We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghandi was a great hideaway in Johannesburg!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ghandi Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Midway, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ghandi was a great hideaway in Johannesburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were traveling all over South Africa and Tanzania for our wedding. A friend gave us buddy passes on Delta as a gift. We were stranded on standby for 7 days in Johannesburg and thank god for the Ghandi! Each day Hans would drive us to the airport to attempt to catch a flight and each day he would bring us back to the lodge. He was a delightful host and told us great stories! We also enjoyed the Portuguese restaurant around the corner. Nice room and great hosts!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
16
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

after returning from Kruger Park we stayed here and it was fabulous!! the owner was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We stayed in the dorm out the back (but we very much wanted to be in the magnificent house- but alas no space available there). the dorms were clean and warm, the showers hot (but so weird - there wasn't any doors and when you stepped out of the shower to dry yourself the closet dorm beds could watch you!!). the bar boasts an espresso machine and we were in heaven. Plus Ghandi's has the most adorable dog - it really is a gentle loving giant and once we opened the dorm door in the morning it trotted in and gave all of us a good morning wet nose - how wonderful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 1 night in winter (2012 Aug). This is one of few hostels that offer free pickup from airport, even I stayed for 1 night only (going to the airport is R180, but it just happened 2 others are going at the same time, so i got charged R67). Had very good experience, very friendly atmosphere. Definitely one of the best hostels I’ve been to over the years. The owner, Heinz, drove to the airport himself to pick me up, he's a very friendly swiss guy and treats the guests as friends. The hostel is a beautiful building and the room is very neat and clean, and quiet. There's a nice small pool and free coffee/tea all day long. I found a bit funny that the bathroom has no real doors, but i’m fine with that. I think I will stay here again in future, and would recommend to others too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Facilities - We stayed in the double ensuite and it was amazing! The room is HUGE and the bathroom is updated perfectly with one of the best showers I have had on the road in four months. The kitchen has all equipment you'll need and is also extremely spacious. There is a T.V. in the double room, but there is also a great lounge room with a big screen T.V. as well. The bar is a great place to hang out and meet other travelers.

Staff - The staff is extremely great! From Chris (the airport pick up) to Heinz (the owner), everyone is very friendly and helpful.

Atmosphere - This hostel is very chilled and you can find all the peace you desire to read a book or plan the rest of your trip. However, the bar is available if you are looking for very affordable drinks and some company. We found it extremely convenient that you could party in the bar and then head up to your room to chill out. Because the bar is not attached to the house you can't hear a peep coming from those that have a higher alcohol tolerance then you.

Location - It is close to the airport which is great for coming and going out of Joburg. The area is safe and there is a supermarket, liquer store, and ATM all less then a five minute walk away. They are close to the largest mall in Joburg and also have a list of tours that you can book.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Only here for one day but spacious room (ensuite double), nice little lounge and the owner is friendly. Though a little way out of time but good if you wanna stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I don't have any complaints about my stay there, but it was kind of bland. There were only a few other people staying there at the time, so I had the dorm room almost to myself, which was nice, but then it was really quiet to have a drink at the bar. Chris was really nice and played a game of pool with me, and he also gave me a ride to the airport in the morning, through gorgeous tree-lined streets with the purple jacarunda trees in bloom. He also was kind enough to try to teach me some words in Xhosa, but I found the clicks too hard to combine with other sounds (he speaks something like 7 languages!). A few notes: 1) there's no wireless Internet, so you have to use one of their 2 computers at a charge, 2) there are a couple dogs, 3) the kitchen is clean and you can make coffee/tea anytime, 4) there's no hand-washing soap in the bathroom, 5) there's a pizza place nearby where you can order food for delivery - they have menus at the bar and will even call and place the order for you - that's the only food option if you don't cook.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Two friends and I recently stayed at Ghandi Backpackers after missing a connecting flight into Mozambique. After making a call to book a room, we were quickly picked up from the airport by Chris and transferred to the lodge. We had a triple ensuite which was spacious and clean. Facilities are great with options to either cook or Heinz, the manager, can order takeaway in. There is a bar with a pool table and we spent many happy hours playing pool with Chris and other friends we made while there! We enjoyed our stay so much we booked in to stay again on our return from Mozambique before flying home. Again, prompt pick up from airport and welcome reception from Chris and Heinz. A really lovely team and a great value place to stay while visiting Jo'Burg. Would highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghandi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 64 Specialty lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ghandi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghandi Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.