We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2b happy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 2B Happy Accommodation

Save Saved
You added 2B Happy Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
2B Happy Accommodation
11 Hope Road | Orange Grove, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
“2b happy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the 2b happy guest house for 3 days in May 2014 and had a great experience. The staff were helpful, the room was well equipped and very clean. Free pick-up service from the train terminal was a bonus. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: One outside of the house worked well for me.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Was really happy with the room, it was clean and tidy, and bigger than I expected. Really appreciated how welcoming and friendly the staff were too. Couldn't have asked for more during my stay in Joburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Manager at 2B Happy Accommodation, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
It is always lovely to please loving guests, thank you so much for staying at 2B Happy. We try to do our best to follow the name. We hope to host you and friends on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks in April 2014 as a break from work, visiting some friends and just relaxing.
The private room was cozy with queen sized bed, huge wardrobe, massive windows and door going outside.
The private bathroom assigned to the room while not that private (used by other people staying a few times) was quite nice, a large bathtub and shower.

All the staff where quite nice and friendly, they were busy most of the day cleaning the house/garden and were easy to find.

Location is very far away from anything notable in Joburg, which is a downside. Umoja has long left victory theater which was 5mins walk away. I used taxibuses, yeoville taxi service and Uber (private taxi) during the trip, was no real difficulty getting anywhere. It was 11rand to Hillbrow or Alexandra, both pretty notable places to visit. Area was quite safe as its mostly sandwiched between private residencies with flats along the main road.

The location is across the road from a huge private venue and near a church, it did get quite loud on weekends. The rooms thick curtains did block most of the noise, but was a little bit of a con.

Wifi was 150Rand for 3GB, pretty affordable with red button.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Manager at 2B Happy Accommodation, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hey D,

Thanks for the best review and enjoying the 3wks of your stay. We hope to see you again. Love the photos.

Patience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Pros: Rooms are spacious,
kitchen is well equiped

Cons:
There are cat and dog that are allowed to go everywhere, even in the kitchen and the bedrooms of guests,
the hostel is not located as they announce, even so there are some very small supermarkets, there is no real puplic live around. (Bigger supermarket is 1,8km away),
The wifi is limited to 20MB no matter how long you stay at the hostel,
stuff isn't really friendly and helpful
you don't get a key for the main gate, which is allways closed due to safty reasons. So you always have to aske the stuff to let you out/in. And cause the bell is broken they want you to text them when you are back again, and without an SIM of ZA that get's soon very expensive

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at 2B Happy Accommodation, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do not recognize your name though. We aim to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. Only guests in self catering units get their own gate remote. Due to heavy rains we had our problems with our gate intercom. It has been fixed since. Our dog has never been allowed in the house, unless when under stress due to lightning and fireworks and then in the kitchen only. Our kitten is being trained most of our guests love her. We would like to refer you to our website regarding information about the area and our backpacker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I rented the Africa Cottage with my two small children. Before arrival I was happy to find accomodations that accepted children, after arrival we were elated that it was also so beautiful at 2B Happy!!! We later found out that 2B Happy has the total package, safe, clean accomodations, the best customer service we've ever had, and other friendly visitors. when you hear backpackers lodge many assume its dirty and not well kept. But 2B Happy is nicer than many luxury hotels. We dealt mainly with Patience during our stay. She went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay and were able to fulfill life dreams (like going on an affordable African safari!). She was kind, loving, and helped us organize our days. We are forever grateful for our experience there and will be sure to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 2B Happy Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2B Happy Accommodation

Address: 11 Hope Road | Orange Grove, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 66 Specialty lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2B Happy offers some of the best self catering accommodation in Johannesburg and some of the most affordable too – without compromising on comfort or convenience. Our guest house is the ideal base for any exploration of the area, and our location means you have easy access to public transport as well as a wide range of amenities.As well as family and guest accommodation, we provide backpackers accommodation. We’re confident we offer some of the best value for money accommodation in the area.You’ll find 2B Happy provides a refreshing difference from many of the guest houses in Johannesburg, and our friendly team make sure a safe and relaxed atmosphere is maintained at all times. We’re dedicated to ensuring your stay is as comfortable as possible and we’ll always go the extra mile to make you feel at home. With a choice of accommodation ranging from self-contained guest houses to our eight-bed dorm room there’s something for everyone, and every budget too. Spend time in our main house, relax in the garden and soak up the sun or enjoy the pleasures of an open-air braai or boma on the cooler nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your 2B Happy Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 2B Happy Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.