We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel in Upscale Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Trendy Hotel in Upscale Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were with a Tour Group, otherwise I probably would not have chosen this hotel. However, we were presently surprised. There was a bit of culture shock as we had just come from a Kruger Safari. The decor is flashy but exciting. There is a lovely subdued bar (with computers) on the ground floor and a more fast moving social area with Milk Shake Bar (not to be missed) on Floor 1. The beds are very comfortable but the room can become a bit like a sauna because the shower and sleeping area are only divided by a shower curtain! The buffet breakfast is great. it is hard to get a late check out but day rooms are available.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Pool and 1st floor bar area can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear kanda84

It really is amazing to receive such great feedback especially since we pride ourselves in being ‘hip’ and ‘trendy’.

We often get rave reviews on our stylishly sleek ‘Old Hollywood’ glamour as it is a unique concept and often spoken about. The design concept of our rooms is to make clever use of available space which adds to the urban style setting of the hotel. Should you wish to reserve a room with a separate bathroom facility, please do reserve one of our beautiful corner suites.

As we understand that one needs to freshen up before a long flight home, our dedicated TEAM is more than prepared to facilitate a late checkout should hotel occupancy allow it.

The milkshake bar as you mentioned is one of the highlights at our hotel and our milkshakes were voted the best in Johannesburg for 2012. Please do come and enjoy the delicious milkshakes on your next stay with us.

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment positively on your recent stay with us. Our TEAM hopes that you had a safe trip back home.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    178
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
30
86
26
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benoni, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is awesome and beautiful furnished. It is located in one of the most beautiful and interesting shopping areas in Johannesburg. The hotel is chic and modern with beautiful rooms geared to please even the most discerning traveller. The dinner was great with attentive staff at hand!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear DaveSet

Words cannot thank you enough for providing us with such a stunning review after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We are absolutely thrilled to be commending our TEAM for a job well done! Please be assured that we will be extending your fantastic comments to our Food & Beverage TEAM.

As a regular Protea GUEST, it is always a pleasure to accommodate ambassadors such as yourself and we are looking forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived in Johannesburg after two brutal overnight flights with a long lay-over at Heathrow in between. We were so glad to get to the hotel (about noon) only to find that there was no possibility of checking in until after two. The hotel was booked by our tour company and I would have thought that since it books a lot of rooms it could have gotten us early occupancy. So I am not sure whether to blame the hotel or tour company. After we finally got registered the hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was nice, staff friendly, breakfast great and we loved the Melrose Arch area. We felt very comfortable walking in the area at night (it was Fashion Week and the whole place buzzed with activity) and loved it when the doorman welcomed us back and seemed genuinely interested in our evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear KatyDe

Our property is all about the ‘energy’ and the ‘pulse’ and it is absolutely vital for us to make every effort to get it right.

An efficient check in is vital as we understand that one can be tired after travelling long distances and would like to freshen up. We would love to make your next stay more comfortable and we suggest that you guarantee an early check in. Please feel free to highlight this upon your next reservation and we will gladly accommodate your request.

The Melrose Arch Precinct is certainly a great location and perfect for our GUESTS as it offers a wide variety of shops and restaurants to choose from. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the buzz during fashion week.

My TEAM is as committed as ever to provide each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotels’ service experience; therefore we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to comment on your stay.

You have provided us with fantastic feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived for the last night of our honeymoon and nothing that we requested was given to us.
When we arrived we asked for breaking some local currency to give tips to their staff. Nobody since to have change on this hotel. When we arrive to our room I ask for two American adaptors ( i have apnea and i need to sleep with a sleep machine that is plugged to an outlet)and they said all they don't have anymore.
The next day when we finished breakfast a person came to the elevator asking me to come back and pay for breakfast. I had to come back and explain to them that it was include it.
We did an early check out since we were going out early in the morning to get to know the city and no room was given to us to change and shower even that I requested in the morning. Note that I was flying 16 hours to NY and then 6 to Mexico.
Is this a way to threat some honeymooners in your hotel? I travel a lot for work and pleasure and I was never been treat this way in a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dsnewyorker

Please accept my deepest apologies to both you and your wife for what turned out to be a most disappointing stay. Please be assured that my management TEAM and I are on top of the various issues you highlighted and we will make every effort to ensure that we address these concerns appropriately.

We are certainly not in the business of making excuses, and accept the comment of the poor service you received as an opportunity to simply do it better in the future. We will review your comments with the TEAM and reiterate that it is our mission to focus on our GUESTS enjoyment and that service delivery is always a priority.

We have clearly dropped the ball in facilitating a simple change request as our STAFF is equipped to provide this service. It is very worrying to hear that a late checkout was not offered as it would have been very convenient for you to freshen up before your long flight home.

