We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agterplaas B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Agterplaas B&B to your Saves list
Agterplaas B&B
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a lovely B and B with very comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfasts. It is two minutes to walk to Melville,s main street with all it's shops and cafes. My only criticism would be the trip we were sold to Soweto which was e pensive short and rather stuffy. Other than that an excellent stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryncel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was part of the Deutche Welle team of international journalists that covered the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We stayed at Die Agterplaas for the who six week period. We had a very good time at the guest house whose meaning from Africaans to English we were told means 'The Backyard.' The staff is very friendly, the food is lovely. Badia is such a great chef. The rooms are very clean and homely. The guesthouse is near 7th street which is ideal for shopping and tasting several exotic cuisines. I recommend it to all visitors to the great city of Johannesburg

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and aeration
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farouk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

stayed here for most of our trip and it was great. clean, quiet, green and my ideal kine of hospitality - ie very helpful about anything, but not hovering. in a great location near good restaurants, bars and small shops. good buffet breakfast and the cheapest, fastest laundry service ever. the furniture in the rooms is kind of functional, and the lighting could be better, but overall an excellent place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl_w10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The highlight of this stay was that they arranged for an older black gentleman nicknamed Opa to show us around downtown Joburg and Soweto. He had lived through apartheid and the struggles of the 70s, 80s, and 90s. He took us to all the sights...Apartheid Museum, Desmond Tutu's church, Mandela's house, the sights in Soweto. The Band B is in the beautiful and charming suburb of Melville. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, breakfast was abundant, and we could do our laundry. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. They also provided airport pickup and return. I recommend very highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneG0772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Die Agterplaas was a fantastic place to stay. My friend and I couldn't have asked for better hospitality. The rooms were so clean, and service was impeccable. Take their advice to have an escort if you want to go up to the street with shops and bars. The staircase leading up there is definitely a bit sketchy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Really enjoy the friendly welcoming atmosphere, especially in the breakfasr room!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy47CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I have stayed at this beautifully kept guesthouse at least eight times in the last 5 years. Hospitality, cleanliness, and proximity to the bohemian and safe 7th street are all bonuses to be had. The staff are amongst the most helpful I have encountered in my travels to all continents and I would commend them to visitors. Die Agterplaas is a worthwhile experience and compares so favourably to tthe colder environs of the Mall-based hotels in Jo'burg. Anybody wishing to work at the Universities or who is in transit couldn't find a better place to stay. Jannie, Santa, Tilly, Richarrd and the other staff make the place special and complement the beautiful oregon pine floored interior with their warmth and attention to their guests. Relax to Classic FM over Badia's wonderful breakfast, then visit so many of Jo'burgs attractions whcih are so close . Thes incude Lion Parks, Lakes, the Apartheid Museum etc. Tours of Soweto are an excellent option from this location. Personally I can't wait to go back! and spend some more time at Die Agterplaas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
3.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#3 of 73 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#6 of 73 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 270 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#38 of 270 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#17 of 83 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agterplaas B&B

Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing