We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genesis Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Genesis Suites to your Saves list
Genesis Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for money apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely Self Catering Hotel that was clean, neat and striving for excellent service. The main ensuit has a open bathroom (no privacy if you are modest) with no seperation to the bedroom.The other bathroom was a little to small for comfort. The Hotel Staff were very friendly and obliging (top 2 staff were Hlope & Tutu].Staff and management went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The Deco of the apartments were stylish and modern, with your needs for a longer stay catered for. The rooms were also very warm due to the under floor heating. Ask for the north facing rooms in winter. Parking was in the basement, and security was seen all over the Hotel. In short, lovely place for a short stay in the city of gold.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding our Suites and Our Staff. We have passed your comments onto both Hlophe & Tutu.

Perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order for me to make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is as comfortable and as enjoyable as your first one was.

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Kind Regards
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    73
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
75
26
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed in one bedroom apartments on several occasions. It has all the facilities for comfort: microwave, fridge/freezer, tv, hi-fi, desk, kitchen utensils, crockery, teas/beers/wine, good lighting and a balcony. Separate bedroom, bathroom and WC are all stylish and modern and the built in wardrobe contain lots of hanging and shelving space. Light and airy, clean and secure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

My team and I were delighted to have read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I must confess, I had an exciting and wonderful stay at the hotel. Their bedrooms are very neat and the interior design is so lovely, I will definitely be back. One guy at the reception called Hlophe , I hope I got the name right. Lol was very nice to me . I will recommend this hotel to every first traveller to South Africa , the neighborhood is very secured and guarded 24/7 by security guards. Above all I love this place because of the privacy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review us on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as it is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing to try and make our guests feel as comfortable as possible.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing. Perhaps when planning your next visit to South Africa, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is again as comfortable and as enjoyable as your first one was.

Yours sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during September 2012 for a period of 12 days while visiting a friend of mine. And it was a genuinely great experience.

The staff were very friendly. And a special mention to Larry the restaurant manager who went out of his way with providing a 5* level of hospitality. During my stay there I only had breakfast in the hotel as I was out most of the day, and I certainly did love it. Service in the restaurant was prompt and efficient. They were also kind enough to let me sit and use the wifi.
Check in was nothing but a breeze and similarly was check out.

The rooms were spectacular, comfortable and I had one of the outer rooms, so it had a lovely view of the mountains in the distance. The beds were comfortable and bathrooms were nice. Rooms were cleaned to high standards every day and that too added to the comfort of my stay. Tea and coffee was available in a well equipped kitchen. Unfortunately I stayed during a period where the supermarket was not yet functional. But the location of The Genesis within a complex that now houses a supermarket definitely adds to the convenience of amenities located within a very close distance.

They say a first impression speaks a lot, and I was left in awe with the hotel and more importantly the city.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt, even if you have activities to do in Sandton.

Looking forward to my next stay here when I do visit Johannesburg again.

Cheers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have forwarded your comments on to Larry and his team at the Fairmount Bar & Grill.

We look forward welcoming you back to Genesis Suites.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel. The only complaint is the noise/echo heard early mornings during our 2 week stay which made sleeping in rather difficult as the bedroom windows face the inside. Aircon would have been nice too. Really lovely in all other aspects.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to inform us on the issues you experienced during your stay here at Genesis Suites.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard.

We very much appreciate your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the Genesis for 10 days. An ideal stay for those who have family nearby, and those visiting may need a car to get to places like Sandton and Rosebank. The modern apartments have fully equipped kitchens, great living areas, balconies and secure parking. The staff are fantastic and go the extra mile at all times. There's a great supermarket in the complex for everything you need. The only if is the in room wi fi which is slow, but there is free Wi Fi in the cafe downstairs that serves a great coffee. A great stay, great value and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

My team and I were delighted to have read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

stayed at this hotel in march for a week. Amazing rooms with everything that you need from washing machine to toaster. The hotel is a bit far from everything we had a hire a car in order for us to get around. Its about 20 minutes drive to sandton. There is also a jewish supermarket closer to the hotel which was handy. The hotel staff were brilliant apart from one day staff receptionist (Tutu) who had a terrible attitude and very unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review us on Tripadvisor regarding the service issues that you experienced during your stay here at Genesis Suites.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard, I can assure you that this is certainly not indicative of our usual high standard of service and I have addressed your comments personally with my Front Office Manager.

We very much appreciate your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours Sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
5.7 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
2.8 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#5 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#33 of 71 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premiere Classe Suites
Premiere Classe Suites
#17 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genesis Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis Suites

Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#11 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis Suites and Conferencing offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa’s economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Genesis Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genesis Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.