We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Backyard!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Agterplaas B&B

Die Agterplaas B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Die Agterplaas B&B to your Saves list
Die Agterplaas B&B
3.0 of 5 Specialty B&B   |   66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Backyard!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I was part of the Deutche Welle team of international journalists that covered the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We stayed at Die Agterplaas for the who six week period. We had a very good time at the guest house whose meaning from Africaans to English we were told means 'The Backyard.' The staff is very friendly, the food is lovely. Badia is such a great chef. The rooms are very clean and homely. The guesthouse is near 7th street which is ideal for shopping and tasting several exotic cuisines. I recommend it to all visitors to the great city of Johannesburg

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view and aeration
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

stayed here for most of our trip and it was great. clean, quiet, green and my ideal kine of hospitality - ie very helpful about anything, but not hovering. in a great location near good restaurants, bars and small shops. good buffet breakfast and the cheapest, fastest laundry service ever. the furniture in the rooms is kind of functional, and the lighting could be better, but overall an excellent place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The highlight of this stay was that they arranged for an older black gentleman nicknamed Opa to show us around downtown Joburg and Soweto. He had lived through apartheid and the struggles of the 70s, 80s, and 90s. He took us to all the sights...Apartheid Museum, Desmond Tutu's church, Mandela's house, the sights in Soweto. The Band B is in the beautiful and charming suburb of Melville. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, breakfast was abundant, and we could do our laundry. We could walk to restaurants and shopping. They also provided airport pickup and return. I recommend very highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Die Agterplaas was a fantastic place to stay. My friend and I couldn't have asked for better hospitality. The rooms were so clean, and service was impeccable. Take their advice to have an escort if you want to go up to the street with shops and bars. The staircase leading up there is definitely a bit sketchy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Really enjoy the friendly welcoming atmosphere, especially in the breakfasr room!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I have stayed at this beautifully kept guesthouse at least eight times in the last 5 years. Hospitality, cleanliness, and proximity to the bohemian and safe 7th street are all bonuses to be had. The staff are amongst the most helpful I have encountered in my travels to all continents and I would commend them to visitors. Die Agterplaas is a worthwhile experience and compares so favourably to tthe colder environs of the Mall-based hotels in Jo'burg. Anybody wishing to work at the Universities or who is in transit couldn't find a better place to stay. Jannie, Santa, Tilly, Richarrd and the other staff make the place special and complement the beautiful oregon pine floored interior with their warmth and attention to their guests. Relax to Classic FM over Badia's wonderful breakfast, then visit so many of Jo'burgs attractions whcih are so close . Thes incude Lion Parks, Lakes, the Apartheid Museum etc. Tours of Soweto are an excellent option from this location. Personally I can't wait to go back! and spend some more time at Die Agterplaas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Our stay at Die Agterplaas was pleasant. Upon check-in, staff was extremely helpful navigating the myriad of keys you'll need to get in and out of the house and garage. It's literally a short walk (up the stairs!) to 7th Street in Melville. Rooms are charming and comfortable. Main complaint is that they serve only breakfast until 9:15 am, so you'll need to be an early riser to partake of that (we didn't).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Die Agterplaas B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Agterplaas B&B

Address: 66 Sixth Avenue | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Die Agterplaas B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Die Agterplaas B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Agterplaas B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.