We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just here for dessert but mmmm....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just here for dessert but mmmm....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Got here to the bar/restaurant as a walk in and while the decor, tiramasu, coffee and milkshakes were excellent the loud music, however, was offensive to the senses. Would've stayed longer but couldn't handle how bad the DJ was. Sadly disappointing

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Charlie_hodge,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Our product is all about the ‘energy’ and the ‘pulse’ but we sincerely apologize for the slight inconveniences of the loud music in the restaurant. We aim to create an infectious vibe for our GUESTS but we will also monitor the music levels in the future.

Despite the music, we are pleased that the other aspects of our hotel appealed to your taste.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    184
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
31
89
26
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I moved from the hilton sandton to this hotel in order to get the feel of a different area of the city. This was my first time at a Protea hotel and i kind of kept an open mind towards my stay. I was glad i did. I must admit that this hotel may not appeal to every kind of traveller. It is chic, artsy with black and white decor and a pretty much younger crowd. But that didnt take away much. The staff were mostly helpful and friendly (Stella is awesome), the breakfast was a good variety with an inhouse Eggs-pert. The location is perfect for shopping and walking with great restaurants like Moyo's, ocean basket, Meat &Co.
I must warn though that except you want to get addicted, keep away from the Milkshake... it is super awesome and delicious!
All in all, i found the vibe as the most interesting thing there and its usually a result of the beautiful interaction between the guests and the staff.
Most definitely, i see myself returning to this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 9jagirl,

Thank you for the wonderful review, it was quite delightful.

We are pleased that you decided to stay at our hotel for a different feel of Johannesburg, the hotel is unique in its décor as it is inspired from the old Hollywood glamour and has a great vibe to accompany it.

Thank you for such brilliant feedback and praise. It is truly great to know that we have ambassadors in people such as yourself who will always be appreciative of the energy and passion our TEAM have dedicated towards their work. We are absolutely thrilled to be commending our TEAM for a job well done and we will make a very special example of Stella for truly excelling in what she does.

We have an exceptional culinary TEAM that prides themselves in preparing delicious meals for all our GUESTS, with an addition of a super Eggs-pert adding to the experience.

Our location is beneficial as it boasts a wide variety of stores and restaurants for the benefit of our GUESTS.

The gourmet milkshakes that we prepare will certainly have you hooked; there are 36 wonderful flavors to choose from, take your pick.

We have a magnificent combination of GUESTS and STAFF that interact so well with each other; we are glad that you are now part of the Protea family.

We are definitely looking forward to your next visit to our fabulous hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was very nice on the inside. I wouldn't stay here if you and your traveling companion aren't close. The shower is all glass and not in a separate room. There is a curtain you can draw, but then the sink and toilet is off limits to anyone else. Rooms are quiet. I had a medical emergency while here and the hotel arranged for a doctor to come see me in the room!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ClemsunTiger,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel pertaining to your recent stay with us.

The Fire and Ice! rooms boast unique classical décor, which is appealing to the eye as we are an experiential hotel.

Our room design might not be to the comfort to all of our GUESTS who are sharing, therefore we would recommend GUESTS to book one of our three corner suites as it has a separate bathroom area making it more sharing friendly. We always want our GUESTS to be met with the urban vibe of what hotel has to offer but also to be upheld with the serenity of a ‘home away from home’.

I am glad that hotel STAFF aided you with the medical assistance that you required and I trust that your health has been restored.

Once again thank you for your review, and we certainly hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is part of Protea chain, located in Northern Johannisburg , within walking distance to excellent restaurants! shopping. About 20 min ride from Apartheid Museum. Very contemporary decor, 60 s retro style with crystal chandeliers and shiny wall paper . Hollywood stars photographs are displayed next to each room in the hallway and inside . Rooms are equipped with coffee station, mini fridge, safe. Interesting set up with bathroom as the shower opens to a bedroom. You can actually take a shower and watch TV. Toilet is in a separate room, which is nice for double occupancy. Sheets are crisp and duvet is warm, pillows comfortable. The hotel has free internet limited to one device per room. Ask at the desk for a voucher to connect a second device. The hotel has a restaurant with very extensive menu, bar and milkshake bar. Breakfast buffet was very nice offering omelet station, fruit, cereal and hot dishes. Very nice and comfortable stay

Room Tip: 214 was good. Quiet for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Olga P,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are privileged to be located in the Melrose Arch precinct, as there is a variety of wonderful stores and restaurants available for our GUESTS pleasure, and the best part is that it’s all within walking distance. Our location is central to many tourist attractions which is highly beneficial.

