We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hydro Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Executive Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westpoint Executive Suites to your Saves list
Westpoint Executive Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Grayston Drive, cnr West Road & Grayston | Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Rustenburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hydro Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The kitchen tap constantly runs. This was irritating and a waste of water.
There was no plug in main bathroom.
The tumble dryer didn't work as the main button has broken off
The bed linen was stained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
2
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Have stayed in Westpoint exec for some time and feel it is a place close to the heart of the city. Although not very lavish, the service apartments caters to all type of basic needs. The part that needs more focus is to get a restaurant in the premisis

Room Tip: Tip - Its worth it as you would find yourself in Sandton close to City mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A good place to stay at if you want privacy.

The only glitch was the dustiness of the place, only because of the construction taking place across the road.

But the place was overall, good and conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Westpoint was super enjoyable, the apartments are tastefully furnished, the location is great and the building and area are very safe.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the value for money is amazing.
I will def stay there on my next visit to JHB :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in this place during March till April 2013, then came back in Mid of May till June 2013. The place is a good choice for long term stays in Jo'burg, the place is very secure and have some activities to do inside, e.g. there is small swimming pool, Grilling facilities for booking, small GYM.
Also the location of Westpoint is perfect as its resides in heart of Sandton where business offices and commercial areas, its 20 min walk from Mandella square and there is near by PicknPay and Woolworth for shopping your groceries, also the next traffic light has McDonalds where you can grape a meal if you need something quick. The Westpoint staff are so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It's better to have an apartment which is higher floors to avoid the noise of the street in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela1Niemand, Owner at Westpoint Executive Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Hannibal
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Westpoint Executive Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Pamela Niemand CEO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My colleague and I were in Jo'burg for an eight-day project and to save a bit of money chose a two-bedroom apartment over two hotel rooms. Four years ago I stayed right next door to the Westpoint- there seems to be a small strip of serviced apartments along this stretch.

The apartment is very well maintained and the furnishings are modern. The kitchen is large and well-stocked. Each unit has two parking spaces and, as mentioned in other reviews, a fingerprint scan is required to gain access. Each apartment has a small balcony and each bedroom has its own bath. There is a laundry services on M,W,F (leave your dirty clothes in a hamper along with detergent and when you return they will be washed and folded for you).

There are a few quirks to be aware of. First, you need to supply your own amenities like shampoo, washing up liquid and kitchen towels. Second, you have to empty your own rubbish and third, there are massive construction projects happening on both sides of the complex. They start work at 7:00AM; this, combined with the busy street can make for very, very noisy mornings. BRING EARPLUGS if you want to sleep past 7AM!

They have a nice pool and an on-site gym but unfortunately we didn't have time to use either.

Overall we were quite happy with the Westpoint and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Book a room on a high floor away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela1Niemand, Owner at Westpoint Executive Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Leicamr

Thank you for your feedback. We have since your post, added wash up soap and dish cloths to our apartments, we also now offer consumers packs, which consist of tooth brush, paste, shampoo, conditioner, washing powder, softener etc. for those who require them at a minimal cost and are available at the reception desk. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Westpoint Executive Suites in the nearby future. All the best. God Bless. Warm Regards Pamela Niemand (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

These apartments are good for a long stay, as there is plenty of space and they’re comfortable and clean. The décor is modern and the kitchen has more than enough amenities. They were also quite secure as finger print recognition was required to gain access.
There is a staffed office that is open during business hours, otherwise there is a desk that is staffed, and when my driver didn’t show up to take me to the airport the man at the desk was helpful in trying to arrange alternative transport for me.
Wifi is not free, and whoever the provider is, I had some troubles with, as I had to pay for access twice. I also had an issue with the cleaner, I returned back to my apartment in the afternoon, to find the cleaner, a friend and her child in my kitchen eating my food!! I was checking out that night anyway, so wasn’t too bothered, and having spent a lot of time in South Africa, I have encountered this before with cleaners.
The ground of the apartment building are very clean and well maintained, there was a nice looking swimming pool and barbecue/braai area too, but as it was June and chilly I didn’t use these. The apartments probably don’t look like much from the plain outside of the building, but they are quite nice inside, maybe a little chilly in the winter but that’s a small complaint.
The location is quite good, they’re not exactly in the heart of Sandton, Nelson Mandela Square and Sandton city is about a 10 min walk (which I found to be a safe walk in daylight). There is a supermarket just 5 minutes down the road too. There are lots of very good restaurants around Mandela Square and the shopping is good in Sandton City too.
For a long stay, these suites are nice, but personally I prefer the facilities and staff of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela1Niemand, Owner at Westpoint Executive Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Flossykins

Thank you kindly for your feedback and for the wonderful comments on Westpoint Executive Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take our service levels quite seriously and would like to request, if you can recall, what apartment number you stayed in, as we cannot understand how it happened that a friend and child was in your apartment eating your food. Please be so kind to respond as it is vital that we attend to this matter. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind Regard Pamela Niemand (CEO)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westpoint Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Executive Suites

Address: 89 Grayston Drive, cnr West Road & Grayston | Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westpoint Executive Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime location in the heart of Sandton's business district, Westpoint Executive Suites is just steps away from Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square, The Gautrain Station and Sandton Convention Centre. With 90 impeccable and spacious serviced apartment suites, our apartment suites provide both the business and leisure traveller with a comfortable and affordable, home away from home, with all the conveniences one would expect in an up market hotel, at a fraction of the price. Each of our elegantly furnished apartments are equipped with a 32-inch LCD TV, satellite channel connection and a DVD player. Our apartments each boast a stunning view of the city, flowing out onto a balcony. Every kitchen is fully equipped, down to the washing machine and dryer, to accommodate any and all self-catering needs. Our Spacious Urban Garden boasts an Olympic sized swimming pool and fantastic gas barbequing facilities which are available to all guests. We have become the "home" for many top business executives, families and leisure travellers who visit the affluent city of Johannesburg. At Westpoint Executive Suites it can be said that we offer "The Best of Both Worlds", the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westpoint Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpoint Executive Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.