We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, beautiful rooms but overpriced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tintswalo at Waterfall

Save Saved
You added Tintswalo at Waterfall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintswalo at Waterfall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great service, beautiful rooms but overpriced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful boutique hotel located in the gated Waterfall community. The grounds are lovely, the hotel is cosy, and the service is fabulous. Our room and bathroom had high ceilings, were enormous, beautifully decorated and overlooked the grass and little river. The bed was incredible.

My only (tiny) gripes were that we could hear the cars racing around the nearby track, the food was a bit average, and the cost was so high (despite the fact we had a discounted rate), even though the hotel is not quite of the calibre of the Cape Town Tintswalo, or, say the Oyster Box in Umhlanga.

Having said that, we had a wonderful night here and if you don't mind the expense, it's a wonderful option if you want to stay somewhere quiet and peaceful a little way out of the centre of Joburg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hazyview, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

For a farmer, the big city is always daunting, and cramped. Smog, early morning traffic and road noises iare what we expect to find in the city. Not so at the exceptional Tintswalo at Waterfall in Kyalami. A beautiful boutique hotel conveniently accessed but far away enough from the highways, surrounded by polo fields, dams, ducks, and a running path of around 10 kms, a perfect overnight spot for out-of-towners. The rooms are exceptionally appointed with every modern amenity, the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is tops. Well done, Tintswalo!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having experienced the wonderful Tintswalo Safari Hotel, it made sense for my husband and I to try out the Tintswalo Waterfall Hotel in Kyalami. . From the magnificent front door one understands that the hotel is something special. As its on an Equestrian Estate its only fitting that the enormous and very comfortable rooms are named after different horses. Walking down the huge foyer gives one a feeling of a top end racing stable. But there the similarity ends as each bedroom is generous in size with close attention to ones every need. Sherry on a silver salver awaits your arrival, between two comfortable chairs. The furnishings and furniture is beautiful and our room looked across an enormous field where we expected polo to begin at any moment. Leading off the bedroom is a huge bathroom, separate toilet and wonderful fluffy towels. When we went through to the sitting areas and dining rooms we saw that the hotel is popular with corporate companies as there were many meetings going on, held by suited business men around us. This is easy to understand as not only is the hotel easy to get to, its beautifully run and it accommodates business conferences. Its also in a security estate, so its easy to go for an early morning run without being surrounded by heavy traffic. Once again we enjoyed the very high Tintswalo standard of food from well trained chefs. Each meal was wonderfully presented. The rest of the staff are charming and proffessionally trained. At the end of our stay we felt spoilt pampered and sad to say goodbye

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Mongolian Pony. We had a small lake of water and then a huge polo field in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Tintswalo Waterfall is for me a slightly out of the circuit property. Sandton hotels, northern Johannesburg guest houses and B & B's proliferate across the span north of the city centre from West to East and range from simply brilliant to simple. Concrete, steel glass & bricks abound, busy roads mean ease of access but an annoying accompanying noise factor. Tintswalo Waterfall lacks these " credentials ".

Positioned within a secure residential area on an equestrian estate, this sixteen suite property brings country life to life for its guests. The architechture is eclectic, brazen and yet warm & welcoming ( possible ? ). Each suite is certainly adequate in size, complete with ceiling to floor block out cutains, generous bathroom and soft, thick and absorbant towels to match. The public areas have fire places where guests can mingle, linger and chat away and during my two night stay they did in good numbers.

However, as a senior member of the travel & tourism industry in Africa and therfore very used to experiencing both four & five star properties of divergent positioning ( safari/city hotel/boutique/lodges etc ) would rate their staff/management skills in the high echelon of their raison d'etre. My, did they express CARE for each & every guest, visitor and for their staff members ! It was real and unforced as I witnessed the Team lead by Tanya interface with each soul on a persoanl but professional ( with HEART, so important this ! ) manner. Each staff member exuded a sort of pride of place, an unspoken essence of being decidedly pleased to be of service.

Mentoring and inculcating new blood into our tough and demanding industry is vital and as such it was a real pleasure to be looked after by Denise. A proponent of Hotel School, this young lass exuded a level of overall hospitality way beyond her years and as such, will be of ever greater value going forward. Her initiative, drive & understanding of Responsible Tourism is invigorating.

Tintswalo Waterfall is a haven, a little Heaven and would suit those discerning travellers looking for a hospitality ethos pitched by hospitable folk who appreciate the full gambit of quality travel and are importantly, completely capable of sustaining this level going forward.

Room Tip: I would tend to use upper level suites simply for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Ended up by accident here on a business trip.. What a wonderful accident! On a hill with great views, not too far from the centre of Joburg, we got a great welcome and ever attentive service and friendliness. There's an equestrian theme, the rooms are wonderfully airy and exquisitely furnished with lovely touches everywhere. Food was excellent and excellently presented.. I'll be back!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel was beautiful with spacious rooms and excellent service. The location was perfect with rooms overlooking the vast green field. Food was excellent

Room Tip: Ask for second floor and you can keep the balcony door open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel is set in an equestrian residential estate. It is very secure and tranquil. The bedrooms are large, and the bathrooms are big enough to have a wet room shower.

The service was good, and there is a nice turn down.

I went for a walk around the 5pm jogging track and saw birdlife and two hares.

Nice place for a peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left face the polo fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tintswalo at Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintswalo at Waterfall

Address: Maxwell Drive, Johannesburg 1684, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tintswalo at Waterfall 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique urban boutique hotel close to the JHB CBD and within distance from major airports. 16 rooms on a 230 hectare secure estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tintswalo at Waterfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tintswalo at Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.