We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in a nice compound” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in a nice compound”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very modern, an amazing place where every room have a different actor or an actress pictures, the rooms is like a studio where u have the shower is separated from the bed by a curtain, a real city hotel that have its own personality.
Check in: they have a baggage services where they take care if your bag at the entrance, there is always a security at the door, staff at the counter are alright, some of them are amazing some of them not as much, but in general is alright.
Rooms: black and white with a hint of red that make the room really interesting, as I said its like a studio where you have everything in one place, 32" LCD TV.
Restaurant: the restaurant on the 1st floor have indoor and outdoor seating area, the food is really nice and on the menu they gave it a really funky names, the only problem is that sometimes you really have to make a lot of effort to get the waiter attention.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Elie C

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback after your recent stay at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We have without a doubt the perfect location, a world class city within a city, which provides our GUESTS who travel to Johannesburg with fantastic accommodation. It is refreshing to receive feedback from our GUESTS as their stories take us on a journey through fresh eyes.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the ‘Hollywood Glam’ theme that flows through the hotel! The concept behind the urban design of the open-plan bathroom is all about creating more space for your comfort. We strive to stand out from the crowd and our unique décor is always a great conversation starter. These small touches certainly do add to ones enjoyment when travelling abroad.

I am proud to say that the hotel is situated in a secure environment and that the Melrose Arch Precinct is patrolled 24 hours by a trusted security TEAM who make all GUESTS feel safe and welcome. We are however concerned to hear that the front desk STAFF seemed to be inconsistent; I will ensure that my TEAM are consistently delivering a positive and professional output at all times as we only want to create moments of magic during every GUEST stay.

The Executive Chef Vincent and his TEAM take tremendous pride in offering delicious meals for our GUESTS and your fantastic comments will be shared with our TEAM. We know that all the hard work in other areas is not worth an ounce of effort if we don’t get it right everywhere. We will definitely ensure that our restaurant are up to speed and endeavour to provide all our GUESTS with efficient service delivery.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    168
    51
    29
    17
See reviews for
29
81
26
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The description we received from our friend was that this hotel was situated within the exclusive urban Melrose Arch lifestyle development, a "city within a city" where the entire Melrose Arch precinct is patrolled by 24 hour Security and monitored by CCTV surveillance for peace-of-mind & comfort. This is all true! It is a very comfortable and modern hotel. We stayed on a Saturday night and the bar on the ground floor was obviously a destination for the Johannesburg Sloane Ranger set - it was fascinating to sit and watch the black and white fit young & beautiful set coming and going dressed to the nine's in their best club attire. We would have not have stayed in this area as we were in transit in Johannesburg for one night but our friends who live not far from the hotel invited us to their home for dinner. The Telkom Direct OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park is only about 16.5 km away and the hotel in not far from the R24 motorway so it was no problem with a quick transfer. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Also, the local restaurants are all very good and you can get an excellent espresso coffee - which I misses after a week on safari. Make sure that you get a deal on the internet as the rack prices are about 15% to 20% dearer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear American-Traveller

It goes without saying that we are truly thrilled to receive such a positive review! The Melrose Arch Precinct is indeed one of our greatest selling points; it is an unsurpassed ‘hotspot’ in the chic city of Jozi offering comfort, edginess and excitement in a safe and convenient urban location.

Hearing that our reputation precedes us is the type of feedback we love receiving! Our TEAM conscientiously makes every effort to not only meet, but to exceed all of our GUESTS’ expectations. Please be assured that we will pass your compliments to our incredibly young at heart STAFF.

We thoroughly look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great hotel and something completely different from those carbon copy chain properties I usually stay in. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and modern with a retro twist, location is great with shops, restaurants and cafe's only seconds away. The hotel bars and restaurants are great too.

The only slight downside is that it's not in the central Sandton business area, however the hotel will assist with a taxi to both take you to your meeting and pick you up afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear TBDFL

There is no greater driving force for our TEAM than hearing such motivational words from our highly valued GUESTS.

I am truly thrilled to know that my TEAM made such a positive impact during your stay as we continuously strive to be recognised as an urban, experiential and edgy hotel. It just goes to show that all hotels are just buildings and what sets them apart from each other are the people and the ‘magic’ that they deliver. I will most certainly congratulate MY TEAM on their efforts.

Our location is one of our greatest selling points, as the Melrose Arch Precinct is a very secure complex, and is only a mere 7 minute drive from Rosebank, and 10 minutes from the Sandton business district -all this among the robust and fabulous vibe of the cool city life.

I hope to meet you on your next visit and more importantly we look forward to making each stay more special than the last.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I gave it 4 out of 5 because of location and creativity. Service alone would be closer to a 2 though. The hotel is smack in the middle of countless places to eat and drink. The mall is also attached so you will always have something to do. The hotel is chic and modern design. The rooms have photos of different hollywood celebs from the past. The shower is in the middle of the room (there is a privacy curtain) which I think is cool, but it's not traditional. There is a separate water closet that has it's own room. Once again the Protea Hotels don't give wash clothes in their rooms (really don't understand that concept). But the bed is great and it's fine for a couple of days. Would I holiday here...probably not. Would I stay again, yes. The biggest issue I found is training or consistent level of service. Check-in was great...she was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great as well, but service was more than lacking. I asked for water and was pointed to the buffet to get my own. She never came back and when I was leaving (they take your room number when you walk in so I assumed they charge you). The same lady chases me to pay my bill. FYI, fastest way to get service in SA is start walking out. The restaurant says they serve at 6am and the front desk states they start at 6:30am. Small stuff and shouldn't deter you from staying. Just expect "okay" on the willingness front and you will exceed expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear brianparsley

We firmly believe that reviews such as yours are the very best teachers, and we have taken it upon ourselves to use your feedback in a positive way.

