We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johannesburg Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Johannesburg Backpackers to your Saves list
Johannesburg Backpackers
14 Umgwezi Rd | Emmarentia, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
capital federal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best hostel in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

i ve stayed 15 days before world cup kick off
the best infraestructure, with pool nice beds
and staff
place for making bbq
and play football, near parks and very safe area
also near the centre full of bars and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Johannesburg Backpackers, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hi, Thanks for the feedback, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We all hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and if your ever back in Sunny Johannesburg please come and say Hi. Thanks, the JBP Crew :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 or 4 nights in mid December 2011. The low point on our Africa Trip. Read further if you want to know details, otherwise I'll save you some time- DON'T STAY HERE!! The only reason we stayed that long is we were prepaid and the internet, when it worked, was decent for Africa. It looked as if at one time the place had a good vibe and energy. But something has changed and I think it is the ownership. When we got the initial tour the community kitchen was filthy, stacks of unwashed plates and dirty counters greeted us. Placed in our first room you couldn't help feel like it was a minor step up from a Joburg prison cell. The walls were dirty,stark, and bathroom rundown- horror movie stuff. When we found that we had paid double the going rate, we asked to move to a "nicer "room. This along with any other requests were met with some hesitation from staff. Not because the frontline staff was not helpful (very nice), but they could not make any decisions on their own. They had to ask the owners first as not to get in trouble with them later, (The owners live onsite, and hide from guests). After a few days of staying here we got two feelings from this odd place. 1) the owners must want this place to fail/bankrupt 2) Our guess, they inherited the property and it is more of burden than anything for them. No pride in Ownership!! And they can't just use the lame excuse T.I.A!!! because at one time the place looked like it thrived!

Room Tip: If you do stay there, Don't stay in the first room to right when enter the main hallway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Johannesburg Backpackers, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hi, Thanks for the review ,we pride ourselves on making our place a fun and friendly home away from home for all our guests and to be somewhere that they want to come back to again and again. We fell short of that standard for you and we are sorry. We have taken on board your comments and are making sure that we do meet the standard expected in all those areas. As you mention we do thrive and if you are ever back in Johannesburg please come back and see us and let us show you how good we can be! We hope you enjoy the enjoy the rest of your trip, the Joburg BP team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

A clean place but very basic rooms. Only stayed as a stopover to the airport but found it fairly pricey for what it is.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Johannesburg Backpackers, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Hi,

We constantly review our prices and feel that we offer great value. thanks for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again next time your back in the area.

Andy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a tight schedule in South Africa but Beauty, who works there, booked a unforgetable 6 day experience for me in Cape Town, Durban and Johannesburg. Be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrive to a vary indifferent staff member and were shown a room full of ants, our concerns were not really taken on aboard and we moved to a different hotel, not staying the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johannesburg Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johannesburg Backpackers

Address: 14 Umgwezi Rd | Emmarentia, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This well established backpackers, will give you the parties and rest that you need on your travels. We are within a safe 5 min walk from top Restaurants, Bar's and night clubs, and for those of you that like to explore, let our trained staff help you with all your tour needs! We have all of the facilities you would expect from a top quality backpackers including WiFi, swimming pool and pool table (where you can challenge our in-house champ, or meet your fellow guests over a game and beer)!! We are a self catering facility, but we can place an order for you if you wish to have a lazy night in, in front of the fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Johannesburg Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johannesburg Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.