We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Schreiner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Schreiner to your Saves list
Villa Schreiner
2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The location of the villa is good, the rooms are okay and there is a very nice garden.
At first glance the interieur looks modern but if you look closer everything is a bit old and not so clean. In the morning they don't serve the full english breakfast that is mentioned. Both mornings the bread was frozen and nothing is really fresh.
At arrival we could join in for a braai. The salads were good, the meat somewhat dry. At the dinnertable a nice conversation amongst guests turned into an awkward political discussion because of the dominant presence of the owner, Michiel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    14
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
13
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Villa Schreiner and its owner Michiel epitomizes what hospitality should be all about. From the moment I arrived to the day I left I felt welcome and at home. To top this the excellent service, well appointed rooms and the huge garden with its chill areas, beautiful lawns and sparkling pool makes this the ideal home away from home for everyone from businessman to families. I can without hesitation recommend Villa Scheiner and categorically state that this was easily the best value for money I have experienced for a very long time.

Room Tip: Just ask Michiel, he will ensure that you stay in a room that fits your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel-en-le-Frith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Villa Schreiner for 2 weeks whilst having medical treatment at a local clinic. We needed somewhere quiet and relaxing. Michiel (the owner) made us feel so welcome. He arranged an airport pick-up for us and showed us the best places to eat locally.
Our room was large and comfortable and well equipped with a lovely view of the large garden with its pool and the gorgeous "summer house" which was a joy to sit in.
The B&B is in a residential area and about 20 minutes walk from Douglasdale centre which has restaurants, bars and supermarkets. It is just across the road from Jukskei Park with its charming river.
Michiel has been in the tourism business for many years and runs a business organising safaris. We needed a few days away and he kindly organised a superb trip for us and booked the accommodation and organised a Hire Car that was delivered to us at the B&B. He event lent us his SatNav !
All in all, if you are looking for a good value, friendly, relaxing place to stay then we recommedn you consider Villa Schriener.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have lodged at Villa Schreiner multiple times over the past 9 months when visiting South Africa. I travel to Joburg about every other month on business. I discovered Michiel's hide-away while surfing TA and hope I can help others make the same discovery -- just don't be in my room when I am due back in town. I have stayed in all of the rooms at the Villa and discovered that they all have their own special character, comfort and provide a great place to relax away from the bustling city. My favorite place to hang is the Boma where Michiel has thoughtfully provided an honesty bar and relaxing furniture by the pool and garden. It has now become a informal tradition that Michiel prepares a Braai at least one night whenever I visit. I was even able to bring along 3 of my business colleagues on the last trip -- they all wanted to know how I found such a delightful place. I will also mention the wifi is strong, the coffee is delicious, the staff are very competent -- and the dog is happy to see me. The location is in a nice neighborhood and close to a small park. oh -- one more thing -- great breakfast choices too. Ciao

Room Tip: I've stayed in all the rooms -- all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had a great time in Villa Schreiner, thanks to the unmatched hospitality of the Dutch host and owner Micheal Schreiner. The superior room is great, and our children loved Michael and his place. The pool and the garden is terrific, very quiet, big and beautiful. The breakfast is very varied and tastful with for example fruit, yoghurt, eggs any style, bacon, vegetables, toast, breadrolls. We could order what we liked! Michael gave a lot of information about things to do. A big shoppingmal, great restaurants and the highway are just 5 minutes away. So it is very easy to reach the airport. A great relaxed place to stay in Joh’burg!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Villa Schreiner is a very friendly, clean and hospitable B&B. We feel familiar during our 14 days stay. Michiel Schreiner gave us such nice tips for shopping areas, restaurants and not forgetting for a unforgettable safari. With no hesitation we can recommend this lovely b&b!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Had a wonderful time, the room was beautifully clean and a good size for our 2 toddlers and my husband and I, the bathroom was amazing too. Breakfast was delicious and the location extremely handy for us visiting friends. Michael didn't mind us having friends visiting in the evenings and although we were worried about staying in a B&B with 2 young toddlers he was very accommodating. I can thoroughly recommend this as somewhere to stay in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Schreiner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Schreiner

Address: 2, Saffier Street | Jukskei Park, Johannesburg 2165, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Owner from November 2014. Only 8 minutes from Fourways Mall and the famous Montecasino, 6 min from Olivedale Clinic, 12 min from the Coca Cola Dome and Sandton Medi-Clinic and 20 min from Sandton City, Villa Schreiner guest house under thatch is situated in the quiet residential suburb of Jukskei Park. Five beautiful, individually decorated rooms overlook the large beautiful tropical garden and pool and the Family Studio for 7 people has its own separate entrance, large living room and private large outside patio and bar area. Flat Screen TV, DSTV in every room and free Wireless Internet on property. A full English and continental breakfast is served outside on the sun patio or in the formal dining room. Villa Schreiner welcomes you to enjoy a warm hospitality, personal charm & true tranquility. There are two excellent gourmet restaurants, a coffee shop,5 Take away shops and boutique shops at the Douglasdale Shopping Centre, only five minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Schreiner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Schreiner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.