We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats happening?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Funchal, Portugal
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Whats happening?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Have been to this Hotel several times and have been seeing that the service is getting very weak in the last visits. A good example was on my recent stay, when they forgot my laundry,meventhough I had called housekeeping and had advised the reception. Asked 4 times to maintenance, reception and housekeeping to change my remote control of the TV....Unbelievable because I checked out and it was still not resolved. Also changing staff on a frequent basis, is also not a good sign. The service at the bar is getting worse, with all the new guys trying their best, but without any experience. Dont give a worse classification due to the quality f the room, the location and the simpaty of some of the employees.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear cdn07

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We are truly grateful that you have brought your concerns to our attention.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of urgency in executing your request. We can assure you that this is not the normal standard that we so proudly strive to achieve. As you are aware Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service but we have failed dismally in this regard.

We will most certainly review your comments with the TEAM concerned and stress the importance of making a positive impression on every interaction with our GUESTS. While this does not detract from your experience, your comments will allow a better experience to other valued GUESTS by allowing us to correct an area of the TEAM so easily avoidable.

We do value your patronage and we are sincerely sorry that you experienced such an unpleasant service. If in the event you do decide to stay with us again in the future, please feel free to contact myself directly and I will gladly ensure that you have a comfortable stay.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and prove to you that we are an establishment that prides ourselves on the services and products that we provide.

Warmest Regards,

Desire Botha & TEAM
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    176
    53
    29
    17
See reviews for
30
86
26
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Protea Fire and Ice isn't TRYING to be cool - it IS cool! It's hip, it's chic, it's artsy. It's ALL that!!! And more. The rooms -- hidden away behind nooks and cranies and twisty corridors - are spacious, and well lit, with bright lighting where needed: the bathroom mirror, and many lamps. It could use more variety in choosing which lights are lit - I tried to get the panel lighting behind the bed to stay on only, and wasn't able to, only with the overhead, which was too bright. I didnt' mind that the lovely bathroom with the cool, glass enclosed shower with the huge showerhead was inside the room, but it IS something to think about. However, there is a curtain that crosses the entire room if privacy is a concern. The frosted glass enclosed separate toilet was plenty large for me (loved the included magazine rack!), but may be a consideration for the claustrophobic. Not an inch of space is wasted, and not a single opportunity to exude chic-ness is missed. The chair, the desk, the mirrors, the "rose petal-strewn" carpet, the tucked away closets, the wall-to-wall wide open-able windows, the black/white/grey color scheme, the 50s era photos updated with black/white images of contemporary beauties and beaus (I had Grace Kelly, Audrey Hepburn and Naomi Campbell - quite a combo!). The common areas are great! Loved the elevator: dark and hazy -- very adult - with a pinlight on the control panel. And secure: you could only punch Lobby and the floor that was imprinted on your room card! The dining room is huge, open and art deco, with (very) low lighting for dinner and windows open to the sky for breakfast. Also some open air seating. The restaurant food was adequate, and varied. The menu was well done whimsy - especially the milkshake names (which i didn't try, but saw that many people did!). The bar area was lively and amenable, including an eating area to the side and an outside/open air area. The bar seems to be open FOREVER! But wasn't overly loud (unless maybe if you were on that floor!) There were so many cute and quaint little alcoves throughout the first floor that it made you want to just sneak away! The staff was lovely and helpful with welcoming smiles each time you passed the front desk. (Helps that you don't have to worry about who's a guest since the elevator isn't going to move if you don't have a key card!) The location is near perfect. You can walk to Melrose Arch shops and restaurants, and the Rosebank Train is only about 10 minutes away. (The hotel offers a shuttle, but wasn't operating when I was there.). I offer that it should be adult only. Not because I don't like children, but because it's not very child-minded. I saw a few children, and they just looked confused and lost -- with the exception of running up and down the spiraled staircase leading from the lobby to the dining area. It was too dark and too sterile, and the chairs were too big for them. As wonderful as this hotel is, all its chic-ness is lost on children. Even the milkshakes were mostly alcohol laced! I LOVED this hotel! It was very me!

Room Tip: I was on fifth floor, and I thought it was noise-free (more noise from INSIDE the hotel - cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Amnesty1

Thank you for your kind words posted on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch. We really do appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to provide the hotel with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your stay. We were ecstatic to receive your compliments and without a doubt, we have commended the STAFF for their exemplary service.

As you are aware, The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, thrives on receiving GUEST feedback as it is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Therefore your comments regarding the property and TEAM are truly amazing. We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to post your comments and allowing us an opportunity of recognizing talent from within our remarkable TEAM of STAFF.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Warmest Regards,
The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Arrived on the Christmas weekend. We check in to our room on the 4th floor which was not comfortable as they are doing renovations on that floor and the room had a very strong smell of paint. When we called the front desk we were moved us to another floor instantly by the front desk manager. When we called for our luggage the lady that had originally checked us in was annoyed that she was not aware that we had moved rooms and wanted to know who had moved us without her being informed first. She was very impolite in her approach. The room was lovely decorated but quite small. We had a lovely time walking around the precinct and we really enjoyed the milkshakes and light meals. The dinner is very standard very few options. The breakfast was very good. We left on Christmas day we had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Book a suite they have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Farhana H

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Firstly we would like to apologise most sincerely for the unfortunate sequence of events during your stay with us over the Christmas period. The TEAM were undergoing preventative maintenance in selected rooms and we were hoping that it would allow us a great impression to our valued GUESTS. Unfortunately in this instance it was not the case and as a result of the occurrences it has left a poor impression.