Our décor is inspired by the old Hollywood glamour and that is carried out throughout the entire hotel, each room is equipped with all the necessary basics for our GUESTS enjoyment. The room has a unique design and yes you get to enjoy watching some telly whilst freshening up for the day.

The housekeeping TEAM always ensures that you are met with a fresh, crisp, clean bed to lay your head down after a long day.

We provide a wonderful array of meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, our chefs take pride in delivering the very best and we are glad that you enjoyed the delicious selection.

Once again thank you for the delightful review; it was a pleasure to read.

We look forward to welcoming you back and creating more fond memories.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I realy like the rooms, the way the are decorated and all furniture in hotel. Just around the corner it's meat co. restaurant with amazing steaks and wines. We did the lion park tour, which is great but they will let you be with baby lions for only little while..max 5mins which was disappointing..back to hotel..staff needs to pay more attention to guests,but they where nice at least. breakfast ok, the highlight is milk shake:))

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Alybab,

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Our rooms are uniquely designed with an old Hollywood chic finish; it is a beautiful touch to the modern era.

We are located in the Melrose Arch Precinct which boasts a wonderful selection of restaurants and stores which are beneficial to all of our GUESTS; the Meat Co was indeed a good choice, definitely an opportunity worth trying.

The Lion Park tour is a very popular tour amongst our GUESTS, it is beautiful in terms of the scenery and wildlife available but a true highlight is undoubtedly the baby lion one on one time, the timing is short but that is due to maintaining the safety of all customers.

I do apologize for the inefficiency of our STAFF, I am glad that they were friendly but customer service is imperative therefore the STAFF need not only to be friendly but also treating the GUESTS with the best of what we have to offer as the Fire & Ice! hotel.

I am pleased that the highlight of your stay was the milkshakes; I wonder which was your absolute favorite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I have spent 2 days at Protea Fire and Ice on May 2014 and my overall evaluation is it is just ok.
I like the decoration in black&white and all the stars portraits which can be seen at the corridors and inside the rooms and also the beautiful chandeliers at the bar and restaurant. The location is also very good if you want to have some shops and restaurants around. The room is not big but for a short stay I think is not an issue at all. For me what really bothered me was the service. It does not matter if it is in the front desk or at the restaurant they do their best to be unfriendly. It seems that the hire process requests as “mandatory” not to be nice. I don´t know if it is a rule for increasing staff productivity but definitely does not give us a good impression.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear tereza b,

Thank you for your review; it was such a pleasure to accommodate you at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice!

The hotel aims to please its GUESTS with its exquisite décor and its excellent bar and restaurant. Its location is very convenient for the GUESTS who wish to indulge in shopping and eating out.

We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you had experienced, service is an important attribute to our whole product, and therefore we always need to be on top of our game of which we have let you down in this regard. We will look into these matters as soon as possible and address them thoroughly.

We hope this does not affect your decision to stay here in the future, as we would love to have you back.

Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Looking for something different from your normal hotel bar - great seating inside and out and the best milkshake selection in Joburg yet ! Ferrero Roche, peppermint crisp, bar one etc - worth repeat Sunday afternoon -after movies visits.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear trill-i-am,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Fire & Ice! hotel.

We aim to provide an experience like no other for our GUESTS, so indeed it is something different. Our hotel is known for its milkshakes and it’s a trade mark that keeps our GUESTS coming back.

The hotel is a great place to relax or wine and dine, depending on your preference.

We love that fact that you enjoyed your Fire & Ice! experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams

General Manager

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.