We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but a bit too noisy from early morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genesis Suites and Conferencing

Save Saved
You added Genesis Suites and Conferencing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Genesis Suites and Conferencing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay for Free!!
Ranked #13 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
1 review
“All good but a bit too noisy from early morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A lovely clean modern hotel. The only complaint is the noise/echo heard early mornings during our 2 week stay which made sleeping in rather difficult as the bedroom windows face the inside. Aircon would have been nice too. Really lovely in all other aspects.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to inform us on the issues you experienced during your stay here at Genesis Suites.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard.

We very much appreciate your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    55
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
20
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently stayed at the Genesis for 10 days. An ideal stay for those who have family nearby, and those visiting may need a car to get to places like Sandton and Rosebank. The modern apartments have fully equipped kitchens, great living areas, balconies and secure parking. The staff are fantastic and go the extra mile at all times. There's a great supermarket in the complex for everything you need. The only if is the in room wi fi which is slow, but there is free Wi Fi in the cafe downstairs that serves a great coffee. A great stay, great value and great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

My team and I were delighted to have read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,
Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

stayed at this hotel in march for a week. Amazing rooms with everything that you need from washing machine to toaster. The hotel is a bit far from everything we had a hire a car in order for us to get around. Its about 20 minutes drive to sandton. There is also a jewish supermarket closer to the hotel which was handy. The hotel staff were brilliant apart from one day staff receptionist (Tutu) who had a terrible attitude and very unhelpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review us on Tripadvisor regarding the service issues that you experienced during your stay here at Genesis Suites.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard, I can assure you that this is certainly not indicative of our usual high standard of service and I have addressed your comments personally with my Front Office Manager.

We very much appreciate your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your stay is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours Sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this terrible hotel some time back in Jan'13 for a 2 day stop at Johannesburg before our trip ot Kruger National Park. The only reason we chose to stay was mainly the rooms looked really good on their website, and of course the price, which were cheaper. Having stayed at over 200 hotels during our trips, this is definitely by far the worst hotel ever. Right from our check-in to the very last minute right after check-out, everything was just downright unpleasant. At the time of check-out we were asked return things which we never borrowed, and charged us for calls never made from our room.
Plus+: Rooms
Minus-: Terrible Service of poor standard, Unfriendly Staffs, Rooms without air-con, Location and Worst Checkout ever

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Genesis Suites & Conferencing, we received your review recently regarding your stay in January 2013.

As mentioned in your review you are a frequent traveller that has stayed at over 200 hotels travelling. It is only by receiving such information from a well travelled and valued Guest, such as yourself, that we are better able to address and rectify any problems we may have.

Yours Sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had just arrived from Kruger and were planning to fly out the very next day to Cape Town. We had booked this hotel based on the star rating on Orbitz and comments from visitors. For tourists visiting Johannesburg this hotel is not ideal because it is not really close to anything. We couldn't tell if this was a "good" area or not. Our view was to a run down shopping center and parking lot that had construction materials piled up on a corner.
It's summertime and it was very warm in our room, I was surprised to find out that there was no thermostat to control a/c. It was disappointing and we cancelled our stay for the our return from Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We were most concerned to receive your comments from Trip Advisor advising us of the disappointment that you experienced during your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

In the meantime, I would, of course, like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to address your concerns with me.As it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to address and rectify any problems that we may have.

As our commitment to Orbitz and based on our high occupancies we were easily able to resell your room and therefore waivered the cancellation charge for the one that you cancelled.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenakmp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Area of the hotel is one of safe areas, but still it is not very safe. The hotel is a commercial establishment, but they didn't have a stamp for invoice, it was weird, not good for business travellers. The menu of hotel restaurant was poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Genesis Suites.

Regarding your invoice, if you made your booking and paid for it via an online travel agency please contact them directly for your invoice. If you booked and paid directly with the hotel please contact us to issue you with a tax invoice that shows our full company details.

Yours Sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The only reason I'm reluctant to give Genesis a 5 star review is that I might battle to get a booking again!

We rented a 2 bedroom suite on the second floor. The check-in was quick and friendly with a porter helping us to the unit. The suites themselves, although not huge, are very well furnished with satellite TV, iPod docking radio, comfortable beds, good quality appliances, granite tops, large fridge/freezer - pretty much everything one would need for a short stay. There is a nice view from the room over part of Johannesburg and secure parking. There is also a supermarket and restaurant in the complex which is very convenient.

We opted not to pay R90 for the breakfast when booking online which was a good idea for us since there is the option to buy food at the supermarket downstairs to self cater or alternatively the restaurant option at which, although I didn't check, I'm fairly sure that breakfast could be had for a lot less. Perhaps the only negative is Genesis is a little bit in the middle of nowhere in the suburbs but if you have a car its fine. Sandton is about 10km away through Wynberg.

All in all an excellent spot and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

My team and I were delighted to have ready your lovely review. We glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Genesis Suites and Conferencing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis Suites and Conferencing

Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#9 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis Suites and Conferencing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis Suites and Conferencing offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa’s economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Genesis Suites and Conferencing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genesis Suites and Conferencing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.