We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Maputo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great hotel, great location and great staff. The rooms are good, the decoration is nice and different.

The hotel is very well located, in a good and safe area where you can walk and you find a bit of every thing arround. You can spend two days in JHB inside the area and dont feel any need to go out.

The all staff hotel is very helpfull, the bar is nice and gets a bit full, but the number of staff is good that you are not affected by it.

A place to stay in JHB.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Vercelia

Hearing that you are so pleased with your stay with us at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch really does ‘juice’ us to continue in the same stride; to provide all of our valued GUESTS with an experience that leaves you undoubtedly wanting more.

We pride ourselves on the buzz that surrounds the bar and terrace area of our hotel.

This, and the sure-fire service that you made reference to, is a sure indication that we are proving our property as the place to be!

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to share your experience with us. Please do give us a shout the next time you are in Jozi – we would be honoured to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    168
    52
    29
    17
See reviews for
29
80
26
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Quite a trendy place to be when in Melrose Arch - the hotel has a nice feel to it, rooms are well designed and spotlessly clean. The bar area is huge with space to sit indoors and out - service can be leisurely but always delivered with a smile. Would use again with no hesitation. They coped well with a very delayed arrival on my part when my flight in from Cape Town was delayed by some hours.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear PlummyDorking

Your review perfectly embraces the saying - “Location, location, location”

Hearing that you fully appreciate the marvel that is our home, the Melrose Arch Precinct, goes to show that we are in the right place.

I will be sure to commend our tireless TEAM on a job well done when handling your delayed arrival – it really is encouraging to hear that we got the job right!

We are all about dishing up for our GUESTS an experience that is urban, trendy and edgy, so it is indeed a delight that you took such a liking to it.

Be sure to let us know in advance when next you come to pop by, so that we can ensure that you enjoy yet another fabulous stay!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last 12 months and both stays were very pleasant.
The most recent, in February was for 6 nights and I was more relaxed about being in Johannesburg that time!
I had no problems with the staff at all, all very nice and professional. Yes the service can be a little slow at times but nothing to put me off staying here again.
Melrose Arch is a lovely area to stay as you can walk around at night without fear of being mudered! There are over a dozen nice restaurants in the area and I've eaten at a fair few of them.
The travel desk seems to work well and there was only one mess up when I ordered a taxi via reception - the message didn't get through. This was soon remedied by the travel desk though. All the travel desk drivers are great and very friendly.
The rooms are nice, the lift areas and hallways very dark - quite intimidating when you first experience it.
Don't hesitate to stay here though. It's true, i don't have any other hotel in the area to compare it to but see what you think!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Austin_Benton

It’s good to know that our marvelous offering was enough to keep you coming back for more! We are constantly striving to push the boundaries in terms of delivering stellar service, and we appreciate your patience with us while we worked at perfecting this.

We are often complimented on our STAFF’s friendly and welcoming assistance, and hearing you echo this encourages us to keep endeavouring to improve on this at every turn.

The next time you come over, feel free to ‘Please Disturb’ any one of the passionate members of our management TEAM, so that we can ensure that we not only meet, but also exceed all of your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This chic hotel at Melrose Arch boasts good service at the front desk, but awful service at the restaurant/milkshake bar which can get very crowded on the weekend.

The room is small, but well designed, no issues there. However, in winter air-conditioner was too drying.

Overall, nothing really stands out about it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear zaamissbowtie

We are truly appreciative that you have brought your concerns to our Hi attention via this review, as this allows us to identify and rectify problem areas which could have been easily avoided.

We receive an overwhelming amount of positive responses and feedback from our GUESTS; however, we do understand and acknowledge that receiving one average review makes all our previous efforts null and void.

There is no excuse for the disappointing service you received and we are sincerely sorry that your recent visit with us was anything but special. I have provided our TEAM with the feedback that you have provided us with, and although we cannot take back what had transpired, we hope to ensure this does not occur again.

We will make every effort not only to attend to and address these concerns, but we will continuously monitor the speed and efficiency of the service we provide to each and every GUEST who frequents our facilities. We believe that this will ensure each GUEST enjoys a truly memorable Fire & Ice! experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, upon which we hope to be able to prove to you our passion for ‘getting it right’.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Its a nice place to be at, the staff Atli, Raymond and Michael were so friendly and helpfull we had a great night, one that l will always remember, in all the hotels l had ever been to in all my life Protea Hotel Fire n Ice in Melrose Arch is the best thumbs up to all the managers for a job well done and for employing the best staff.

I liked the urniforms very simple and smart, tho l noticed that they were all wearing differently, some their shirts had a Protea sign at the back and mostly it was just plain black.

The decor is very nice, the restaurant set up very good. No manager came to our table or is it that they know the waitering staff can handle everything. The food is the best with an African Menu {tripe, oxtail and stew etc}. The cocktails the best but the milkshake was my favourate.

Job well done to Atli, Raymond and Michael, the chef and the barman

Next time l visit Johannesburg l will stay with you guys

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Dvanzeil

A title like that must surely be any hotelier’s dream; and to be reigned as your favourite amongst the surely numerous hotels that you have visited is truly flattering.

Our Food & Beverage STAFF are regularly complimented on their phenomenally friendly yet efficient service delivery. This is because our management TEAM puts emphasis on making a conscious effort to not only meet, but also exceed all of our GUESTS’ experience at our property.

We are thrilled to hear that you took such a liking to our African menu. Our Chef has created a great menu which takes our GUESTS on a culinary journey and we will be sure to extend your compliments.

We look forward to your return and when you do, please feel free to come have a chat with myself or one of our managers and we will ensure that you are well looked after.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sopot, Poland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Modern, stylish, comfortable place. New look on the room. Very design. Nice pool area, very good and friendly stuff. Excellent breakfast. Nice bar area. Quiet cosy place. Near shopping centre and other restaurants. For one or two days - perfect one :-) business and transfer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear nowakadventuretravel

What you’ve so aptly described here is what we think is the perfect way to spend your time with us at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. From a tantalizing breakfast after a gratifying night’s rest to being met by the most welcoming throng of people and shopping ‘til you drop at the fabulous stores of the Melrose Arch Precinct!

It’s truly refreshing to read that you delighted in so much of what we offer to our GUESTS. We make a point of continuously striving to meet and exceed GUEST expectations, and so we must extend our most sincere thanks for such a wonderful review.

Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This hotel is pleasant but the dark interior decor, be it my personal taste makes it seem quite dull and uninviting. The staff are very nice and the food is good. The area where the hotel is is very good as you have many shops and restaurants on your doorstep and it seems relatively safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Garvey1984

It really is rewarding to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our offering on our scrumptious menu and I can assure you that these kind words will be extended to our Food & Beverage TEAM.

We are incredibly passionate about our glamorous décor, and we feel that the ‘dimmed’ lighting, evident in a few vicinities of the hotel, completes the setting; that of chilled vibes and an eclectic backdrop. This all adds to an uninhibited and relaxed stay for our GUESTS.

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and complimenting the STAFF. It would be great to welcome you back!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.