We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure of Johannesburg.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northcliff Manor Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Northcliff Manor Guest House to your Saves list
Northcliff Manor Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A hidden treasure of Johannesburg.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at either end of our trip at Northcliff Manor. From the moment we arrived we were looked after splendidly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are fit for an edition of Conde Nast magazine, and the owners sense of style is certainly a cut above the normal findings in South Africa. I will have no hesitation in either staying here again, or recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
35
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you want something unique and special, Northcliff Manor is sure to provide a treat. The lavish styling and decor creates an atmosphere of luxury and well-being that will take your breath away. Add to this the wonderful garden, stunning views that stretch to the Magalies mountains plus the hospitality of hosts Johnny and Ilse and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 is an amazing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northcliffmanor, Owner at Northcliff Manor Guest House, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We thank you for the time spent on giving us your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife & I spent a most enjoyable week at this B & B. A true home from home, enhanced by outstanding elegance of decor. A very special ambience, a very special place, where we felt very special. Unfortunately, after the elapse of time, names escape me, but we remember that you all looked after us with such loving care!

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom en suite and not "across the hall"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Thanks to the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to go to northcliff Manor. What a wonderful place to stay. We only stayed for one night before we had to go back to Holland. But it was great. A beautifull house located on a Hill overlooking Jo'burg. The house and garden are just amazing and John and Ilse the best hosts ever. The room was spacious and very clean. We certainly had a "room with a view" thanks to John we ate at the best steakhouse! We only had one day to visit Jo'burg but John arranged a taxidriver to pick us up at the Apartheidsmuseum and take us to see Soweto. We learned alot on this 2 hour drive. And i am in love with the paintings that Ilse makes. They're beautifull. Ohh and the breakfast is to die die for! John and Ilse Thank you so much for making our stay in Jo'burg "onvergetelijk". Hope you have a great time in Amsterdam! We hope to come back and stay à little longer in your great guesthouse.
Karin & Peter

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

If you shun cubist, minimalist and bland, then this is the place. Reflecting an era long past when wood and space was the norm, this guest house pleases the eye as much as it pampers the body. The warmth of Johnny and Ilse, your hosts, is real and unpretentious. Unfortunately we had only one night and a short one at that, but my colleague swam a quick 10 lengths in the sizeable pool the morning, I appreciated the free wi-fi connection to address a niggling issue as the experience of restful luxury made its mark and the sherry decanter was a nice touch. The three spaniels are a nice touch for someone who missed his own dogs.

Room Tip: For space the bridal suite is unchallenged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

An historical manor house set amidst a tranquil garden with a view of Jo'burg. Elegantly furnished guesthouse, enhanced by the owners extensive collection of china and antique furniture. I was greeted by my host Johnny and the family cocker spaniels. My room was clean and comfortable, with a cool breeze wafting through the open balcony doors. Very welcome on a 32C summer evening! In the morning, I awoke to birdsong in the garden and was treated to a delicious breakfast of my choice. A pleasant and hospitable change from a formal hotel setting!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Stayed for two nights and had an extremely enjoyable time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northcliff Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcliff Manor Guest House

Address: 7 Hearn Drive | Northcliff, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northcliff Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet upmarket suburb of Northcliff against the hill with a lovely view of Northern Johannesburg. Quiet and peaceful with DSTV and free Wi-Fi in each room. Huge garden with pool, tennis court and Jacuzzi. Owners are award-winning designers and manufacturers of Stage, Film, and TV decor sets. All credit cards welcome and foreign currency accepted. Transport and food can be arranged on prior notice. The owner has a fine collection of European Antiques and Yellow and Stinkwood Africana Furniture. Built in 1937, the manor was recently expertly renovated and refurbished with the comfort of guests in mind. Close to malls, cinemas and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Northcliff Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northcliff Manor Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.