We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay at an excellent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsway B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsway B&B
Save
You added Kingsway B&B to your Saves list
18B Homestead Rd Cnr | 10th Ave, Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay at an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Usually I don't care about the star ratings as they can be misleading more often than my liking. But this B&B proved to be a perfect accommodation on all counts. Beautiful gardens, extremely cozy rooms, and the biggest plus - The personal attention the owner gives to all the guests. In addition to that, when I consider the price range, it is probably one of the best value for money B&B in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Bay; East London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After reading the other reviews I had to check again to see if this was the same establishment! Perhaps I was given a bad room but, based on my experience, I can but wonder how Kingsway earned the TGCSA four star rating they claim to have. The missing light fitting; tiles that have fallen off the wall and a tiny bathroom would not have passed a 3 star grading never mind 4.

They are inded conveniently located near Rivonia Road in Sandton and close to the highways. I stayed in room 2, more of a basement - the room had poor lighting with two lamps that weren't working; a broken door lock and blinds that couldn't be adjusted. I found myself checking their rating certificates which are displayed on the wall and was unable to find one that was currently valid, the latest one on view expired in 2012.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had stayed at this location (http://www.kingswaybandb.co.za) for 6 days from 25-May-2013 to 31-May-2013. The owner always kept on inquiring about the comfort and extended all the possible help from their end. I am a pure vegetarian and they always maintained a very good comfort and food for me in the breakfast. A day in advance they use to come and ask for the next day breakfast timings - I had to travel to site and so had to get the breakfast by 6:30 AM. The rooms are well maintained with other facilities like internet, LED, Disc TV, Room Heater, table, etc., The electrical plugs in SA are different from India - they shared with me their Laptop charger. The replenishment of tea / coffee/ fruits / water was always done before I had to demand. The best thing is the swimming pool with a pool side bar. They are masters in providing SPA services (http://www.kingswayspa.co.za) - all based on herbal - Best suggestion to stay at Kingsway B&B and enjoy the Spa

Room Tip: I stayed in room no. 4 - please try to get the same one - you have the whole view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Kingsway B&B is one of the best I have ever stayed in. Friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent rooms, great facilities, just great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
12.7 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#8 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
11.0 mi away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
11.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway B&B

Address: 18B Homestead Rd Cnr | 10th Ave, Rivonia, Johannesburg 2128, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsway B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.