We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashdown House

Save Saved
You added Ashdown House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 7 more sites!
Ashdown House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2152, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 229 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have been a regular visitor at Ashdown over the last 4 years! - probably frontrunner for most nights booked in by a good margin. Service has always been friendly and tip top without being intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly with lots of attention to detail and fine decor. The spacious rooms all lead onto a lush garden giving you access to all the facilities while still maintaining a sense of privacy. Inside the room you have everything that you need and more, while the bathroom is spacious and crisp. Situated in one of the best suburbs in Johannesburg you cannot do better.

Room Tip: All rooms good but pay a little extra and go for the bigger ones, rooms 5 - 7, or with small sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Pieter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of AshDown House. As one of our oldest and loyal guests, we always appreciate your comments and input. We will always do our best to uphold our service levels and five star facilities, while still maintaining a ‘home away from home’ feeling. Thanks again for writing such a great review of AshDown House and we look forward to seeing you back again in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at Ashdown in September and what angreat place it turned out to be. My travel plans changed and I needed an extra night in the area. The place I was to stay in could not accommodate me so I found Ashdown House.
Facilities are more like a five star hotel. Friendly staff and excellent breakfast, both selection and quality. My poached eggs were perfectly cooked.
The atmosphere is relaxed and the security is good.
I have already booked another stay for March 2013.
I would highly recommend Ashdown House to anyone looking for a classy, modern place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dave

Thank you for writing us such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. How fortunate for us that you found AshDown House! Thank you for saying we are more like a 5 Star Hotel instead of a Guest House. We have more of a quiet, tranquil environment, as well as more personal guest relations compared to most hotels. Thank you for commenting on our breakfasts as we pride ourselves on impeccable taste and quality. Next time, please try our delicious dinners! Thank you once again for posting such a fabulous review of AshDown house and we look forward to seeing you again in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My work collegues and I were fortunate enough to spend the night. Ashdown offers everything one could possibly expect and more. Chantelle's friendly welcome paved the way to a most comfortable stay, and the lounge offered a great meeting place in which to conclude our bussiness matters. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Andrew

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about AshDown House and giving us 10 out of 10! It was my personal pleasure welcoming you and Oscar to AshDown House! I’m delighted that we exceeded your expectations. We are pleased that the lounge worked well for your corporate meeting. Once again, thank you for staying at AshDown House. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Ashdown, its stunning, modern, tranquil, and feels warm like home away from home. The refreshing welcome drinks was the best. Their service is impeccable. I will most definitely book here again. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Room closest to the lounge is stunning, but in the morning, it can be noisy, with all guests walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Nox

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about AshDown House. It was so lovely meeting you! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our welcome drink, a secret mixture of refreshing deliciousness that I think very few people know about! At AshDown House we strive for excellent service as well as a homely vibe. Take care, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ashdown house for five nights. We loved staying here! The breakfast was fantastic every morning. The staff were friendly and more than willing to help us with anything we needed. If you need help with transport to the airport or anywhere in the city, ask for Prince. He is trustworthy and responsible - took care of us all week! The room and the grounds were gorgeous and always clean. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was just gorgeous. If we ever return to Johannesburg, we will plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear KMB28
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of AshDown House! It was an absolute pleasure accommodating such a lovely couple. It’s such a privilege to get positive feedback about our facilities and services, especially form our longer staying guests. We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts, the accommodation and that having Prince to drive you around made such a difference. We believe Sleep is the most important part of the overnight experience! And that is why all our Queen size beds have the finest quality mattresses –essentially for a quality nights rest.
Thanks again for sharing your experience at AshDown House and all the best until the next time you are back in South Africa. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ashdowne House in August. It is centrally located so easy to get to all the needed shops and business outlets.We were blown away with this beautiful boutique hotel. The decor in the rooms were absolutely beautiful, modern, stylish, but not over the top. The rooms were equipped with everything you could need includig two televisions, one in the lounge and one next to the bed. The rooms were spotless and looked brand new even through it is over 2 years old. The bathroom with stunning bath salts and bubble bath as part of the amenities, inluced a huge bath which is exactly what I like after a tough day around Jozi! The outside patio overlooks te swimming pool and it is so peaceful, you would never know you were in the heart of Johannesburg. The breakfast was just fantastic, a beautiful continental breakfast, followed by a hearty hot breakfast, everything you needed set in a lovely dining room, almost feels like you are in your own house. The warm hospitality of the owners and manager really made us feel at home. They would do anything effortlessly. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Monique


It was so wonderful having you and your husband stay with us, stunning couple! We really are honoured that you call Ashdown House a “beautiful boutique hotel”! Thank you for appreciating the style at AshDown House, as well as all the amenities and what we believe are the essentials, in the Rooms. The fact that you felt at home is exactly what we try to achieve for all our guests. Thank you too for noting how centrally located we are. We look forward to having the two of you back with us the next time you are in the busy city of Johannesburg and need a place to rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Its a nice and cozy place with all the necessities on hand. I asked for help in recharging my phone and it was immediately done, Buffet breakfast is scrumptious and filling, you are totally taken care of, toiletries excellent, HUGE bath-tub to soak in after a long day at business, and the complimentary sherry to sip on. Fruit baskets in the room and all over the Property is a real nice touch. A thumbs-up for this place.
Please ask for Prince tours car for your pick-up from the airport, can be arranged from Ashdown House, they provide this service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashd0wn, Manager at Ashdown House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Nagesh
Thank you for giving AshDown House a thumb’s up! All the little extra’s we put out for the guests add to that special touch. We are delighted that you noticed and enjoyed them! Prince will be happy to know that he is doing an excellent job in taking guests wherever they need to be, and that is why we continue to rely on him with all our guests.
Many thanks again for such a suburb review! We look forward to welcoming you back to AshDown House the next time you are in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashdown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdown House

Address: 14b George Street | Bryanston, Johannesburg 2152, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashdown House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashdown House is an upmarket, exclusive guesthouse in Bryanston, Johannesburg. Relax at the pool, enjoy a drink at the "Club House" before retiring to one of the beautifully appointed rooms. Unwind in 5 star luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Ashdown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashdown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.