We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, Dark mood lighting, gated complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Safe, Dark mood lighting, gated complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has a black and white theme, with dark elevators. There are pictures of old movie stars all throughout the hotel. My room was the James Dean room, with pictures inside of breakfast at Tiffany's. I like the efficient use of space in the room with the shower just divided from the rest of the room by a little sliding curtain.

The hotel has quite a lively bar on the second floor and there is a tiny little exercise room that you can use. Outside there is a nice pool in the courtyard. The hotel is located inside a gated community called Melrose arch. This means that the hotel has restaurants and shopping all around it that is completely secure, with security guards everywhere. If you're afraid of getting robbed in Africa, this is a good choice for you to go, especially in johanesburg, South Africa

Power went out twice after a thunderstorm, generator came online after some minutes. I would recommend the hotel as clean, efficient and safe.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear freefuelforever

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the ‘Hollywood Glam’ theme that flows through the hotel. Our rooms have different themes, and on this stay you got the chance to share it with James Dean, perhaps on your next stay you will be fortunate enough to share your room with Audrey Hepburn.

Our unique location within the Melrose Arch precinct attracts locals and tourists alike as this creates a very trendy atmosphere which is eminent throughout the hotel and its surroundings. It is great to know that you enjoyed the uber cool vibe and the accessibility of the retail offering.

We hope that no inconvenience was caused due to the weather. Jozi is well known for thunder showers during the month of November.

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment positively on your recent stay with us. Our TEAM hopes that you had a safe trip back to Canada!

Kind Regards
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    221
    71
    38
    28
See reviews for
41
116
32
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely location, a bit on the slow side for service, both room service and food. Front desk were a bit glum and so slow. Not a patch on the friendlyness of the Cape Town version.

We had requested two rooms near each other many months in advance , but were actually about 5 rooms apart, a pity.

Could be very noisy at night if you stayed 1st floor as bar played loud music . Got fed up with being asked by doormen if i was a client even though i showed my room card.

Be warned local building works being undertaken so sitting by pool was very noisy. Check when booking if completed. Breakfast for 4 at 630 rands expensive for SA.

Bottom line we would have enjoyed the stay more if the staff were more positive.
Loved the decor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Martin K

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologise most sincerely that you did not experience an enjoyable stay with us whilst in in Johannesburg together with your family. Although our TEAM continue to display genuine friendliness and eagerness to please all our GUESTS, we are truly sorry to hear that this did not resonate during your interactions with our STAFF. Our GUESTS frequently commend our TEAM members by name and highlight the wonderful dealings they have experienced. We will continue to stress the importance of the ‘human connection’ to our TEAM and every effort will be made to ensure that each and every GUEST gets to experience the positive energy that we are so well known for.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the ‘Hollywood glamour’ décor and design of the hotel as well as the fantastic location within the Melrose Arch Precinct. Our sister property in Cape Town will be delighted that you rate them so highly. We will be sure to share this feedback with them.

More importantly we will make it our priority to prove to you that we are equally proud of our GUEST service and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon so that you can experience the true Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! TEAM at its best.

Thanks & Regards

Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After a long day of meetings, a friend and I decided to go to the Melrose Arch, Fire and Ice Hotel Restaurant for dinner and milkshakes. A waiter by the name of Solly helped us be seated where ever we felt comfortable. He suggested delicious meals that would suit the client and too help that the best selling meals were not for us. The food was delicious! He then started discussing what types of milkshakes are delicious... He truly embraced us as people rather than those out there trying to get a nice tip! The MILKSHAKES are add another dimension to your life! no one can leave without a milkshake! They (yes we had many) were exactly what i needed after the long day we had.
Solly invited us back, but unfortunately my friend lives over seas and this was her first time. WELL.... did that start Solly off with conversation!!! He started conversing with us how he knows certain languages and has to learn them to be able to make he customers feel more comfortable. He told us the different places he has worked and the different people he met who taught him German, Italian, French... and how he would run and wright down the words to be able to remember them. He then started having a conversation with my friend in Italian trying to remember the words he learnt. He was an absolute inspiration! Hats off to you Solly! You gave us an experience we will never forget!
Try out this restaurant friends! Ask for Mathew, the manager of beverages, he is warm and gentle and will make you feel right at home. Make sure you get Solly to make your time worth while too.
Alexa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AlexaJS

Thank you so much for giving us, undoubtedly a fantastic review, on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It is truly great to know that we have ambassadors in GUESTS, such as yourself, who will always be appreciative of the energy and passion our TEAM have dedicated towards their work.

Our GUEST service vision is to ‘anticipate, meet and exceed GUEST expectations’ and judging by your experience with us, Solly has taken that up to the next level! Solly is well liked by STAFF and GUESTS alike and we will most certainly be making an example of him and the exceptional service that he provided.

We encourage feedback such as yours as we have really made a big fuss of Solly and Matthew. This will definitely create the ‘desire to serve’ by other STAFF as there is nothing more motivating than GUESTS identifying brilliance from within our TEAM.

Once again, thank you for it is always a pleasure hosting special GUESTS like you and we cannot wait to host you again.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

this place gets the vibe on the weekend.. very chic and modern.. its within the melrose arch complex which has fabulous restaurants and cafes!

the melrose arch restaurant serve 30 different milkshake fllavours yum!!! the cafe downstairs has a brilliant afternoon tea on sundays

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear MadamBK

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your awesome comments after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We are so proud of the amazing vibe in the hotel over weekends and believe it is our individuality which stands out that has made us notoriously known as ‘the place to see and be seen’.

A trip to the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is most definitely sweetened when indulging one of the best milkshakes in Johannesburg. We have recently added ‘naughty’ milkshakes to our offering. Please do try the ‘Shake up the love’, with a splash of Love Potion Liqueur on your next visit, it will be sure to make your evening with us a ‘Sexy’ one!

It was great having you with us and we cannot wait to have you back again!

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This very cool funky hotel has a new manager and he is very fast undoing all the good work of the previous manager. I have been frequenting this hotel since its opening and it has always welcomed guests to the bar lounge/bar/pool area and have a DJ Thursday- Saturday night.

The service in the bar/ lounge area has become HORRENDOUS and despite us having a table with a few bottles we had to ask 5 waiters and it took 45 mins to get a few extra glasses. The new mgt do not seem to want their regular clients nor repeat business. At 11pm they turn on VERY bight lights inside, the music is turned off and they stop serving you unless you produce a room card!! We had been celebrating a bday at the hotel from 8h30 and spent a large amount on drinks but after 11pm we were suddenly no longer wanted. The drinks ordered 30 mins prior to 11pm we not served to us either and we were treated like second class citizens and basically told to leave.

We did however notice that the "ladies of the night" at the bar were being served and if that is the type of clientele you guys are now trying to attract then i am shocked and amazed! The door staff are also very rude and some of the guests were interrogated as to why they were late to the party and didnt want to allow them in..

So for all those "öld clients" that frequented the bar/lounge we are no longer welcome it seems. Do not bother putting your self through the poor service and rude attitude of the staff. Rather head to the other hotel in the arch that will gladly serve you in their bar/library area all night with a smile!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear leighdermick

We are most disappointed to hear of the very poor experience encountered by both you and your GUESTS, at what should have been an enjoyable and memorable birthday celebration. We cannot apologise enough that the evening unfolded in such a manner and left a horribly poor impression and sadly, a bitter taste.

Every GUEST is important to us, especially those whom have supported us from the onset and we are deeply sorry that we have let you, our valued GUEST down in such a poor way.

We have recently introduced a ‘last rounds’ policy, however it was never intended to make GUESTS feel uncomfortable or chased away. I would like to assure you that I have personally addressed the issues raised concerning the STAFF at the door and in the bar area. As an immediate action we have revisited this area and ensured that this process is carried out gradually and that no patrons feel uncomfortable or are inconvenienced.

The concerns which you have highlighted have allowed us the opportunity to identify certain concerning areas and we are very grateful that you have brought them to our attention. We have put additional energy into corrective measures and are continuously monitoring them to ensure that every GUEST leaves with a positive experience. My TEAM will make every effort to ensure that all our GUESTS will receive truly amazing service and unique and memorable experience.

We are grateful for your on-going support and hope to be given the opportunity to prove ourselves to you once again.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rooms are fine, new and decor is a little tasteless but ok, only issue is no fridge, which for a 4 star is a bit strange.

The staff in this hotel are the real issue, in general bone idle and slow at best. I will give a number of examples, the reception takes an age to check u in, and even though check in is at 2pm they were unable to accomodate us until 3pm. The travel desk lady is useless, doesn't care and generally not interested. We got a taxi from the hotel, then phoned for a return. Unfortunetly she could not be bothered to pass on the correct instructions to the driver so instead we waited for 40 minutes waititng. After 10 calls to her she decided we should phone the driver ourselves, what a joke. Only in south africa would she have not been sacked!

So beyond the bad check in experience and bad travel desk experience u would have assumed I would have learnt my lesson and stayed away from their other services. Unfortunately I decided to dine with them. 35 minutes for a chicken burger, the burger was good don't get me wrong, but it wasn't like they were sending a man to kill a chicken specifically for me!!!

My advice is to not stay here, unless u can handle the bad service.

Melrose arch is lovely otherwise, ocean basket and meat company are great restaurans, but avoid the fire and ice at all costs, and if you stay don't book a taxi, eat or expect good service in any way!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear nickpil

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your recent stay with us. It really does sound like we have dropped the ball and it certainly does not seem as if you encountered the true Fire & Ice! experience.

We pride ourselves in offering spectacular GUEST service and we will be ensuring that the appropriate and additional focus is spent on our front line TEAM. We are confident that this would be beneficial and only lead to great results.

We would also like to extend an apology for the food delivery taking so long. It is not the usual standard of service delivery that we pride ourselves in offering and although we cannot determine why your meal took so long to prepare, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a delicious burger.

As an international traveller, we value your feedback and we will endeavour to get all the aspects right pertaining to service delivery as we are very proud of our product and the service that we provide.

We would love the opportunity to ‘wow’ you and give you a dose of true Protea hospitality.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A hotel with unique modern decor that is located in the very nice tony neighborhood of melrose arch. Nice restaurants in the area:
Moyo - traditional african with jazz music in the evening
Orient - excellent asian
Shad - good indian

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Wictor

Thank you very much for your providing us with some great comments about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch on TripAdvisor.

It really is amazing to receive such great feedback especially since we pride ourselves in being ‘hip’ and ‘trendy’. Please be assured that we will, without a doubt, pass your feedback on to the restaurants within the precinct. We hope that during your next visit we can welcome you to our in-house restaurant or to the bar to try some of our famous gourmet milkshakes.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering best GUEST service.

Kind Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.