We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great date night...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I have a date night away from the kids every couple of months and either stay at the Sunsquare hotel at Monte casino or at the Protea Hotel Fire and Ice Melrose Arch. This last Saturday we stayed at the Protea Hotel Fire and Ice Melrose Arch and it was great, we always really enjoy it. The staff are very professional and friendly and always greet with a smile. The rooms are very clean, modern and quite spacious. The hotel has a very warm cozy feel to it. The hotel is also very centrally located in Melrose Arch and is situated close to all the shops and great restaurants. We always pick a new restaurant within walking distance of the hotel to try for dinner and then do a nice breakfast at another one in the morning. Our room was on the first floor and it was a bit noisy close to the restaurant / bar area as parties go on late into the night. I would suggest getting a room higher up on possibly the 3rd of 4th floor if you want a quieter room, however it was a Saturday night. We also order the famous milkshakes to the room from the milkshake bar and they were amazing, very decadent.

Room Tip: Try pick a room on the 3rd of 4th floor as if its to close to the bar area it may be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear MichaelIRB6160MJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review us in such an amazing manner after your recent stay with us.

It honestly is quite an honor to know that you selected our hotel to play a small role in making your well-deserved date night, a great one. One of the principles that we live by, is to give our GUESTS the best GUEST service from the second they step into our “little Hollywood”. We strive to achieve this, by embracing all our GUESTS with smiles and efficient service, without fail. Our rooms, though style specific, also aim to provide a warm cozy and spacious comfort in which our GUESTS can lose themselves in. We consider ourselves very fortunate to be located in the Melrose Arch precinct which boasts of a grand array of retail outlets, extravagant stores and restaurants all within walking distance for great convenience.

We do apologize for the slight discomfort that you experienced due to the noise levels coming from our DJ Warm-up sessions that we run from Thursday through to Saturday evening, in order to keep the hotel vibrant and youthful, we do realize that this may not be to everyone’s taste and thus we do have the option of moving GUESTS to higher floors to ensure that their stay is not in the least bit interrupted.

As part of the Fire & Ice! brand, we pride ourselves of our famous milkshakes, which comprises of the greatest tasting natural ingredients and the most delicious quirky flavors that you will never find anywhere else.

We look forward to your next date night with us and making more magical moments with you.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    231
    76
    38
    31
See reviews for
43
123
33
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here one night after we flew in from Chicago. The lobby and rooms are mostly black and white with photos of Hollywood starlets scattered about. The room was clean and comfortable although the trend of having the shower in the main room and not in the same room as the toilet is not for me. There was a shower curtain that you could bring between the bed area and the shower area so it wasn't a problem for one night. We went to the Milk Shake Bar in the hotel. We are in our early 40's and had just finished a 17 hour plane ride so the music was too loud for us and I'm sure we were underdressed but no one made us feel like we shouldn't be there. There is an incredible variety of shakes. I had the Rocky Road which wasn't chocolate based but I'm glad I got it anyway, it was a great combination of flavors. Go have dinner in nearby Melrose Arch at Moyo, that was amazing. Melrose Arch has security so it is safe to walk to the restaurants after dark. Our package included breakfast but we had to leave before they started serving it so the front desk offered to have a boxed meal for us at the front desk when we left the next morning. It was an incredibly generous meal and we kept a few of the items and took them with us and ate them later in the day. The temperature was down about freezing and I didn't know at the time to appreciate this (an experience later in the week has made me appreciate it in hindsight) but you may note that the hotel room does have heat if needed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear BeenTo7Continents,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review; it was certainly a pleasure to read.
Our décor is inspired by the ‘old Hollywood glamour’ hence the lavish black and white star themed finish. We have an exceptional TEAM that ensures that our rooms are always clean and crisp for every GUESTS arrival.

The design of the room is unique, having the shower in the main room is daring and very style specific, as we aim to carry out the whole Hollywood glamour throughout the hotel without losing a beat, we have considered that this might not appeal to the mass and for the privacy of our GUESTS, as you have noted, a shower curtain has been made available to GUESTS in order to divide the bedroom from the shower.

As part of the Fire & Ice! brand, we pride ourselves greatly on our legendary milkshakes with bursts of great flavor and natural ingredients. It caters for those GUESTS simply requiring to lounge and wind down after a hectic day at work or a long flight, like yourself.

We are located within the gated community of the Melrose Arch precinct which boasts of great safety, making taking walks after dark just as safe as staying in. The precinct also engulfs large numbers of chic restaurants, boutiques and shops for all our GUEST’s convenience.
We do have fully fitted air con systems which exude warm and cold air as needed; therefore a winter or summer’s day shall be perfectly accommodated.

We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back and creating more lasting memories with you.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Got here to the bar/restaurant as a walk in and while the decor, tiramasu, coffee and milkshakes were excellent the loud music, however, was offensive to the senses. Would've stayed longer but couldn't handle how bad the DJ was. Sadly disappointing

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Charlie_hodge,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Our product is all about the ‘energy’ and the ‘pulse’ but we sincerely apologize for the slight inconveniences of the loud music in the restaurant. We aim to create an infectious vibe for our GUESTS but we will also monitor the music levels in the future.