It is vital that the TEAM do their best to deliver the best GUEST service as we want to strive for consistency to guarantee a wonderful stay and positive experience for each and every GUEST.

We look forward to welcoming you back as it would be our absolute pleasure to embrace you with true Fire & Ice! hospitality.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful and clean hotel in a nice area of Jo'burg. However, the service was TERRIBLE... We are on our honeymoon and nothing we requested was granted: Simple change to a 100 rand bill without buying something, plug adapters, giving us a shower to change so we could enjoy the pool for a couple of hours before hopping on a 16 hour flight back to the dread of North American winter... Nothing. It was even an argument not to have breakfast charged to our room when it was included in our rate, These are simple things that should be offered with kindness to someone who is coming to your hotel, let alone your country, for the first time. It was an unfortunate end to a wonderful trip... No other hotel in South Africa had as poor a service as this one. Although I plan and look forward to coming back to south africa one day, I will never stay at this hotel or any of the other protea hotels throughout the country. That was not my intention upon arrival after seeing the nice and hip facilities... Unfortunately they quickly ruined that badly themselves.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear VenezuelanNewYorker

I would like to apologise most sincerely that you encountered such a disappointing experience at the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! on what was meant to be a memorable honeymoon. The issues you have highlighted are completely unacceptable and are not a true reflection of the service we strive to achieve.

Although we receive numerous positive and wonderful comments on how friendly our STAFF are, we will certainly not be turning a blind eye on the concern raised regarding the behaviour received from our TEAM. It is unacceptable as we make every effort to meet all our GUESTS needs ensuring that they experience an unforgettable stay.

It’s embarrassing that we couldn’t get it right, as it is not something we are proud to hear about. We know that it is not worth the ounce of effort if we do not get it right every time. The STAFF are equipped in facilitating our GUESTS with a basic change request and I am saddened to hear that we could not provide this service. A late checkout would have been the perfect solution to accommodate your needs to shower before your long flight home. Where we are able to assist with this requirement, we do so gladly.

We have reiterated to the TEAM how important it is to deliver the best GUEST service and to meet and exceed GUEST expectations by fulfilling all requests. We want to provide our GUESTS with an excellent service experience and your encounter was definitely not the impression that we wanted to leave.

In the event we could convince you to return perhaps even on a future anniversary celebration, we hope to have the chance of proving to you that we are truly proud of our product and we value the enjoyment of our GUEST’S experience.

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was in a very upscale area, the staff was helpful, the breakfast buffet was pretty amazing. The rooms were very impressive. Altogether the hotel was exceptional & beyond my expectations. The only downfall is that they ran out of double bed rooms. This hotel was very alive (with music), I thought it was due to fashion week, but I've read it is typically like that. Overall great start to our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear 619miamiluv662

Meeting and exceeding our GUEST expectations is what we thrive on! Thank you for giving us such an awesome review.

We have a beautiful property and your appreciation thereof gives us great pleasure.

We have a certain number of twin rooms in the hotel and during the week of your stay, we had numerous groups in house that had taken up these rooms. To avoid disappointment on any future stays, please highlight your request so that you can enjoy another comfortable stay with us.

Our property is all about the ‘energy’ and the ‘pulse’ and it is absolutely vital for us to make every effort to get it right. By hosting evening entertainment, playing smooth tunes in the background and having great STAFF we feel that we have achieved the perfect mix in providing our uber cool GUESTS with an experience to remember. We do hope that you will come back to enjoy an evening in our gorgeously furnished Lobby Lounge.

Our TEAM hopes that you had a safe trip back home and we look forward to hosting you again!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed here several times. I generally always find it a good stay and have noticed some great improvements eg the room service menu which has come along in leaps and bounds. The service overall can be a bit variable eg this time the breakfast service was not up to the high standard previously experienced. I was not offered any coffee and eventually got up and fetched it myself. However, when there was a problem with the lifts one of the manager's offered to carry my suitcase down, fortunately it was not necessary as the lift was operating normally again. My experience has been that there is a genuine effort to raise the standards and address concerns, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear knowthegoodstuff

It really is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed another great stay with us!

The TEAM has been working hard to get the basics right and it is evident that our efforts have resonated. We have listened to our GUESTS and improved our room service menu and this has only yielded great results!

As for the service experienced during breakfast, it is clear that we have dropped the ball and your concern has been highlighted to the TEAM. We can only learn from this and we are positive with consistent training and mentoring that we will exceed your service expectations again.

If it were not for your comments, we will never know when we are doing right or wrong and we would never have the opportunity to improve our service offerings. We believe that if our TEAM stays focussed and vigilant, we can only prosper in our results.

We are certainly looking forward to your next visit and making it an exceptional one!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.