We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ghandi Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Only here for one day but spacious room (ensuite double), nice little lounge and the owner is friendly. Though a little way out of time but good if you wanna stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
19
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I don't have any complaints about my stay there, but it was kind of bland. There were only a few other people staying there at the time, so I had the dorm room almost to myself, which was nice, but then it was really quiet to have a drink at the bar. Chris was really nice and played a game of pool with me, and he also gave me a ride to the airport in the morning, through gorgeous tree-lined streets with the purple jacarunda trees in bloom. He also was kind enough to try to teach me some words in Xhosa, but I found the clicks too hard to combine with other sounds (he speaks something like 7 languages!). A few notes: 1) there's no wireless Internet, so you have to use one of their 2 computers at a charge, 2) there are a couple dogs, 3) the kitchen is clean and you can make coffee/tea anytime, 4) there's no hand-washing soap in the bathroom, 5) there's a pizza place nearby where you can order food for delivery - they have menus at the bar and will even call and place the order for you - that's the only food option if you don't cook.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Two friends and I recently stayed at Ghandi Backpackers after missing a connecting flight into Mozambique. After making a call to book a room, we were quickly picked up from the airport by Chris and transferred to the lodge. We had a triple ensuite which was spacious and clean. Facilities are great with options to either cook or Heinz, the manager, can order takeaway in. There is a bar with a pool table and we spent many happy hours playing pool with Chris and other friends we made while there! We enjoyed our stay so much we booked in to stay again on our return from Mozambique before flying home. Again, prompt pick up from airport and welcome reception from Chris and Heinz. A really lovely team and a great value place to stay while visiting Jo'Burg. Would highly recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

This is a great place to stay. It is modern, clean, quiet and run by a nice Swiss from Zurich.

Food at the nearby Portuguese resturant was excellent. The two watchdog were well behaved and had been trained to sleep: tickle a foot and they may wake up.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We got picked up (for free) at the airport by Chris and brought over to a nice villa in the quiet Kensington area of Johannesburg. Done up over two years ago by Heinz, it was just the perfect spot to drop our bags and soak up the big city atmosphere. There is a variety of sleeping options from dorms to family rooms, a medium sized swimming pool, a bar, a TV/Sitting room and a fully equipped kitchen, which turns out to be quite handy as there are not too many eating options close by. Light breakfast (cereals, toasts, coffee/tea) is included.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Absolutely the best choice to stay in Joburg. It's in the nice residential suburb Kensington, central to everything else, the best location.
The dorm is very basic with only one light switch also for the bathrooms (not practical when people are already sleeping). Don't expect too much privacy. If you want that, book a private room. There are heaters in the room, little typical SA ones, but they work!
In the main building you feel quickly at home. A brand new big and complete kitchen with free breakfast! A living room with tv. Swimming pool on the terrace. A cosy bar with an ever friendly Heinz always at your service, easy going guy...
Easy internet use + printer!
FREE!!! airport and busstop drop off. In a city where public transport is not existing and taxi rates are so high (about 15EUR for 15min) this is definately one of their biggest assets. And driver Chris is superfriendly and flexible. You would just want to cruise the whole day with this guy.
After 3 days in and out because I did excursions from here I felt like coming home and being part of the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Get a Single Ensuite Room on the return from Kruger NP. Price is reasonable as it is ensuite, with very clean room & shower, the toilet really nice, comparable to 2-3 stars hotel standard. Heater provided in the room too.
I saw the dorm area too, while looks standard, but they have many shower stalls inside, which I think it is necessary (unlike the problem I faced in another BP that actually on the same street).
Supposed to have free pick up, but the owner went to airport to pick up other guests though while I am in bus station. And when I called him up, he asked me to take taxi and shall refund. They did give me the refund, but not in full, as they have their own fixed charge for pick up, while taxi driver normally charge more.
Drop off to airport is not cheap though, but they are others who charge even more.
Transportation is Jo'burg is problematic!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ghandi Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghandi Backpackers Lodge

Address: 15 Doris Street, Johannesburg 2094, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ghandi Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghandi Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.