We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, small rooms, crap expensive WIFI” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Funky, small rooms, crap expensive WIFI”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Strange decor. The bar / restaurant area is very nice, and the service good. Reception also were very helpful.

Whoever designed the room layout should hang their head in shame. What were they thinking putting the open shower and bathroom right next to the bed???

The room, while 'funky' is very small and pokey.

And don't get me started about the Wifi.... Two cans and a bit of wet string would have been faster.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear borat_123

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It certainly pleases us to hear that the service received in the bar and front office was good, as we strive to provide excellent GUEST service. It is a pity that you don’t like the design of our rooms; the design concept is to make clever use of available space as there are no predetermined room sizes and contributes to the urban style setting of the hotel.

The hotel internet is an added value and we have measured our offering against our competitors and believe that the complimentary 150MB per day is in order. As for the slow connection, we have tasked these concerns with our suppliers and they are in the process of making various upgrades to the current system which will hopefully facilitate a better service to you. Thank you for raising your concerns as this will aid us in the process.

Our TEAM is as committed as ever to provide each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotel’s service experience. We therefore want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams & the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    236
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
43
124
33
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed here for one night at the end of our safari vacation. We booked it because of the location - within safe walking distance of restaurants and shops in the new Melrose Arch area. While the hotel was new and very funky we found the guest rooms a bit spare with limited storage space and with the shower and sink located in the "bedroom" area separated only by a curtain. Unfortunately our room was located on the second floor. This required us to pass through the conference and reception space (cocktails and buffet stations up and running) to access the guest room hall. Once we got to our room we discovered it was overlooking the 1st floor roof top pool/bar/restaurant area which was fine until the after work and night life crowd descended (this on top of the noise from down the hall). The bass beat from the dance tunes reverberated through the thin windows. We were not advised of this and had we known we would have asked for a room on the street side. They promised the tunes would end at 10:30 - they didn't but when we eventually did call down they did take things inside. Things started up again before 8 am the next morning with the set up and chatting of staff for a radio broadcast. Clearly we are not the hip and funky clientele that this hotel attracts (well maybe our kids who are young adults but they too were pretty tired after 8 days of early mornings for game drives). That said, the breakfast buffet was good - lots of options hot and cold. The staff were generally helpful and friendly and of course the location was excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one higher up and not overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear A_Toronto_Traveler

Thank you very much for providing us with a most detailed experience on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

It is always refreshing to receive feedback from our GUESTS as their stories take us on a journey through fresh eyes.

We agree that we have the ideal location, with some great restaurants, to complement one’s travels to Johannesburg providing both fantastic accommodation and ‘on the doorstep’ shopping.

As for our rooms, they were designed to be funky and urban, we are sorry to hear that you found the room space to be limited. Perhaps on your next stay, one of our gorgeous corner suites can be reserved as this would certainly provide the additional space you require, especially since you stayed with us for five days. The corner suite will not only provide you with a comfortable stay, but a peaceful one too.

The hotel is situated in a trendy and energetic environment. We appreciate your feedback regarding the various disturbances you encountered and by no means were they scheduled to cause any disruption or discomfort to you and your family. We will certainly limit and monitor any such similar requests in the future so as not to inconvenience our valued hotel GUESTS.

Our Food & Beverage TEAM are on the relentless pursuit of serving the best breakfast buffet in Johannesburg and to provide our GUESTS with a variety of hot and cold offerings. Your kind words will be passed on to breakfast TEAM to encourage the preparation of consistently good food.

Your feedback has provided us with some great comments and to assist us with various concerns raised.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Warmest Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams & the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our tour group of 63 people stayed at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice Melrose Arch in August for 3 nights during a 15 day tour with Gate1. Some of us left our bags in hotel storage after the first night for 3 days while touring Zimbabwe and all our belongings were kept safe. Fairly nice hotel located in a very safe gated community-rather pricey area of town. There is a mall and many restaurants in the vicinity. Check in was easy and the usual complimentary glass of juice offered. My first priority is always internet access which was fairly good at this hotel and free. You only get a certain amount of access per day so use it well. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay; probably the best hotel staff during our whole trip in terms of friendliness and service. They have a nice restaurant/bar/lounge area (Do try the Amarula and that Elephant trunk milkshake is to die for) that is fairly lively but not too noisy at nights. Our room was on the 2nd floor, you might have already read about the quirky décor (I thought there were different stars in each room but turns out all the same-Marilyn, Audrey and Naomi) and odd room setup- the toilet is in a separate area with door-ok with that. The shower, wash basin is right in the room with a curtain you pull across for separation. This curtain was right beside the bed I slept on. Not much privacy. For example if I wanted to brush my teeth I had to wait until roommate finished showering, or if walking to the toilet shut my eye. That proved to be a challenge for some travel members, not sure what the heck the designers were thinking-romance perhaps-I wouldn’t have mind if with spouse. Other than that strange bit I liked the hotel. Beds were comfy, very nice pillows. Complimentary water, coffee, tea and cookies provided in room each day. I could get to Sandton Mandela Square by a 15 minute cab ride and about 30 minutes from the airport. Great hotel choice Gate1!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Kim24

What an awesome review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share the details of your trip with us after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Offering luggage storage is a service that we provide, given that we have availability, to ensure the wellbeing of our GUESTS and the safekeeping of their belongings. An efficient check in for such a large group is vital as we understand that one can be tired after travelling long distances and would like to freshen up.

