We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genesis Suites and Conferencing

Save Saved
You added Genesis Suites and Conferencing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Genesis Suites and Conferencing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Accra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I came from Ghana and I really love this hotel. It is classy and peaceful , besides all the workers there are extremely friendly and make you feel at home. This guy at the reception help me a lot Hlope Ndzalele.

Room Tip: Call on Hlope Ndzalele at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to Hlophe. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
46
18
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Francistown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Found this place over 1 year ago and have come back about 6 or 7 time amd planning to come in the next few weeks... I think that the quality/price is great! The apartments are nice, spacious and clean. The option to have room service or cook for yourself (nice shop in complex, Spar) is great when with my kids (2 and 4) The staff is Super and patient! Thank Kamo for always helping me, friends and family who stop at Genesis :)
Once again quality/praise you will not find better in jnb.
Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your wonderful comments on to Kamogelo. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place is excelent, area was nice and the room well above average, with 2 balconys and a great room. If your here for a day or a week I would recomend the place as a great alternative to a hotel. If there's more than one of you then don't even look at other places, as this is the best for a group or family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Guest Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have.

It will give us a great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul Park, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was an excellent deal - very inexpensive. Beautifully decorated, huge balcony overlooking Johannesburg, restaurant and grocery store on site. Will definitely stay again. I was there in August of 2010.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I visited this property in early September. The hotel is situated about twenty minutes by car/taxi from OR Tambo IAP. It is in a quiet residential area with a Woolworth's grocery store and gas station nearby. The rooms are quite spacious and offer all the modern comforts of a suite. The downside being only one television. I found the staff to be friendly and ready to help at all times. The property offers laundry service and it was quick, though I wish they had had self service coin operated machines as the service is only operated Monday-Friday. Additionally, the property has multiple ATM's which came in handy in paying for expenses. The staff also set up tours of Johannesburg and Pilanesberg National Park, these were reasonably priced and the guides were very knowledgeable. I visited the restaurant a number of times and found the cuisine to be fresh and good but not great. I am very happy I found this property, I enjoyed staying here! If you are visiting Johannesburg for business, this is probably not the property for you. This is an excellent "escape" type property for those looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown life. It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. Highly recommended and I would definitely stay at this property again! Thank you GSC.

Room Tip: Stay away from the corner/end units as the rooms get a bit warmer than the inner ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and what the area has got to offer. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My daughter had to go into hospital for surgery so we were looking for something reasonably priced yet clean and comfortable and close to Linksfield Hospital .
Genesis Suites and Conference Centre proved to be the perfect spot.
We had a modern two bedroom unit with two bathrooms, perfect little kitchen, and lounge dinning room area.
The beds were nicely made up with crisp clean linen. The bathrooms were spotless.
I have to thank Hlophe the gentleman in reception who went out of his way to sort out a little problem that arose, he went out of his way to get the matter rectified and came up to the room personally to let me know that the problem was sorted out. Thank you Hlophe you were a star.
We stayed there for eight days and when we left it felt like we were leaving home. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

We were delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be particularly helpful. It is the goal of our team here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing that our guests feel as comfortable as possible, so that your stay will be as pleasant and successful as it can be, which might give us the chance to establish a long-lasting relationship.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed for a week at the end of August / beginning of September for work and visiting friends and was reasonably impressed by the facility initially. Having lived in Jo`burg previously for 18 months you tend to know what`s what, so food, drinks and taxi`s all reasonably priced if you know what you are looking for. A lot of staff cleanining floors and railings, but not really doing anything?!?! Bar / restaurant shuts by 9pm latest so that `s not the best. Noisy due to building work from very early in the morning. Main issue was money was stolen from my room on my third day. My fault as i didn `t have the money in the safe at the time as it was on the breakfast counter, but you don `t expect one of the 3 staff cleaning my room to take the money (when I`m sat on the sofa) - pounds sterling, but never the less quite a large amount!!! Spoke to reception regarding this and the guy looked bemused and not helpful at all and in the end i got fed up waiting for a more senior person. Didn `t eat or drink again in the hotel, was very wary when people were in my rooom. Also, used the safe from then on (should have in the first place!!!) No staff followed up my complaint.....enough said.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis Suites and Conferencing, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We were most concerned to receive your comments from Trip Advisor advising us of the disappointment that you experienced during your recent stay, here at Genesis Suites & Conferencing.

I have personally addressed your comments to our Housekeeping & Front Office Departments in order that the issues you have raised can be addressed immediately.

In the meantime, I would, of course, like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to bring these matters to my attention, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to address and rectify any problems that we may have.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Genesis Suites & Conferencing in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Nico Steenkamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Genesis Suites and Conferencing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genesis Suites and Conferencing

Address: 10 Sandler Road | Fairmount, Johannesburg, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#7 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#8 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Genesis Suites and Conferencing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can mix business with pleasure. Genesis Suites and Conferencing offers the best of all worlds. Ideal for work, perfect for play. Set in Africa’s economic hub, Genesis is ideally and centrally located. With easy access to OR Tambo International Airport, the resurgent Central Business District and the cosmopolitan business and leisure suburb of Sandton, Genesis is close enough for you to experience the most attractive of what the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Genesis Suites and Conferencing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesis Suites And Conferencing Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genesis Suites and Conferencing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.