We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Save Saved
You added 5th Avenue Gooseberry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
5th Avenue Gooseberry
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights. The service was excellent and we felt truly at home. When friends came over to visit we were able to use the lounge to entertain- with tea and coffee as well as homemade biscuits available. Unfortunately we didn’t realise until later that we could ask for a fridge for our room which would have been a nice addition. The surrounding of the garden and pool are beautifully maintained and add a wonderful ambience. There is great artwork by Susan Berry to enjoy round the property. Warm and friendly service from all the staff which wa much appreciated. Breakfast which was freshly prepared to order was included in the price and was fantastic. We definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
13
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paradise, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here our last two nights in Africa before returning to the USA. The experience was wonderful. We were met by the owner who provided us with suggested activities and places to visit and/or eat, including maps and driving directions. The guest house is an elegant, quiet, and friendly place to stay. The included breakfast was 5 stars. The neighborhood is safe, and there are restaurants and shops within a 3-block walk. Included in our room was a decanter of sherry and chocolate candies. It was a wonderful way to end our three-week vacation in Africa!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at 5th Avenue Gooseberry Guet House for 3 days & had a really wornderful experiences. The 4 things that I really liked about the place were: a homely kind of experience while staying there, they had a personal touch in all services that their staff provide to each guest, bird watching in the garden early morning & evenings & beautiful paintings at all places (which I guess is out of the owner Susan's passion for art).

i would highly recommend this place.

nitesh

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I recently flew in from London to stay at the Gooseberry again. The excellent standards of care, focus on the detail and personal attention that one receives from Susan and her team are always welcome and a clear differentiator in service excellence. The beautiful gardens and tranquillity around the pool area were a balm to my spirit after the frenetic pace in London, a little bit of heaven on earth and highly recommended. Thanks to all of the team at the Gooseberry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The owner and staff could not do enough to ensure my comfort. All my extra requirements were treated as "standard" and any little comment grabbed as useful input and actioned immediately (a slow working bathroom light). The staff did the owner proud. If B&B is your preference, this is excellent value for money and the best escape from hotel boredom. There was none of the often forced interlocutory with owners or management typical of the B&B setting, and the owner's art orientation, evident around the premises, is refreshingly different and an added character. The location is within easy reach of eating places and well positioned for a quick trip in any direction, including into the city. Cleanliness was impeccable. A pleasant surprise to find high speed and gratis internet in what is a home-like setting. Marriott, Hyatt, intercontinental take note. When I am not quartered in a hotel for access to meetings, this will be my choice for future stays in Jhb.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Many thanks for this review which is very special to us because we know you travel all over the world regularly, and has stayed in many hotels.We appreciate your mentioning of our staff- it will mean a lot to them, as we show them all the reviews and they do get incentives on positive comments. For us they mean a lot- they are our angels. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at Gooseberry at the recommendation of a friend in Jo'burg. The accomodations were great and the breakfasts hearty. The one drawback was low water pressure in the bathroom during morning "rush hour". But don't let that turn you away from considering a stay at this fine guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecatGauteng, Owner at 5th Avenue Gooseberry, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Many thanks for writing a review. We always appreciate any feedback regarding to anything concerning the guest house.We called out our plumber to investigate if there is perhaps a filter that was blocked. According to him the filter is fine, but if the whole neighbourhood uses water at the same time, the water pressure will be lower in the whole neighbourhood. Just one of those things. All of the best and see you and your wife soon. Susan Berry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA cape town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

It is the kind of place you always feel welcome and it has a create relaxing feeling to it. All the staff is willing to help and sort out whatever the problem is. If you staying for business or pleasure, it’s a great place to stay. It has nice and secure parking and the freedom to come and go as you please. I used the internet and it was quick and easy to use.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 5th Avenue Gooseberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5th Avenue Gooseberry

Address: 44 - 5th Avenue | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 5th Avenue Gooseberry 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, 4-star Guest House, with an artistic touch, in a quiet, charming neighbourhood of Johannesburg. The 11 en-suite rooms each have their own character. Centrally situated, close to major attractions. Transfers to and from OR Tambo Airport. Easy accessible from main roads, 33 km from airport. Unforgettable day tours can be arranged to Apartheids Museum, Soweto, Rhino and Lion Park and many more. Free Wi-Fi access and secure parking on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 5th Avenue Gooseberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 5th Avenue Gooseberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.