We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ginnegaap Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We received excellent service, great breakfast and enjoyed a good nights sleep during our stay at Ginnegaap Guesthouse (we stayed for one night before taking off to Kruger Park).

Free wifi, free parking and very kind staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you! It gives us such a thrill that you enjoyed your stay at Ginnegaap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    42
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
38
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staying at Ginnegaap was a perfect start to a 2 week solo trip in South Africa. I stayed for a night here when I first arrived to Joburg in mid-December 2012, and was very happy to be here. I loved the decor - the guesthouse is lovely, very safe, clean, charming, and comfortable. My room was simple, sweet, and clean, with a homey feel. They are a half-hour drive from the JNB airport towards other attractions (for which they have tours available!), and they arrange for a shuttle if you ask. The breakfast was good, and Corlien, Jacco and staff were warm hosts. I was sad they were booked up on my way back through Johannesburg, or I'd have stayed with them again.

Room Tip: The front room looks out onto the front porch and yard. It is quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in Ginnegaap Guesthouse in December 2012. I had a great room which began to feel like my own personal studio appartment...hence i decided to extend my stay. Breakfasts were great aswell as the coffee in the room! Staff were incredibly accomodating and friendly. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is so nice to see that our efforts to be helpful and to prepare great breakfasts are being noticed by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I very much enjoyed my visit to Johannesburg, S. Africa. Concerns of travelling solo were abated by the sense of safety I felt at the guesthouse. The lovely older home is very well kept and very clean. Breakfasts by Patience were top notch. Issues with charging my electronics were taken to heart and addressed by a ride to the IT specialist on 7th street. In 3+ days, with Jaco, tour guide/driver, I got a full view of many aspects of Johannesburg, including a design twist to accomodate my particular interests. The room and bath were simple and well furnished with nice touches incl tea, an iron, a hair dryer, and a private outdoor garden. I highly recommend the Ginnegaap Guest House.

Room Tip: no fitness center or pool. an easy walk to 2 main streets w/ shops and restaurants. they even have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very good find the room was large and comfortable staff very friendly. Tomas and Corileen were great . We enjoyed a brilliant day out with Jacob On a tour of Soweto and the inner city very informative highly recommended. Breakfasts were to die for .Melville 7th street 5mins walk good selection of bars and restaurants. Will definitely return a great start to a great holiday . Thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so glad that you had a good experience at Ginnegaap and that you enjoyed our rooms, service and breakfast. Nothing is as important to us as a happy guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only spent one night at this nice guesthouse in Jo`burg and really enjoyed it as fantastic start in our south africa holidays with the warm and welcoming greeting from one of the staff, called patience:)
The guesthouse has nice and charming rooms and everything is very clean.
We also enjoyed the extensive breakfast with the lovely viev of the nice garden with all its nice flowers and please also try the omelet, only recommended:) The district melville in Jo´burg is safe and pretty nice and also suitable for nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Ginnegaap is a lovely guesthouse in Melville. The staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginnegaap Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.