We are proud to say that the hotel is situated in a secure environment and that the Melrose Arch Precinct is patrolled 24 hours by a trusted security TEAM who make all GUESTS feel safe and welcome. There are many good shops and restaurants to be explored!

The food & beverage facilities provide the perfect evening entertainment and our vibrant STAFF are here to anticipate the needs of our GUESTS making sure that they are well looked after. We do hope that you will come back to enjoy an evening in our beautiful furnished Lobby Lounge.

As for the trendy and urban room design, although the room was not necessarily ideal for sharing with a travel companion, we do maintain the rooms and provide the necessary amenities to ensure that our GUESTS enjoy a comfortable stay.

Our TEAM is here to facilitate all GUEST requests and ensuring that all expectations were met and exceeded.

It is always a pleasure hosting GATE1 and we look forward to welcoming back our special GUESTS back.

Warmest Regards,
The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wau Wau, Bahr al Ghazal, South Sudan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

perfct sweet place up ur next flight from O R Tambo Inter'l Airport or just on the business trip in Joburg. With a nice reception, u get a value of ur time well spent near Africa's business hotspots and best shopping arcades.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Tony K

It pleases us to hear that you were well received and that you had enjoyed a perfect stay with us. Our GUESTS enjoyment receives top priority as we strive to achieve a balance in creating an environment which exudes comfort and efficiency for the discerning business GUEST.

We would like to use this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your awesome review on Trip Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we hope to have the privilege of accommodating you once again.

Warmest Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams and the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

First impression was wonderful! Beautiful decor & layout! But the bar service was incredibly BAD! Took them 45minutes to make 1 cup of rooibos tea! It is a Sunday evening when we arrived at 9pm. Unable to get a seat anywhere but the bar we sat down to order only to be told that I am not allowed to have tea at the bar. there are no signs that say so whatsoever! Terrible service! If this is what it takes to make a cup of tea I have no idea how long a meal would take!? How HARD is it to make a cup of tea!!! (this is only a review for the bar, good luck if you are staying at the hotel- I do hope they have better service!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear misspon

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you encountered due to the poor service experience at our bar area. We are most displeased that our TEAM did not deliver on your request. All of our GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our hotel TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS enjoy an amazing experience.

It certainly is concerning to receive such feedback as we are usually inundated with positive comments commending the TEAM for delivering such a great service. We can assure you that your experience in no way represents the standard we're constantly striving to achieve. You have provided us with an ‘inside look’ and have given us the opportunity to address such issues, therefore assisting us in continually improving our standards.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and proving to you that we are proud of our product and the services that we provide.

Warmest Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams and the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The trendy Fire and Ice Protea hotel offers very stylish accommodation with a Hollywood theme. The staff is welcoming and friendly and gives service with a smile. The spotless rooms with complementary WIFI are spacious and comfortable and decorated with nice Hollywood accessories and photographs, but might not be to everyone's taste. The locaction at Melrose Arch is good and just around the corner you can find many good resturants and bars . The internal hotel bar and restaurant are good but service can be slow. Highly recommended for business and leisure.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Frans V

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We love the fact that you love our theme of “Old Hollywood Glamour” which is a unique concept and a sure conversation starter. Although it may not be to everyone’s taste, we believe that the people are the ones who make the GUEST experience memorable. We are delighted that you experienced some of the warmth, energy and friendliness that our TEAM exudes. The comfort and cleanliness of all our facilities and rooms always receive top priority. The complimentary Wi-Fi is just one of our many values that our GUESTS can enjoy on their stays with us (especially on the amazing new Apple Macs in our Lobby Lounge).

Feedback such as yours is very motivating and rewarding and will most definitely add to STAFF energy and efficiency. Your positive comments are a true reflection of a job well done!

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back for many future visits to come.

Warmest Regards,

Gabrielle Abrahams & the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for three nights last week. Overall the staff here are very good, the room was clean & comfortable and it is in a safe location in Joburg. However the decor is not to my taste - the whole place is dark (the lobby, the elevators, the hallways, the restaurant, the bars) and feels like a nightclub. In the restaurant there are orange down lights that wash all the colour out of the food, so my salad appeared to be grey and unappetizing. However the bar, which is the one place in a hotel I don't mind subdued lighting, was welcoming and the bar staff very helpful and attentive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sandy H

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent visit at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We are delighted to hear that the STAFF were so helpful and attentive. Your commendations are truly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated the TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

It is unfortunate that you do not share our thoughts regarding our Old Hollywood Glamour décor that defines our hotel. The décor is a unique concept and a definite talking point and although it is not to your liking, the comfort and cleanliness of our GUESTS always receive top priority.

You have certainly provided us with wonderful comments and the right thing to do is to share your experience with our TEAM.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Warmest Regards,
Gabrielle Abrahams and the Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 mi away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 71 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#26 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.