We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel, during a recent business trip. Great hotel, staff and amenities.
Will certainly want to stay here in futre. The restaurant and bar are very hip and the place to be in the evening. Milkshake bar also very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Scorpion619,

They say first impressions count and it is great that we have imprinted positively.

Being situated within the Melrose Arch Precinct it is only fitting that we are to be ‘hip’ and the place to be seen; we certainly attract the coolest of GUESTS!

We are committed to providing fantastic service and ensuring that each of our GUESTS have a most memorable and comfortable stay. It really is gratifying to hear your compliments and it makes all of the hard work worthwhile.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope to be your destination of choice upon your next visit to Jozi.

Please do let us know when you plan on visiting again. It would be nothing less than a pleasure to ensure that you enjoy yet another wonderful stay with us.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    204
    65
    33
    22
See reviews for
36
104
29
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our reason for choosing this hotel was the attraction of staying in Melrose Arch which is a safe precinct with lots of shops (mediocre) and restaurants (good - we ate at the Meat Co and bfst at JB's which were both great).We chose the Protea hotel over the Pride due to the comments about noise from the busy square the Pride is located on. After seeing the square I can understand and think we made the right choice. Our Superior Suite was interesting with the lounge room decorated with armchairs and no couch but that was OK as the rest of the suite was very comfortable. Bed was huge and great to sleep in. The room was spotless and in good condition and had nice views over J'burg suburbs. All experiences with the reception staff were fine. A little lax in the funky 1st floor cafe-bar but understandable as they were quite busy. The coffee was much better than the average Sth Africa standard. Overall a good stay and the hotel and Melrose Arch were a good choice for a overnight stay in J'Burg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear StuckinBangers

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We realise just how lucky we are to be situated within the Melrose Arch precinct, often described as a ‘city within a city’; and with good reason. There is a wide variety of conveniences, and I am proud to say that it is a safe environment for our international GUESTS.

Our apartment-style corner suites, with stunning 180 degree views, offer to our GUESTS an added sense of exclusivity, in an incredibly comfortable, energetic and lively setting.

We are firm believers that a good cup of coffee is non-negotiable, and this is why no stone has been left unturned in regularly training our Baristas; this is evident in the awards that we have been given for this.

Many thanks for taking the time to give us such a complimentary review; we hope to be able to host you again soon!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

unique and fun interior, good location. close to woolies and some nice restaurants. i have stayed here 5 times overnight in different occasions and the only complaint i have is "customer service".
one time i forgot to bring some toiletries and had to ask for a Dental Kit from the hotel. their service booklet says that this can be requested from the reception so I called and asked. I was surprised when the person who answered told me that I have to pick it up because he is alone and he cant leave his station. I understand that he has to man reception but if the hotel management knows that they dont have enough people at this time then they should assign this service to a different and separate department. like house keeping maybe or just put 2 people at the reception. another thing is the way the person addressed the call. he didnt sound very "helpful". he was "I can't leave my station right now because I am alone." and when i asked if he can give me an estimate when he can deliver it to me he simply said "when another person comes here to be with me." so of course, i had no choice but to go down in my PJ's. i think this a really bad customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear betchbaby,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We will be using your comments to simply do things better!

The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch personifies ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’ which is eminent from the moment of your arrival; a unique twist on modern day hotels. We are also extremely lucky to be situated within a safe precinct environment with plenty of good stores and conveniences for all your needs and wants.

I would like to apologise most profusely for the lack of customer service during your stay in regards to receiving poor service when you had requested amenities. It saddens me that a member of my TEAM has let us down especially when our service philosophy is providing the ‘Best GUEST Service’. This will certainly be a valuable lesson on how ‘not to do it’ and will motivate us on delivering exceptional service.

Despite the inconveniences, I trust that you had a fantastic stay with us and I personally look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a couple of nights here and enjoyed our time.

The room set up with the bathroom & sleeping area all in one isn't ideal if you're not a couple but the rooms have everything you need & the hotel has a good bar & restaurant scene as does the melrose arch precinct. We felt safe in the area.

