We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Life on 3rd

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Life on 3rd to your Saves list
Life on 3rd
28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 259 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great service and care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I planned to stay two nights but needed to stay five to take care of business. The staff helped me to find the services I needed even bringing a mechanic to the guesthouse to take care of a car problem. The room and place was neat clean and the breakfasts very good. The Melville location is superb in a lovely quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    26
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
35
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It was rained and cold when we arrived that afternoon. Lydia and her teamwork were very friendly providing 7 of us with not only clean rooms but also spread out family touched in their services especially to whom just become a mother of 3 weeks baby at the time of the trip to Joburg. English breakfast served every morning during our stay and hot water for tea and coffee ready at all times. The price were excellent. The neighbourhoud is safe and quite. However we experienced a bit difficulty to find the house, after couple phone call directed our driver, we found the red door. If I may suggest the sign name of Life on 3rd guesthouse need to be clearer to the eyes :-) Still Life on 3rd guesthouse is highly recommended to stay for those first time to Joburg to experience the African hospitality.

Room Tip: During raining/winter season, please remind the staff to provide you with umbrella as some rooms sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I've found the accommodation to be adequate. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lack of proper parking facilities i.e. a max of 5 parking spaces available was very frustating. Very noisy especially the rooms above the common areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Manager at Life on 3rd, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Charlenie - Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and friendliness. Regarding the parking: I believe after you checked in and left again, you came in after 1:00 am. Your original parking space was taken by somebody else, but we still provided secure parking space for you inside the property (6 parking bays) All our guests already retired for the evening and the guesthouse was quiet when you went to bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved time we spend in Life on 3rd in Johannesburg-
South Africa.
Their place are completelly safe and quiet.

We found a excelent service.

The attendant is lovely.


They have good accommodation. All are clean and in order. They have good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Loved everthing about this jewel from the staff lydia u are the best felt like i was in my own home.clean not to mention the breakfast will stay here again in a heart beat.the location is melville with some of the best bars and cafes joburg has to offer

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staffs are very good, guesthouse are clean, but when you have your room far from the reception you dont have WIFI. For complains they dont care.. Local people(guests) make a lot of noise in the house.They dont care if you complain. The area around the house is fine and calm. Had no problems to go out in the evening for lunch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifeon3rd, Owner at Life on 3rd, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest - thank you for alerting me to this problem. Our IT guy has been alerted to the Wi-Fi problem as well. The Managers at Life on 3rd do their best to control noise levels when groups visit us, but we do apologize that you had to endure the noise. Kind regards. Lize (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Homely, laid back place inside the suburbs of Johannesburg . Nothing too fancy but clean, woodsy, and good staff for a good price.Very casual environment with a "home away from home" feel. Breakfast is decent too.

Room Tip: This is a nice place to END you trip around SA. If you are looking for city fun i wouldn't recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Life on 3rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life on 3rd

Address: 28 a Third Street, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Life on 3rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life on 3rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.