We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Tree Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“The Perfect Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We loved our rooms and our hosts. Our stay was safe, peaceful and full of wonderful memories. What a fantastic weekend! The next time we are in Johannesburg we will definitely be staying at The Cherry Tree.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband nd I went went to cherry tree for our 10th annivassary.we had exelent service.the place is beautiful,quiet nd clean.the owners are very friendly and we will defnitly return for a special ocasion.thank u for excelent service

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fully recommended!!!!

Clean, plassent well located. The place is run by the owners. They are always there taking care to make your stay plassent.
The rooms are nice and clean the location is in very good.
Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Have stayed here twice and will continue to make it my base in Johannesburg. Comfortable, friendly, personal service from Marylin & Ron Tyler. Easy access to all of Johannesburg and good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cherry Tree bed and breakfast and recommend it to anyone that is traveling to or through Johannesburg. Highlights of my stay included:
- A warm, clean, comfortable room that was stocked with the amenities that I required as a business traveler (wireless internet access, coffee, a fridge, tv, and ironing supplies).
- Delicious breakfast options; I always left in the morning well-fueled for the rest of my day.
- Wonderful conversation with Marelyn and Ron. They have been in Johannesburg for a long time and are very familiar with the history, and key locations to visit, dine, etc.

Overall the Cherry Tree B&B was a great place to stay and I will definitely be returning when my business brings me back to South Africa! Ron and Marelyn are wonderful hosts that go out of their way to ensure comfort and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

In these days where discerning travelers need an instantly caring home from home, to land in the room after a long flight and the fight through the traffic, was heaven sent.

The lush garden attached to the room afforded an extra luxury in this suburb of Johannesburg and to be wakened by the cries of the Hadeda birds every morning was amazing.

The venue is close to a variety of places to eat, shop and a little further the Cresta shopping Mall.

The bed was comfortable and the only gripe was the noise of the extractor fan in the bathroom - but then I did not spend a huge amount of time there!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Marelyn and Ron are a wonderful couple, who treat their guests like family. They have a great breakfast spread, and lots of stories to tell. This is a bed and breakfast so it is a basic no-frills service, but the rooms have high ceilings, an open patio in the back. There was a water fountain just outside my room, which was really soothing and comforting especially when taking afternoon naps. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a low-cost option for trips to Jo'berg!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Address: 57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of South African hospitality wherever you go and experience our wide variety of fascinating cultures and local traditions. Let yourself be drawn into the rhythm and soul of Africa, see the country's natural wonders, have a close encounter with our wildlife and make an unforgettable journey through our ancient and recent past. Make the most of your time with us...... Feel welcome, relax and enjoy your stay.This small, personally run, 3 star B&B lies in the serene country setting of Linden that is centrally located to Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and just a short drive from Randburg and the Johannesburg CBD. This hidden gem is surrounded by Delta park, Emmerentia Dam and Botanical Gardens. We offer a tranquil environment & country feel only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city life which suits both the corporate and leisure traveller. Cherry Tree Cottage offers good value for money. It is comfortable, safe and secure, and centrally situated. The four, twin or king bed suites, can accommodate up to eight guests. The bedrooms are spacious, light & airy, & you can relax in the morning on your own private patio overlooking lush gardens. Enjoy a substantial, wholesome, continental breakfast with that special touch. Feel welcome, make yourself at home, and enjoy your stay. Very close to Melville, Cresta, Randburg, Sandton, Hyde Park and Rosebank, Parktown, Parkhurst, Greenside and Parkview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.