Despite the music, we are pleased that the other aspects of our hotel appealed to your taste.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I moved from the hilton sandton to this hotel in order to get the feel of a different area of the city. This was my first time at a Protea hotel and i kind of kept an open mind towards my stay. I was glad i did. I must admit that this hotel may not appeal to every kind of traveller. It is chic, artsy with black and white decor and a pretty much younger crowd. But that didnt take away much. The staff were mostly helpful and friendly (Stella is awesome), the breakfast was a good variety with an inhouse Eggs-pert. The location is perfect for shopping and walking with great restaurants like Moyo's, ocean basket, Meat &Co.
I must warn though that except you want to get addicted, keep away from the Milkshake... it is super awesome and delicious!
All in all, i found the vibe as the most interesting thing there and its usually a result of the beautiful interaction between the guests and the staff.
Most definitely, i see myself returning to this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 9jagirl,

Thank you for the wonderful review, it was quite delightful.

We are pleased that you decided to stay at our hotel for a different feel of Johannesburg, the hotel is unique in its décor as it is inspired from the old Hollywood glamour and has a great vibe to accompany it.

Thank you for such brilliant feedback and praise. It is truly great to know that we have ambassadors in people such as yourself who will always be appreciative of the energy and passion our TEAM have dedicated towards their work. We are absolutely thrilled to be commending our TEAM for a job well done and we will make a very special example of Stella for truly excelling in what she does.

We have an exceptional culinary TEAM that prides themselves in preparing delicious meals for all our GUESTS, with an addition of a super Eggs-pert adding to the experience.

Our location is beneficial as it boasts a wide variety of stores and restaurants for the benefit of our GUESTS.

The gourmet milkshakes that we prepare will certainly have you hooked; there are 36 wonderful flavors to choose from, take your pick.

We have a magnificent combination of GUESTS and STAFF that interact so well with each other; we are glad that you are now part of the Protea family.

We are definitely looking forward to your next visit to our fabulous hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was very nice on the inside. I wouldn't stay here if you and your traveling companion aren't close. The shower is all glass and not in a separate room. There is a curtain you can draw, but then the sink and toilet is off limits to anyone else. Rooms are quiet. I had a medical emergency while here and the hotel arranged for a doctor to come see me in the room!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ClemsunTiger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel pertaining to your recent stay with us.

The Fire and Ice! rooms boast unique classical décor, which is appealing to the eye as we are an experiential hotel.

Our room design might not be to the comfort to all of our GUESTS who are sharing, therefore we would recommend GUESTS to book one of our three corner suites as it has a separate bathroom area making it more sharing friendly. We always want our GUESTS to be met with the urban vibe of what hotel has to offer but also to be upheld with the serenity of a ‘home away from home’.

I am glad that hotel STAFF aided you with the medical assistance that you required and I trust that your health has been restored.

Once again thank you for your review, and we certainly hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is part of Protea chain, located in Northern Johannisburg , within walking distance to excellent restaurants! shopping. About 20 min ride from Apartheid Museum. Very contemporary decor, 60 s retro style with crystal chandeliers and shiny wall paper . Hollywood stars photographs are displayed next to each room in the hallway and inside . Rooms are equipped with coffee station, mini fridge, safe. Interesting set up with bathroom as the shower opens to a bedroom. You can actually take a shower and watch TV. Toilet is in a separate room, which is nice for double occupancy. Sheets are crisp and duvet is warm, pillows comfortable. The hotel has free internet limited to one device per room. Ask at the desk for a voucher to connect a second device. The hotel has a restaurant with very extensive menu, bar and milkshake bar. Breakfast buffet was very nice offering omelet station, fruit, cereal and hot dishes. Very nice and comfortable stay

Room Tip: 214 was good. Quiet for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Olga P,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are privileged to be located in the Melrose Arch precinct, as there is a variety of wonderful stores and restaurants available for our GUESTS pleasure, and the best part is that it’s all within walking distance. Our location is central to many tourist attractions which is highly beneficial.

Our décor is inspired by the old Hollywood glamour and that is carried out throughout the entire hotel, each room is equipped with all the necessary basics for our GUESTS enjoyment. The room has a unique design and yes you get to enjoy watching some telly whilst freshening up for the day.

The housekeeping TEAM always ensures that you are met with a fresh, crisp, clean bed to lay your head down after a long day.

We provide a wonderful array of meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, our chefs take pride in delivering the very best and we are glad that you enjoyed the delicious selection.

Once again thank you for the delightful review; it was a pleasure to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating more fond memories.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I realy like the rooms, the way the are decorated and all furniture in hotel. Just around the corner it's meat co. restaurant with amazing steaks and wines. We did the lion park tour, which is great but they will let you be with baby lions for only little while..max 5mins which was disappointing..back to hotel..staff needs to pay more attention to guests,but they where nice at least. breakfast ok, the highlight is milk shake:))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alybab,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our rooms are uniquely designed with an old Hollywood chic finish; it is a beautiful touch to the modern era.

We are located in the Melrose Arch Precinct which boasts a wonderful selection of restaurants and stores which are beneficial to all of our GUESTS; the Meat Co was indeed a good choice, definitely an opportunity worth trying.

The Lion Park tour is a very popular tour amongst our GUESTS, it is beautiful in terms of the scenery and wildlife available but a true highlight is undoubtedly the baby lion one on one time, the timing is short but that is due to maintaining the safety of all customers.

I do apologize for the inefficiency of our STAFF, I am glad that they were friendly but customer service is imperative therefore the STAFF need not only to be friendly but also treating the GUESTS with the best of what we have to offer as the Fire & Ice! hotel.

I am pleased that the highlight of your stay was the milkshakes; I wonder which was your absolute favorite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.