The real problem is that it's quite noisy if you're trying to sleep. Plenty of partygoers making noise in the hallways returning from the late night bars... So if you're looking for fun stay there, if you're looking for peace & quiet maybe not!

Although too cold when we were there the pool area looked like an inviting place to hang in the warmer months.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nina1976

Feedback is such a great tool to eliminate errorrs and I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our rooms were designed in such a way to create that feeling of extra space and to be in tune with the urban and funky elements of the latest trends. Although our rooms are often raved about, should you be sharing a room with someone that you might not be comfortable with, there is always the option of booking an additional room to ensure one’s privacy.

We do apologize that the GUESTS had disrupted you during the evening whilst trying to sleep. It is vital that as little noise as possible is made because our valued GUESTS are to enjoy peace and quiet, irrespective of what time of day it is.

The weather is absolutely stunning now and a day next to our pool is very appealing and definitely worth a try next time round. Feel free to sip on a delicious milkshake whilst basking under the African sun!

Despite the few concerns we are certainly thrilled to hear that this did not detract from your overall stay with us.

We look forward to not only welcoming you back in the future, but making your next stay with us more comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed two nights in this modern hotel. My room (#103) is spacious. Bed and bedding were comfy. The shower is in the room but there a curtain for privacy if you share this room with someone. Buffer breakfast was always very good as like all Protea hotels I have stayed during this trip.

There is a shopping center 5 minutes away and so as many restaurants. However, almost all shops are expensive brand-name shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear JaneJ2010

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us.

Hearing that your stay was a comfortable one is certainly what we like to hear and our modern décor is always such a great conversation starter.

I will be sure to extend your compliments to my breakfast TEAM as we are on the continuous quest of offering the best breakfast buffet in Jozi.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Fire and Ice 4 times in the last few years. It is an attractive facility with pleasant rooms and a friendly, competent staff. We also hold meetings here and have been pleased with the support and the meeting rooms. Melrose Arch is a good place to stay in that it is easily and securely walkable with numerous high quality restaurants and shops. I also found the charges to be quite reasonable. A much better choice than the African Pride down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear TomBrunner

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

It really is great to hear that you had found us to be a good hotel for business GUESTS and that your needs were met by my friendly and efficient TEAM. We take great pride in making each stay a memorable one.

Being within the Melrose Arch Precinct has definitely added to the convenience of having retail and restaurants on our door step whilst providing each GUEST with the safety and security that they expect.

Our conference facilities do not always get the recognition that it so highly deserves, but I can assure you that the banqueting TEAM were ecstatic when they received your kind words.

Please be sure to say hi on your next stay; until then safe travels!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel some 7 or 8 times in 2013 and it never fails me. Very friendly and efficient staff who remember your name and make sure you have everything you need. The rooms are stylish and a good size, comfortable beds ensure a good nights sleep and all the amenities you need are included. The breakfast buffet is great - lots of choice and all to a very high quality, and dinner is always good when eaten in. Don't miss the milkshakes - superb. Can't see any reason to stay elsewhere - Melrose Arch is a nice location too - I much prefer it to Sandton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear PlummyDorking,

Thank you for giving us such a fantastic review after your recent stay with us!

We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice and we aim to consistently meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

Our décor is such a great conversation starter as the rooms are designed in such a way that it echoes the feel of open space; I am glad to hear that you enjoyed a good night’s rest.

Melrose Arch is a known as “a city within a city” where one can escape from the fast paced world we live in. We hope that you explored the streets of the precinct and enjoyed all the shops and restaurants that were on offer.

The Food & Beverage TEAM are on the constant pursuit of providing delicious meals and great experiences upon every visit. It is always rewarding to receive such great reviews!

Our milkshakes are without a doubt an absolute highlight and a visit to the Fire & Ice! would be incomplete without enjoying one.

Once again, thank you for commenting on your stay with us. We’re constantly striving to achieve moments of magic and it certainly pleases us to hear that you were greeted by name. I will be sure to extend your compliments to my TEAM.

Please do let me know when you’re back for a visit. It would be great to personally meet you!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#24 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.