village Green Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for your response! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, the World Cup period was a time on its own, being very busy and hectic! But we appreciate the fact that you said you would happily return! It means the world to us! Thank you so much for your support and we look forward to welcoming you again in future! Kind Regards, the Village Green Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Green Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Green Guest House

Address: 25 Tyrone Avenue | Parkview, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Green Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Green Guest House offers spacious and luxurious accommodation in Johannesburg, South Africa. With free WiFi, breakfast and satellite television. With a four star rating, our en-suite rooms provide comfort and relaxtion in a peaceful and secure environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Village Green Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Green Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.