We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 Hotels in Johannesburg
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a couple of nights here and enjoyed our time.

The room set up with the bathroom & sleeping area all in one isn't ideal if you're not a couple but the rooms have everything you need & the hotel has a good bar & restaurant scene as does the melrose arch precinct. We felt safe in the area.

The real problem is that it's quite noisy if you're trying to sleep. Plenty of partygoers making noise in the hallways returning from the late night bars... So if you're looking for fun stay there, if you're looking for peace & quiet maybe not!

Although too cold when we were there the pool area looked like an inviting place to hang in the warmer months.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nina1976

Feedback is such a great tool to eliminate errorrs and I want to thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Our rooms were designed in such a way to create that feeling of extra space and to be in tune with the urban and funky elements of the latest trends. Although our rooms are often raved about, should you be sharing a room with someone that you might not be comfortable with, there is always the option of booking an additional room to ensure one’s privacy.

We do apologize that the GUESTS had disrupted you during the evening whilst trying to sleep. It is vital that as little noise as possible is made because our valued GUESTS are to enjoy peace and quiet, irrespective of what time of day it is.

The weather is absolutely stunning now and a day next to our pool is very appealing and definitely worth a try next time round. Feel free to sip on a delicious milkshake whilst basking under the African sun!

Despite the few concerns we are certainly thrilled to hear that this did not detract from your overall stay with us.

We look forward to not only welcoming you back in the future, but making your next stay with us more comfortable and enjoyable.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    184
    56
    29
    19
See reviews for
31
89
26
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed two nights in this modern hotel. My room (#103) is spacious. Bed and bedding were comfy. The shower is in the room but there a curtain for privacy if you share this room with someone. Buffer breakfast was always very good as like all Protea hotels I have stayed during this trip.

There is a shopping center 5 minutes away and so as many restaurants. However, almost all shops are expensive brand-name shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear JaneJ2010

Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay with us.

Hearing that your stay was a comfortable one is certainly what we like to hear and our modern décor is always such a great conversation starter.

I will be sure to extend your compliments to my breakfast TEAM as we are on the continuous quest of offering the best breakfast buffet in Jozi.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed at the Fire and Ice 4 times in the last few years. It is an attractive facility with pleasant rooms and a friendly, competent staff. We also hold meetings here and have been pleased with the support and the meeting rooms. Melrose Arch is a good place to stay in that it is easily and securely walkable with numerous high quality restaurants and shops. I also found the charges to be quite reasonable. A much better choice than the African Pride down the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear TomBrunner

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

It really is great to hear that you had found us to be a good hotel for business GUESTS and that your needs were met by my friendly and efficient TEAM. We take great pride in making each stay a memorable one.

Being within the Melrose Arch Precinct has definitely added to the convenience of having retail and restaurants on our door step whilst providing each GUEST with the safety and security that they expect.

Our conference facilities do not always get the recognition that it so highly deserves, but I can assure you that the banqueting TEAM were ecstatic when they received your kind words.

Please be sure to say hi on your next stay; until then safe travels!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel some 7 or 8 times in 2013 and it never fails me. Very friendly and efficient staff who remember your name and make sure you have everything you need. The rooms are stylish and a good size, comfortable beds ensure a good nights sleep and all the amenities you need are included. The breakfast buffet is great - lots of choice and all to a very high quality, and dinner is always good when eaten in. Don't miss the milkshakes - superb. Can't see any reason to stay elsewhere - Melrose Arch is a nice location too - I much prefer it to Sandton.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear PlummyDorking,

Thank you for giving us such a fantastic review after your recent stay with us!

We are thrilled to be your hotel of choice and we aim to consistently meet and exceed our GUESTS expectations.

Our décor is such a great conversation starter as the rooms are designed in such a way that it echoes the feel of open space; I am glad to hear that you enjoyed a good night’s rest.

Melrose Arch is a known as “a city within a city” where one can escape from the fast paced world we live in. We hope that you explored the streets of the precinct and enjoyed all the shops and restaurants that were on offer.

The Food & Beverage TEAM are on the constant pursuit of providing delicious meals and great experiences upon every visit. It is always rewarding to receive such great reviews!

Our milkshakes are without a doubt an absolute highlight and a visit to the Fire & Ice! would be incomplete without enjoying one.

Once again, thank you for commenting on your stay with us. We’re constantly striving to achieve moments of magic and it certainly pleases us to hear that you were greeted by name. I will be sure to extend your compliments to my TEAM.

Please do let me know when you’re back for a visit. It would be great to personally meet you!

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Is a nice hotel in a secure community, with lots of facilities. Rooms are clean and spacious, very strange bathroom set up... Everything is in the room... Don't stay here if you want privacy! Staff very friendly, room service was very efficient. And try the milkshakes! They are amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear tomwmorton

It goes without saying that we delighted to be receiving such a superb review!

We pride ourselves in offering fantastic accommodation, wonderful STAFF and of course pristine facilities. My housekeeping department will be thrilled to hear about your praises.

Our milkshakes are certainly a must when visiting us and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed this delicious drink; do feel free to let us know which one is your favourite!

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us and we hope to be seeing you more often.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after spending two night at the African pride Melrose arch. Far better hotel by way of service and staff.

Rooms obviously smaller but that is understandable due to price point.

Couple of things would like, towel rails in room, as towels don't dry properly between use, and smaller fridge for water etc.

Service could be better in restaurant.

But all in all very happy and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear kinetic46

A visit to Fire & Ice often means getting to see something unexpected and this was certainly a great way for us to showcase our beautiful property and service excellence.

My TEAM is service orientated and if the STAFF is engaged and motivated our GUESTS will notice. Your service experience echoes the true warmth we are so proud to offer despite having experienced poor service in the restaurant. There is always room for improvement and the restaurant TEAM can only learn from your constructive comments.

Your comfort and enjoyment receive top priority and we will certainly be using your suggestions to improve our offering in the near future. On your next stay, we will gladly place a fridge in your room to add to the convenience. Feel free to highlight this request upon your next reservation.

Please do let me know when you plan on returning and we will, once again, treat you to excellent hospitality.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel. The location is really convenient, right in the middle of the lovely melrose arch. The rooms are tastefully decorated in modern contemporary style. The popular milkshake bar lives up to its reputation and the milkshakes are delicious ! All in all the hotel is good value for money and I would definitely visit again.

The only negative I have is that the parking for the hotel is not validated and therefore we ended up paying R85 a day for parking in the melrose arch basement parking!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ash1128

Beautiful is definitely a great word to describe the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Our most sincere apologies on the trouble you experienced with our parking; we will definitely look into easing our GUESTS experience in this regard. The hotel parking is facilitated by a third party supplier. Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and unfortunately the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is for your own account.

From a design point of view, our rooms have been decorated in such a way to create comfort and space which goes hand in hand with the modern nuances of today’s trends.

The most enjoyable part of any given experience is indulging in one of our famous milkshakes. Our milkshakes are legendary and our reputation certainly promotes discussion!

Please do let me know when you plan on visiting us again. We would love to surpass your expectations on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.