We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Ginnegaap Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ginnegaap Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 234 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
llandudno
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very good find the room was large and comfortable staff very friendly. Tomas and Corileen were great . We enjoyed a brilliant day out with Jacob On a tour of Soweto and the inner city very informative highly recommended. Breakfasts were to die for .Melville 7th street 5mins walk good selection of bars and restaurants. Will definitely return a great start to a great holiday . Thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlien P, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are so glad that you had a good experience at Ginnegaap and that you enjoyed our rooms, service and breakfast. Nothing is as important to us as a happy guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
26
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We only spent one night at this nice guesthouse in Jo`burg and really enjoyed it as fantastic start in our south africa holidays with the warm and welcoming greeting from one of the staff, called patience:)
The guesthouse has nice and charming rooms and everything is very clean.
We also enjoyed the extensive breakfast with the lovely viev of the nice garden with all its nice flowers and please also try the omelet, only recommended:) The district melville in Jo´burg is safe and pretty nice and also suitable for nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Ginnegaap is a lovely guesthouse in Melville. The staff was very helpful and the morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I liked the spacious, well-appointed rooms and the cooked breakfasts. The staff was very helpful and gave me lots of good suggestions on what to see and do. I was a bit surprised by the number of keys I had to carry around (four) but this is probably a necessary evil in Johannesburg!

Room Tip: The rooms in the building at the back of the section are larger and more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Ginnegaap is a lovely guesthouse in the Melville section of Joburg. We enjoyed strolling near the guesthouse and sampling the excellent resaurants nearby. The family who owns the guesthouse made our stay special by providing us with transportation, tours, and much good information. Patience greeted us warmly and was there to answer our questions. The room was comfortable and large. The whole guesthouse was artistically decorated. The Ginnegaap is a great find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ginnegaap Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Ginnegaap. Me and my staff also want to thank you for telling others about our great place. It is much appreciated! Corlien and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

We just had one night and we came with a 1-year-old and a 3-year-old. We brought our own crib and used the sofa and a bed for our older child.

The second-floor, private entrance, self-catering apartment where we stayed was spacious, with a separate bedroom, small kitchenette with bar seating, and small living room area with tv and very small table. The sofa pulls out into a bed, but there were no sheets for the sofa as best I could tell and it was too late at night to bother asking the staff (though, to be fair, we were told we could bother them at any time). We just used the extra blanket in the bedroom as a sheet and it was fine.

Perhaps as a result of being on the second floor and also closer to the street than the main building rooms, traffic noise was a minor nuisance. The road is not a major one nor particularly busy, but with all the windows open, we could hear every car that drove by. No trouble sleeping, though, even the baby.

It was warm, though not scorching, in Jo-burg, and air con would have been nice. But as this place is just a 3-star, I suppose it is fine to make do with the one large fan, which we used all night long. Unfortunately, the windows have no screens, so the bugs were free to fly in all day and night. Our baby got very badly bitten up by the mosquitos. Since this is not in a malaria zone, this is not a matter of life and death, but it is still a problem I think.

Two other minor things: the bathtub had a bit of detectable mildew, but nothing too bad, and for anyone that is tall (I'm 6'4"), there is a bulkhead in the hallway that is a hazard. I had to duck, and it's kind of lucky that I never actually hit my head on it. If you are 6'2" or shorter you're probably in the clear.

Now the pros:

The grounds were beautiful and serene. Lots of great restaurants walking distance away. Included breakfast was high quality and served with a smile.

Wifi was free and not too slow. We were not charged extra for the kids, despite the booking site's warnings. Parking was free. Security seemed very solid, even over the top (though I know people are always worried in jozi).

We would potentially stay here again, despite the negatives, but I would probably try to get a room In the main house (if we could fit)!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We spent two nights here recently, before and after a trip to Durban. Ginnegaap creates a great first impression: it's a lovely place and we got a great welcome. Both rooms were very attractive, comfortable, and equipped with thoughtful extras, such as a really good range of current magazines, wine glasses (and cork screw!). Restful colour schemes and plenty of natural light help to create a really pleasant feel to the bedrooms and also the breakfast room. There are also plenty of spaces to sit outside and appreciate the garden. Breakfast was delicious: some imaginative choices alongside the usual breakfast staples. The location in Melville is ideal - just a quick walk to some great bars and cafes. (We particularly liked Melon, Lucky Bean, and De La Creme.) The owner took the time to introduce herself and ensure that we were comfortable and happy. We both instantly loved the place, and will definitely stay there again when we visit Johannesburg in future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginnegaap Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginnegaap Guesthouse

Address: 54 4th AVE | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginnegaap Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ginnegaap Guest House in Melville is a charming cottage-style house in one of the oldest and most vibrant suburbs in Johannesburg. This highly recommended and trendy establishment with its 12 tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms offer business and holiday makers a warm, friendly and comfortable home from home.Within walking distance from quaint coffee shops, restaurants, art galleries, book stores and antique shops, Ginnegaap is your perfect escape in the buzzing city of Johannesburg. Stylish rooms, great breakfasts, friendly and caring staff, affordable and spotlessly clean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ginnegaap Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginnegaap Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.