One of the pleasures of our home, the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, is its convenience and central location. We feel that this complements our hotel’s urban, experiential and edgy vibe and it is fantastic to hear that you experienced this first hand.

It really is worrying to hear of your dissatisfaction with the service received by our TEAM, and I can assure you that our STAFF is often complimented on their genuine friendliness and the high quality of their training. We will re-evaluate the standards in place to prevent there being any discrepancies in the service delivery of our entire TEAM.

We will certainly be conveying your praises to our Front Office TEAM on a job well done, thank you for highlighting it!

It would be great to host you again soon so that we can not only meet, but exceed your expectations the next time. Until then, safe travels.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Interestingly decorated, quirky, busy, clean, helpful friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was terrific. Only reasons I gave it a " very good" not excellent. In error no towels were left for us in the room. We had to ask for one bed side lamp which may have been missing in error. No face washer is supplied yet you are given shower gel. Shower temperature goes hot and warm. The bed was not turned down, no fridge, no night chocolates and no weather report for the next day. The room was comparatively small. All these points are minor and easily fixed. The locating is trendy, safe and classy shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear annesydney

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; our TEAM was very pleased to hear about your experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. The value added by you will be utilized to better our service offering.

We take pride in delivering the best GUEST service and commit ourselves to getting the basics right consistently. Our product is all about the ‘energy’ and ‘pulse’, and we appreciate that it is absolutely vital for us to make every effort to get it right.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is not officially graded as a four or five star property and therefore evening turndown service or in-room fridges are not a standard. However, we are more than happy to fulfil this service when requested.

We were most content to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offering as our TEAM showcases just exactly what we do get right, almost all the time.

The Melrose Arch Precinct is certainly a great location and perfect for our GUESTS as it offers a wide variety of shops and restaurants to choose from. I am glad to hear that you love the location just as much as we do, as the trendy atmosphere and energetic environment is eminent throughout the hotel and its surroundings.

We are very proud of our property and the services that we provide. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just recently returned from a trip to Jo'Burg on business and a number of us were staying at the hotel. I would describe the furnishings as funky and most certainly not comfortable. When we would have meals together, we would all fight over who had to sit in the really high back chairs as they were so uncomfortable. The shower in the room is bizarre with the small circular enclosure and total lack of privacy (no walls, just a shower curtain between you and the bed). It just made the experience of showering a completely unenjoyable one. The hallways are black which just gives the place a bad energy. The location however is great and safe, which is very important. The service level at the hotel was almost always good - something they do very well. The staff in the meeting rooms were excellent. If you want a meal, go down the street to any of the restaurants. It will be better than the hotel's offerings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full and private bath as they display on their website. I'm not sure of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear ElizabethKualaLumpur

Our décor and furnishings are always such a great conversation starter!

We have, without a doubt, the perfect location: a world class city within a city that provides our GUESTS who travel to Johannesburg with fantastic accommodation and an abundance of exclusive shopping, as well as plenty of facilities and amenities; all within convenient access.

All of our rooms, except our corner suites, offer an open plan shower. The design is often raved about and perhaps a suite would be more to your liking. Be sure to reserve a corner suite on your next arrival, so as to ensure that all of your requirements are met.

One of our Protea Principles is ‘The best GUEST service’ and it goes without a doubt that our TEAM perpetually endeavours to stay true to this.

The design of our sexy dark ‘Old Hollywood Glam’ themed hallways, granted, are not to everyone’s taste, however we believe that our vibrant STAFF are the ones who make the GUEST experience memorable and creating a sizzling-hot atmosphere.

Yes, there are some great restaurants within the precinct, but we are sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy our food & beverage offering; we would certainly love to be given the opportunity to change your opinion on your next visit.

Please do contact me personally so that our Food & Beverage TEAM can not only meet, but exceed your expectations!

Looking forward to your next visit and safe travels!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not impressed by the absolute black and white theme throughout property
good location
felt unsafe in sub-ground car park
Room - space ok;
Shower in room with poor screening wrt water spill-over
Will raher stay elsewhere
Expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear HarriANarismulu

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have provided us with some helpful comments and have afforded us an opportunity to highlight and work on the various concerns raised.

It is really disappointing to hear how we spoilt what was supposed to be a great stay and we sincerely apologise for this.

I am proud to say that the hotel is situated in a secure environment and that the Melrose Arch Precinct is patrolled 24 hours by a trusted security TEAM who make all GUESTS feel safe and welcome. It is concerning that you had felt unsafe in the undercover parking. We will be informing the precinct management of your concern.

The design of our black & white ‘Old Hollywood Glam’ theme might not be to everyone’s taste; however the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and public facilities always receive top priority.

Although we cannot change what transpired, I really hope that you can give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

We look forward to showing you our commitment to getting it right, so that you enjoy a fantastic stay and leave with wonderful and positive memories.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#22 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.