We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly, clean and well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
sydney
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable, friendly, clean and well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Interestingly decorated, quirky, busy, clean, helpful friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was terrific. Only reasons I gave it a " very good" not excellent. In error no towels were left for us in the room. We had to ask for one bed side lamp which may have been missing in error. No face washer is supplied yet you are given shower gel. Shower temperature goes hot and warm. The bed was not turned down, no fridge, no night chocolates and no weather report for the next day. The room was comparatively small. All these points are minor and easily fixed. The locating is trendy, safe and classy shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear annesydney

Thank you for sharing your experience with us; our TEAM was very pleased to hear about your experience at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. The value added by you will be utilized to better our service offering.

We take pride in delivering the best GUEST service and commit ourselves to getting the basics right consistently. Our product is all about the ‘energy’ and ‘pulse’, and we appreciate that it is absolutely vital for us to make every effort to get it right.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is not officially graded as a four or five star property and therefore evening turndown service or in-room fridges are not a standard. However, we are more than happy to fulfil this service when requested.

We were most content to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast offering as our TEAM showcases just exactly what we do get right, almost all the time.

The Melrose Arch Precinct is certainly a great location and perfect for our GUESTS as it offers a wide variety of shops and restaurants to choose from. I am glad to hear that you love the location just as much as we do, as the trendy atmosphere and energetic environment is eminent throughout the hotel and its surroundings.

We are very proud of our property and the services that we provide. It was an absolute pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    236
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
43
124
33
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just recently returned from a trip to Jo'Burg on business and a number of us were staying at the hotel. I would describe the furnishings as funky and most certainly not comfortable. When we would have meals together, we would all fight over who had to sit in the really high back chairs as they were so uncomfortable. The shower in the room is bizarre with the small circular enclosure and total lack of privacy (no walls, just a shower curtain between you and the bed). It just made the experience of showering a completely unenjoyable one. The hallways are black which just gives the place a bad energy. The location however is great and safe, which is very important. The service level at the hotel was almost always good - something they do very well. The staff in the meeting rooms were excellent. If you want a meal, go down the street to any of the restaurants. It will be better than the hotel's offerings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full and private bath as they display on their website. I'm not sure of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear ElizabethKualaLumpur

Our décor and furnishings are always such a great conversation starter!

We have, without a doubt, the perfect location: a world class city within a city that provides our GUESTS who travel to Johannesburg with fantastic accommodation and an abundance of exclusive shopping, as well as plenty of facilities and amenities; all within convenient access.

All of our rooms, except our corner suites, offer an open plan shower. The design is often raved about and perhaps a suite would be more to your liking. Be sure to reserve a corner suite on your next arrival, so as to ensure that all of your requirements are met.

One of our Protea Principles is ‘The best GUEST service’ and it goes without a doubt that our TEAM perpetually endeavours to stay true to this.

The design of our sexy dark ‘Old Hollywood Glam’ themed hallways, granted, are not to everyone’s taste, however we believe that our vibrant STAFF are the ones who make the GUEST experience memorable and creating a sizzling-hot atmosphere.

Yes, there are some great restaurants within the precinct, but we are sad to hear that you didn’t enjoy our food & beverage offering; we would certainly love to be given the opportunity to change your opinion on your next visit.

Please do contact me personally so that our Food & Beverage TEAM can not only meet, but exceed your expectations!

Looking forward to your next visit and safe travels!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Not impressed by the absolute black and white theme throughout property
good location
felt unsafe in sub-ground car park
Room - space ok;
Shower in room with poor screening wrt water spill-over
Will raher stay elsewhere
Expensive

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear HarriANarismulu

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have provided us with some helpful comments and have afforded us an opportunity to highlight and work on the various concerns raised.

It is really disappointing to hear how we spoilt what was supposed to be a great stay and we sincerely apologise for this.

I am proud to say that the hotel is situated in a secure environment and that the Melrose Arch Precinct is patrolled 24 hours by a trusted security TEAM who make all GUESTS feel safe and welcome. It is concerning that you had felt unsafe in the undercover parking. We will be informing the precinct management of your concern.

The design of our black & white ‘Old Hollywood Glam’ theme might not be to everyone’s taste; however the comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and public facilities always receive top priority.

Although we cannot change what transpired, I really hope that you can give us the opportunity to make it up to you.

We look forward to showing you our commitment to getting it right, so that you enjoy a fantastic stay and leave with wonderful and positive memories.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Room a bit small , not for vacation stay , maybe the weather was to cold.
decor is beautifull, noise fromm other rooms is bad, when using lavatory and shower. you hear all the water running .
resturant not good at customer service , went to dinner and was told all seating was booked.
funny even after we sat in a corner and finished dinner the seats were still empty.
milkshakes are divine
breakfast was slow , to get scramble eggs was a mission . why is it knowing that eggs are so important for breakfast , you dont offer ready warmed up eggs.
even when the chef makes them , they still get cold easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Ashley D

We would love to change your perception of us from ‘OK’ to ‘Fabulous’!

