We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fournos Bakery Benmore Gardens

Fournos Bakery Benmore Gardens
Grayston and Benmore Drive, Benmore Gardens Shopping Centrew, Johannesburg, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Bakeries in Johannesburg
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Best Croissants and Breakfast in town
Libreville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Nice place to go, Benmore Gardens is not to big to shop, and we can eat with the trolley safe outside the restaurant. Very nice food, from bakeries to grilled meat, nice people with kids !

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bakery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The baked goods were great as always but the service lets them down
I,ll buy croissants there any time
Give it another try!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice but always busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a great option when you are looking for a quick and easy breakfast or coffee. Alwasy very busy so a table is not readily available. Coffee is good as are the breakfasts. Better value than a hotel breakfast and healthier too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I buy their cold meat in the morning when I'm desperate & early in the
morning, Fournos Benmore is on the way, so its easy to pass by after
dropping off my son, but I rarely make a pass, only when I need the cold
meat.
The staff is terrible especially the grumpy greek woman who prepares the buns with filling, they also sweep the floor with the dust splashing
all over baked crossaints.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Sarmies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Always fresh breads, and delicious food on display.
Staff can sometimes be a little unfriendly, sometimes taking a while to come to assist you, even when it is not busy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fournos Bakery Benmore Gardens also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Fournos Bakery Benmore Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fournos Bakery Benmore Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.