We receive an overwhelming number of positive responses and feedback from our GUESTS and the majority of them compliment the STAFF by name and commend the warm and sincere service received. As rewarding as this may be, we do understand and acknowledge that receiving one poor review, makes all our previous efforts null and void. We can assure you that the behaviour of the Front Desk STAFF is not our normal standard. We will certainly review your comments with the TEAM concerned and stress the importance of making a positive impression on every interaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy our hospitality to its best.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived for the New Years Eve celebrations in Melrose Arch and was pleasantly surprised with the suites. The suites are comfortable, spacious and styled according to the decor and style of the Fire & Ice style. I cannot fault the suites - it is really great. I did have a problem with the batch plug and was very disappointed with the lack of service to sort it out - they eventually arrived and advised that they can 'fix' it the following day - which did not help me as we only stayed the one night.
Our experience in the restuarant was not great - we ordered finger foods and wine - our first wine choice was sold out and the portions were very small. We were so disappointed with the restaurant that we decided not to have NYE dinner there.
The in-room (free) wi-fi was fast and easy to access.

Room Tip: Corner suites are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear ADavis1977

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointment you experienced due to the poor dining experience and shortfall in our service levels. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard as all GUESTS are very important to us and everything possible is done by our TEAM to ensure that our GUESTS feel as special and valued as they are.

The TEAM we were most pleased to hear that your stay in the suite was comfortable. It really is amazing to receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS and we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.

Warmest Regards,
The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Arrived on xmas eve to a warm & friendly welcome. Hotel is currently amid a construction site which is a sight for sore eyes. Rooms are comfy but lack the homely feel. Room lighting is more 'hospital like' than hotel room sombre. Decided to spend xmas day at the pool area being lazy & doing nothing. At lunch we were told that the hotel buffet was fully booked & that the pool cafe/bar would serve only drinks & no food!! So what/where should other guests eat?? With various shops in the vicinity we decided on a take-away pizza as our plan was to just relax. Ordered a pizza which was delivered to the hotel. Ordered drinks at the pool & proceeded to eat when the extremely rude & arrogant manager Mathew Khoury approached us immediately & informed us that he will not have us eating outside food on HIS pool deck!
We were treated like 2 vagrants who walked in from outside with his attitude! This however, spoilt our entire weekend & the even the very pleasant female manager's apology & complementary breakfast the next day didn't help lift our spirits. The planned relaxing xmas weekend turned into a real sour event. Will definately NOT be returning here. Admittedly, otherwise an overall stunning hotel.

Room Tip: For the moment u dont want a pool-facing room. U get a horrible view of the construction site. Then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Zack_za1

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel with a detailed overview as to what transpired during your stay as this allows us a proper inside view as to how our STAFF are interacting with our GUESTS and dealing with any problems or situations as they arise. This also enables us to correct any problematic behaviour.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the manner in which our Food and Beverage Manager Matthew Khoury dealt with the situation. Your comment regarding Matthews behaviour received urgent attention and has been adressed immediately. This will most certainly not happen again as we are truly most displeased that you had such an unpleasant stay with us as a result of such occurrences. While this does not detract from your experience, your comments allowed a better experience to other valued GUESTS by allowing us to correct an area of the TEAM that is so easily avoidable.

We do value your patronage and we are sincerely sorry that you experienced such an unpleasant Christmas Weekend. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you and would like to extend an offer of a complimentary two course dinner for two. Please feel free to contact me or Matthew Khoury directly as we would like to personally oversee the particulars of your evening and ensure that you are well taken care of.

I look forward to hearing from you and trust that you will allow us this future occasion to host you and prove to you that we are very proud and passionate of both our service and product.


Warmest Regards,

Desire Botha
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very comfortable stay. The hotel was very convenient for our requirements and in excellent condition throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The place had a great vibe with unusual/funky decor. Breakfast was top drawer!! A minor downside was that our room only had a shower and no bath but that didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you want one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Dazzler1974

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

As you are aware, Protea Hotels prides itself in delivering the best GUEST service and strives to get the basics right consistently. Therefore we can’t thank you enough for taking the time to post your incredible comments regarding the property and TEAM and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back so that you can enjoy Protea Hospitality at its best!

Warmest Regards,
The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Melrose Arch is a fancy and behind the fence neighbourhood quite isolated from the city. Protea Fire&Ice is the best choice if you decide to stay there. It's located within this compound surrounded by cafes, shops and great restaurants. Whole area is monitored and guarded 24/7.

The hotel is not big, which gives you feel of a more personal atmosphere and the one thing to love about this property is the furnishings and design. Everything about it is contemporary, edgy and creative. You will be surrounded by black & white colours, chrome, glass and unique pieces of furniture.
Greetings at the entrance are given by a gent dressed up in full on black suit with screaming pink details. In lobby you will be greeted by ever smiling staff and huge prints of fashion shots of Audrey Hepburn and Naomi Campbell among others.
Rooms go in the same spirit. Black, white, grey colours, tempered glass and rather unique set up of the bathroom, you have to see that bit for yourself.
There is a wifi access all over the hotel, coffee maker and good quality bathroom amenities.

Gym is not in the same building but you can jog for your workout to a great facility just a block away. Hotel restaurant on the first floor offers some yummy treats and there are plenty of other options around. Meat&Co dinner and Europa Cafe servers great breakfast right on the street.

Final word... Love every inch of this property, I left inspired!

Room Tip: Do not leave the hotel without trying one of the milkshakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaNtswaki, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Klarita15

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at The Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch.

Your comments are truly exceptional and we have passed your commendations on to the TEAM as it is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations.

Not only have you left inspired but you have experienced Old Hollywood Glamour at it’s best!

We look forward to welcoming you back so that we can continue delivering the service you so rightfully deserve.

Warmest Regards,

The Fire & Ice! TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic ‘out-of-office’ experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it’s too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.