We are sorry to hear that you found the room space to be limited as they were designed to be funky and urban. Perhaps on your next stay, one of our gorgeous corner suites can be reserved as this would certainly provide the additional space you require. The corner suite will not only provide you with a comfortable stay, but a more peaceful one too.

I am incredibly embarrassed to hear about your restaurant experience. I have provided additional training and mentoring to my TEAM to ensure that they handle such situations with far more sensitivity while ensuring that GUEST comfort is always placed as a priority. I will endeavour for my TEAM to consistently deliver positive and professional output at all times.

As for our milkshakes, they are legendary and there is nothing more gratifying than receiving your positive comments. Upon your next visit, feel free to try one of our ‘naughty’ alcoholic milkshakes!

The breakfast chef tries his utmost to prepare the best eggs in Jozi, we have received many compliments as our chef is stickler for perfection. We prefer to make eggs on order to provide our GUEST with the freshest of dishes. Please be sure that we will share your suggestion with the breakfast TEAM.

As a Prokard member, we truly value your loyalty to our brand and look forward to showing you our commitment to ensuring that you enjoy a fantastic stay and to leave with wonderful and positive memories.

It would be great to be welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trou aux Biches
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice cosy hotel with a fire place at the reception very friendly and helpfull staff they are always at your attention! Liked the high back chair veery much as well as the black and white concept! Lavish breakfast. Room very spacious but the shower is very open and we get a complitary bottled water!

Room Tip: Looking for a safe joint then this is the place very secured!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Nazim M

It is so rewarding to receive feedback such as yours, especially since we pride ourselves in providing our GUESTS with an amazing experience of our property.

We strive to serve the best breakfast in Jozi and your compliments regarding the lavish spread that we offer, certainly makes all the hard work worth it!

The concept behind the urban design of the open-plan bathroom is all about creating more space for your enjoyment. However, we do have suites available with a traditional en-suite bathroom, should you prefer that on your next stay with us.

Our STAFF are dedicated to providing the best GUEST service; please be assured that we will be extending your kind words to the TEAM.

It was great having you with us and we do hope to have the opportunity of ensuring that you enjoy another wonderful experience with us!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This modern, chic hotel is located in a very safe area of Jo'burg. Excellent restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and a good shopping mall. Easy access to the other parts of the city via a taxi. Rooms were big enough and very modern with 50's movie decor. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Sijavy

You have certainly given us an amazing review that ‘juices’ us to do even better in future!

Being situated in the safe and highly cosmopolitan precinct environment is definitely an added bonus; especially since we have all the superb retail shops and fantastic restaurants right on our doorstep.

We are very proud of the ‘Old Hollywood’ glamour theme and as it is a unique concept, it gives us great pleasure in knowing that you appreciated these extra touches.

It would be wonderful to have you with us again and we look forward to ‘wowing’ you on your next visit!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a 2 day 1 night meeting there. The conference rooms were very noisy - you could hear the staff outside and the people in the room next to you to the point that you often could not hear yourselves. If you stepped out if the venue to take a call for example there was is no where quiet to go - you are in the middle of the tea serving for all venues and above reception with no sound proofing. The volumes at lunch were so high - that we were seated outside - no heaters and today was freezing. Perhaps they booked more than they could deal with. The venue doors lock when closed - so if you go to the loo you have to bang on the door till someone in your session lets you back in again.
the hotel rooms were ok - nothing special - nothing awful - parking is charged for even for guests, and breakfast pricey for what you get. Tea in the room - which I like - but was all rooibos - a mix is usually provided in a hotel like this and other Protea's. Room sound proofing was also not good - doors around me were opening and closing till way past midnight and started again at 4am - and could easily be heard slamming themselves shut.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear CathrynSouthAfrica

Receiving reviews such as yours really does sadden us.

There is no excuse for what had transpired on the day, and we are embarrassed for not making your time with us a memorable one.

As for the STAFF that made a noise, we have addressed the concern with the TEAM and stressed the importance of making as little noise as possible when on the banqueting floors as it is absolutely essential for our valued GUESTS to enjoy peace and quiet, irrespective of what time of day it is.

The hotel parking is facilitated by a third party supplier. Being part of a precinct environment, the parking for our hotel GUESTS is owned by Melrose Arch and unfortunately the pricing is a pre-determined rate which is for your own account.

Once again, our most sincere apologies must be conveyed for the inconvenience that this has caused you and your colleagues. This is not how we do business, and we will endeavour to use your criticism as a learning curve going forward.

It would be great to welcome you back soon and to hopefully restore your faith in our services.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Marriott and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.