We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Best Birthday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintswalo at Waterfall

Save Saved
You added Tintswalo at Waterfall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintswalo at Waterfall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
JHB
1 review
“the Best Birthday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I Have seen many exciting birthdays in my life, but my weekend at the Tintswalo Lodge @ Waterfall surpasses them all, from the time my husband and I entered the security gates until check-out, was overwhelmed with was Royalty(more than excellent treatment)....the staff and special thanks to the General Manager , Mr Altaff Shaik ensured exceptional service at all times,who hosted me, i was suprised with a bed surronded with rose petals, engraved "Happy Birthday", the bath was to perfection, candles lit in the room , sublimed me into a world of total relaxation and serenity.

I was most delighted with the dinner and the breakfast, the room makes this hotel heaven on earth, i loved very bit of my stay at this place,

To the staff and the Mr Shaik, i would like to thank you for the best birthday ever, This weekend will remain a treasured memory to last me a life time of birthdays.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My family spent almost one month at Tintswalo at Waterfall during the month of August 2013. Due to my job, we moved to Southafrica. While looking for a house near Jo'burg, my company adviced me to stay at the Tintswalo. At the beginning I was quite reluctant, because to live in a hotel, with my wife and two kids, is not like at home. But I was wrong. The hotel is beautiful, the surroundings are absolutely great, quiet, but at the same time not far away from Sandton, the rooms are big enough, room service is quick and efficient, the food is great (you have to try the breakfast !). But the think it makes a big difference is the service. All the people working there, from the chambermaid till the general manager, the security guys at the gate, the waiters ... are absolutely customer-happiness oriented !!

Every single demand was quick and efficiently solved, and at the end of the month, we were treated as a part of the family.

And even the most important issue for me, they know how to deal with kids. All my family was delighted and we are looking forward to visiting the hotel again.

Room Tip: All of them are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at Tintswalo at Waterfall before, and to be honest would just keep on going back again and again. The rooms make this hotel. Huge bathrooms, huge bedrooms and views of the equestrian estate beyond the hotel and Johannesburg. Service was OK this time round (not as good as I am used to there), but good by any standard. They were excellent at dealing with my coeliac food requests although did not have any gluten-free bread. The gym is 0.75K away from the hotel within the estate, so be prepared to run there and run back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the field behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMWORTH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights and we adored it!! We are used to high standards hotels and this one was one of the best. The bedroom was massive, the view was beautiful, the bathroom was amazing. We had dinner everynight there and it felt we were at home. After a nice digestive walk in the park ( where you can see beautiful houses and mansions) we were back in our room where the night service staff prepared for us a little treat ( Brandy and chocolate).
Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful boutique hotel located in the gated Waterfall community. The grounds are lovely, the hotel is cosy, and the service is fabulous. Our room and bathroom had high ceilings, were enormous, beautifully decorated and overlooked the grass and little river. The bed was incredible.

My only (tiny) gripes were that we could hear the cars racing around the nearby track, the food was a bit average, and the cost was so high (despite the fact we had a discounted rate), even though the hotel is not quite of the calibre of the Cape Town Tintswalo, or, say the Oyster Box in Umhlanga.

Having said that, we had a wonderful night here and if you don't mind the expense, it's a wonderful option if you want to stay somewhere quiet and peaceful a little way out of the centre of Joburg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

For a farmer, the big city is always daunting, and cramped. Smog, early morning traffic and road noises iare what we expect to find in the city. Not so at the exceptional Tintswalo at Waterfall in Kyalami. A beautiful boutique hotel conveniently accessed but far away enough from the highways, surrounded by polo fields, dams, ducks, and a running path of around 10 kms, a perfect overnight spot for out-of-towners. The rooms are exceptionally appointed with every modern amenity, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is tops. Well done, Tintswalo!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having experienced the wonderful Tintswalo Safari Hotel, it made sense for my husband and I to try out the Tintswalo Waterfall Hotel in Kyalami. . From the magnificent front door one understands that the hotel is something special. As its on an Equestrian Estate its only fitting that the enormous and very comfortable rooms are named after different horses. Walking down the huge foyer gives one a feeling of a top end racing stable. But there the similarity ends as each bedroom is generous in size with close attention to ones every need. Sherry on a silver salver awaits your arrival, between two comfortable chairs. The furnishings and furniture is beautiful and our room looked across an enormous field where we expected polo to begin at any moment. Leading off the bedroom is a huge bathroom, separate toilet and wonderful fluffy towels. When we went through to the sitting areas and dining rooms we saw that the hotel is popular with corporate companies as there were many meetings going on, held by suited business men around us. This is easy to understand as not only is the hotel easy to get to, its beautifully run and it accommodates business conferences. Its also in a security estate, so its easy to go for an early morning run without being surrounded by heavy traffic. Once again we enjoyed the very high Tintswalo standard of food from well trained chefs. Each meal was wonderfully presented. The rest of the staff are charming and proffessionally trained. At the end of our stay we felt spoilt pampered and sad to say goodbye

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Mongolian Pony. We had a small lake of water and then a huge polo field in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tintswalo at Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the JHB CBD and within distance from major airports. 16 rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintswalo at Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.