We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect apartment in the city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westpoint Executive Suites

Save Saved
You added Westpoint Executive Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westpoint Executive Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Grayston Drive, cnr West Road & Grayston | Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Polokwane, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The perfect apartment in the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked a 2bedroom apartment on booking.com and got excellent rates! I was so happy I cancelled a previous reservation at another establishment, as the apartment suited every one of our needs. We stayed for 2 nights, but could easily have stayed longer. The staff was very helpful, especially Anna, who checked us in and kindly kept our bags for us.

The washing machine and dryer was very handy, and I made full use of this. There is construction going on but on the 11th floor we couldn't hear anything. We heard the morning traffic from only the front room, but we did not mind it.

The only small gripe was the lack of complimentary toiletries and our coffee and sugar was not refilled when the cleaning lady came. Also, the door to the balcony was broken, and could not close properly. We only realized this late the first night, and the next morning we told the cleaning lady. She was surprised it wasn't fixed yet, she said she already notified maintenance. No one came, and we kept the door shut by placing a mop in front of it. We also didn't follow it up because we left the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Worth every cent. Recently stayed in a 1 bed apartment for R3k per night, this would have cost R10k!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were so disappointed. Part of this complex is for visitors and much is for owners residence. The residents don't seem to worry about others and talk loudly and party on their balcony. There is continual building at the back and at the front acroos the road. Nothing to do with the complex but the noise is horrendous and will continue for some time as it appears that multi storey buildings are being erected. The staff were friendly and tried to help but it wasn't easy for them.
The complex is on a main road too and we were surprised how loudthe traffic noise was also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

These are really well maintained, beautiful 2 bedroom apartments. Situated in the heart of the business district, it is almost walking distance from everywhere. You even have a housekeeper to do the dishes and wash the clothes. Service is prompt and rates very reasonable.
Strongly recommended for both holiday makers as well as business trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

WestPoint Executive Suites, Graystone Drive, Johannesburg offers very well maintained, beautiful 2 bedroom apartments. We loved the way it was immaculately kept - there's a housekeeper who comes in your absence to do the dishes, machine wash the clothes and even iron them!!! That was a great help especially as we went there on purely tourism purpose and were out the entire day. Stayed there for 4 nights. Beautiful overall experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical - although the place is bang on the main road, once you've closed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed here for the past 12 nights, was checked into an apartment on level 5 or 6 but after 24hrs asked to be moved as there were a number of issues with stuff not working as well as the apartment being generally worn. SHower head was also awful, barely lets out water to wash your hair, and the floor to the shower is broken tiles set into cement. Yuk. There was a LOT of traffic noise on this level, as the apartment is set on the corner of 2 very busy roads. Traffic noise commences around 6am for a good 12 hrs Mon - Fri.

Staff moved me 24hrs later into an apartment on the 11th floor (highest floor is 12th), that was of a much nicer fresher standard. However Water pressure was really poor, and the shower floor was still broken tiles set into cement. The apartment was much nicer and cleaner than the one on the lower level and a LOT quieter in terms of traffic noise. Kitchen is well-stocked so you can happily cook if you want to. The cleaner comes Mon - Fri and washes dishes, does laundry and irons, all for no additional fee, major bonus.

Balcony was tiny, could barely fit one single chair, but the view was quite pleasant overlooking other apartment blocks set into green leafy Sandton.

At no time during the 12 days was I able to connect to the Internet, the wireless signal was all over the place and completely unstable, which caused me some issues as I was in JHB on a work trip.

The proximity to shops/supermarkets/restaurants etc is great, you can get to most places you need in 10 mins on foot. Onsite parking is available and secure.

The staff were the real highlight of this place, especially Shaii the reservations lady, she went over and above to try to assist me, thank you very much. Given my mixed feelings on this one am not sure I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so the all-day traffic noise does not bother you too much, and get an apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have stayed at Westpoint Executive Suites a number of times in the past few years, and I can highly recommend it. The location is very convenient, within a safe 10-minute walk of Benmore Gardens Shopping Mall, and just a bit further to Sandton City with its upscale shops, restaurants, and attractions, including the beautiful Nelson Mandela Square. Westpoint has a great management team which efficiently overseas the property, assuring that no detail is overlooked. The apartments, while small, are carefully designed and thoroughly outfitted. (I have never stayed in a serviced, executive apartment with such a thoughtfully outfitted kitchen.) There is a small gym, a fantastic outdoor recreation area with huge swimming pool and green lawns, and a breakfast cafe. Everything is kept spotlessly clean, and the security system is state-of-the-art fingerprint technology. Beautiful views from the large windows facing the pool area, but very tiny balconies which hardly accommodate two small chairs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westpoint Executive Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westpoint Executive Suites

Address: 89 Grayston Drive, cnr West Road & Grayston | Morningside, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 hotels in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westpoint Executive Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a prime location in the heart of Sandton's business district, Westpoint Executive Suites is just steps away from Sandton City, Nelson Mandela Square, The Gautrain Station and Sandton Convention Centre. With 90 impeccable and spacious serviced apartment suites, our apartment suites provide both the business and leisure traveller with a comfortable and affordable, home away from home, with all the conveniences one would expect in an up market hotel, at a fraction of the price. Each of our elegantly furnished apartments are equipped with a 32-inch LCD TV, satellite channel connection and a DVD player. Our apartments each boast a stunning view of the city, flowing out onto a balcony. Every kitchen is fully equipped, down to the washing machine and dryer, to accommodate any and all self-catering needs. Our Spacious Urban Garden boasts an Olympic sized swimming pool and fantastic gas barbequing facilities which are available to all guests. We have become the "home" for many top business executives, families and leisure travellers who visit the affluent city of Johannesburg. At Westpoint Executive Suites it can be said that we offer "The Best of Both Worlds", the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westpoint Executive Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westpoint Executive Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.