We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I have stayed here so many times on business trips that I've lost count. This is a great hotel, with great service.

The theme of the Fire & Ice Hotels which are part of the Protea Group, is black & white retro, and the rooms are stylishly decorated accordingly.

The hotels is located in the well known Melrose Arch, a safe area to walk and shop, with many restaurants and shops to choose from. It is about 10 minutes drive from Sandton Square.

There are often live music in the restaurant and lounge area on the 1st floor.I have noticed that YUPPIES like hanging out there after work, which gives an awesome vibe to it.

Because of its popularity, room rates are often higher than the 5 star Melrose Arch Hotel further down the road, which falls in the same stall. I often stay there too. If you can find a better deal at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, I would suggest you opt for the latter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Royboy

Thank you very much for the wonderful rating and for the fantastic feedback posted on Trip Advisor after your recent stay with us.

Both the Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch and the African Pride Melrose Arch fall under the Protea Hotel group and although there are many rate categories and structures available, all rates are based on the BAR (Best Available Rate) structure. Our two properties do not compete with one another instead share the market available within the node. We are concerned that you have mentioned that the 4 star property’s rates can sometimes be higher than its sister 5 star property, as we believe in displaying a transparent rate offering. Should you ever come across such rates please bring it to our attention directly so that it can be addressed and rectified where necessary.

I hope this provides you with some clarity regarding our rates. We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future and hope to have the opportunity of meeting you personally.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    203
    64
    32
    22
See reviews for
35
103
29
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

In joburg on business and booked into protea Wanderers and following a mess up with reservation was transferred (for free) to fire and ice, fantastic location very chic decor and impeccable, friendly service. Really could not fault anything at all which is very rare. Will definately stay here when next in joburg

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Cfincham

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We were thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us after the reservation mix up at The Protea Hotel Wanderers. It really is rewarding to receive such fantastic praise and we will most definitely commend the TEAM for a job well done.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the fire and ice for a corporate function for two days
The bar and restaurant is fantastic with great food and of course the famous milkshakes
Rooms are clean and stylish
The only problem is that there is no bathtub and also the shower is not in a separate room which can cause the room to get moist
The hotel is nicely located near to all shops and restaurants of melrose arch
My only problem is that the gym is very small and I do not understand why the hotel does not give you access to the very nice virgin active across the road

Room Tip: Do not get a room that faces onto the pool and bar area this can be rather noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Dave N

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with an in depth outline as to what transpired during your recent stay with us.

Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently and we were ecstatic to receive your compliments.

Our Food & Beverage TEAM will appreciate your fantastic comments regarding the great food and our famous milkshakes. The TEAM thrives in doing a good job and takes pride in doing so. Without a doubt, your compliments will add to the TEAM motivation and we thank you.

On your next stay, we will be more than willing to assist you with a room that has a more private bathroom facility. We only have a handful of these rooms but we do not market them as such. Please feel free to highlight this on any future trips and we will be happy to accommodate you.

As our Fitness Room is a new addition to the services offered at the hotel, we are still in the process of making changes and any suggestions would be welcome. The Virgin Active within the precinct is still open to our hotel GUESTS, and you are more than welcome to make use of their facilities by purchasing a R200 gym voucher.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for business in this hotel. I was wowed by The appearance, a unique hotel something that you wish ur house looked like in your teens. Well equipped rooms, comfortable beds. Situated in a secure area with restaurants and shops. Two negatives- service, waited 2 hrs for room service without a real apology or compensation. I wouldnt stay if your a staying with a friend etc the room has really no privacy, the shower is in the bedroom, and can only be separated by a shower curtain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear ka7i3

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. You have most certainly provided us with some amazing comments regarding our physical features.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the dismal service received from our room service department. The poor service received does not reflect the high standard of service which we usually strive to achieve. Please be assured that this isolated issue has been addressed with the TEAM involved and that we have reiterated the importance of making a positive impression with every encounter.

The reasoning behind our open plan bathrooms is to create more space and the design contributes to the urban style setting of the hotel. Although we do have a handful of rooms that offer a private bathroom, we do not market them as such. You are more than welcome to highlight this on your future trips and we will be happy to accommodate you in a more private facility.

Once again thank you for bringing the concerns to our attention and we hope to be welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I chose this hotelfor its position into Melrose Arch district, a nice area with shop, restaurants and hotels where you can freely walk around even at night with no problems. Being here for work without any car, it's nice to be able to walk around and choose the place to stop without taxy. Hotel is nice and modern, rooms are medium spaced but well refined, even if wi-fi doesn't work well. The staff is nice but they made a mistake with my reservation, evenif at the end everything was fixed it took quite a while.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear i_picci

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. The value added by you will be utilized to better the service offering.

It really is great to know that the location played a contributing role in choosing to stay with us. By the feedback that you have provided it is fantastic to hear that you could walk around the precinct any time day or night doing your shopping without any hassles.

We would also like to sincerely apologise for the manner in which the mixed up reservation was dealt with and that it was not resolved immediately. We have also reviewed the comment highlighted regarding the Wi-Fi not working well at times with the IT TEAM. We can assure you that this is not our normal standard and that the concern raised has been addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Stylish hotel with friendly staff and well thought out rooms. Beds are really comfortable and the rooms had all you need as a business traveller. The bar was fun without a great outside area. Will definitely be back on my next trip.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Orchardsam

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We appreciate your compliments and will definitely commend the TEAM for their friendliness. We were also thrilled to hear that all your requirements as a business traveller were met. If there is anything that we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please feel free to highlight it upon your next reservation.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I visited the hotel's restaurant today with a few friends, hoping to introduce them to the famous milkshakes.
The hotel itself is gorgeous - the decor is very retro and funky.
The restaurant has a lovely setting outside near the pool. Often there is a DJ playing, and like today, there are lots of people enjoying the area.
The milkshakes are honestly the best in Joburg, in my opinion - such a pity then, that it's almost impossible to get one!
The service that I've experienced here today (and unfortunately on more than one occasion) was terrible.

We had to flag down a waiter just to get menu's after a while. Then again to place an order. Then after 40 minutes, when the milkshakes arrived, I was given something I didn't order - and only received the correct one another 10 minutes later. We then once again, had to flag someone down to ask for the bill, and AGAIN, to get someone to bring a card machine to pay...

Yes, they were pretty busy, but more than once, a group of waiters would be standing around chatting, and not paying any attention to the patrons. Not something that you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.
All in all, I felt that the lack of service seriously let down everything else that the place has going for it.
Great milkshakes, if you can coax them out of the staff that is.

I have rated the restaurant as average, because the menu is good, but the service is terrible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesireBotha, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Aimeelloyd9

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Firstly, we would like to sincerely apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your recent visit due to the lack of service. Your feedback is very valuable to us as it provides us with a true reflection of our service delivery and by no means echoes the high standard that The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! is usually proud to offer.

Please be assured that we have adressed these concerns with The Food & Beverage TEAM as we know that such issues are not always solved overnight. However we are very positive that with our continuous training and the mentoring structure that we have in place, that this will only yield great results.

Your feedback is providing us with the opportunity to strive for service excellence and your assistance in this regard is greatly appreciated.

As a gesture, we would like to invite you back for complimentary milkshakes as we would really like to prove to you that we are truly proud of our product and the service that we provide. If you do decide to take me up on the offer, please do not hesitate to contact personally and I will gladly assist with the reservation and ensure that you are well taken care of.

We look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#22 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.