We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but go to the city!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brown Sugar Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brown Sugar Backpackers
Save
You added Brown Sugar Backpackers to your Saves list
75 Observatory Avenue | Observatory, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, but go to the city!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a very nice place! People are very kind, and you have the opportunity to meet travellers.
You have everything you need inside the hostel, but the city is out there!
Even if everybody tells you the city, and downtown, is dangerous and you cannot go anywhere (this is not true), try to meet someone from the city, someone that understands the place and can show you the real Joburg. If not, you are going to stay in the hotel, making expensive tours in a private car...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    25
    10
    12
See reviews for
8
19
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The double room was comfortable enough and the shared bathroom was clean with a good shower. I only stayed here for one night so the location wasn't too important. The hostel shuttle picked me up for free from the airport. Breakfast basic but ok. Friendly staff and nice bar with tv and pool table. Only complaint is that towels aren't included and for 400 rand a night, maybe they should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad backpackers but the staff make the whole fun experience of a backpackers terrible. They are never happy and not there to help. Stay here if u don't want to smile. Rooms are ok but fairly expensive. Basic Breakfast is included. Worst stay in our 3 months in Africa

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed here 2 nights, room ok but the mould in the bathroom and leaking shower really should be repaired. the owners were friendly but also a bit intense. on reflection I think they were trying to make sure we made the most of our time in Jozi but sometimes travellors just need to chill and not constantly be on the move. the service was very good, the meals ok and they are a bas buz pickup point.

once the owners left for the day and the place was turned over to the staff and it was super noisy during the night. the fact our room was directly under the bar and the TV was way TOO loud and the use of the pool table til early hours of the morning meant we really didn't get much sleep.

we asked for a twin en-suite and at R480.00 per night it was very expensive. this place is build on a very steep slope so be prepared for climbing LOTS of stairs with your luggage and possibily having to drag it all back down again if your room is located under the bar/deck area or if you are in a dorm up narrow, dark stairs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

I would have given them 3 stars if it weren't for the staff. They had terrible customer service. In 6 weeks of South African travel, this was the most expensive double room (400 rand) and the smallest, and by far the worst customer service in the country. I did meet the owners for 5 minutes and they seemed to really care that you were having a good stay, but the rest of the time (4 days, 3 nights) the staff would never offer a smile, even though we were extremely polite and always said thank you whenever they did anything for us (like sold us Internet time, accepted our payment for another night, etc). They do have a good breakfast included on the price of the room, but you do pay for it with the high price. The showers lack hooks, so good luck with your clothes and towel not falling on the floor. The wifi did not work at all while we were there and the Internet went out as well. It costs 20 rand for an hour. They do not keep track of your Internet time, but are happy to tell you that you have been on for too long or tell you that you did not pay even though you have a receipt to prove you did. We were accused of using all of our time earlier in the day, even though we said "we will use our last 15 minutes later, okay?" and they agreed that it would be fine. Later, three of them argued with me over and over that we had used it all up, even though we kept track of it and even though I explained it calmly (and had bought 4 hours of time-it's not like we weren't willing to pay for internet!). It was very offensive how rude they were, especially because they were in the wrong. The power went out one night around 8 pm, and they did not offer a candle or torch nor apologize the next day. They also refused to put our luggage in the huge, locked, half-empty luggage storage area and just set it behind the desk instead, which is sometimes staffed with a person and often times is not. They did not empty the trash every day. There were rodents outside in the courtyard. Here is the worst part: there was a drunk fist fight between guests one night (one of the guys involved even had stolen small items from another guest in the dorm room and been caught when he was patted down by staff and not asked to leave at that point) and the police were not called and the guests were not asked to leave because the staff did not want the lodge to get a bad reputation. So, the rest of us just stayed in our rooms so as to not ET involved in the drunken mess, and had to avoid the drunk, fighting thief every time he walked by and started saying crazy stuff to us (which he did while wearing nothing but a loosely draped towel around his waist), even though we did not attempt to talk to him.  Do not stay here. The staff needs to be replaced. There are way too many people who  would be grateful for their job. Go to Diamond Digger's instead! (Where we moved to and were so grateful for). 

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed a couple of days in Brown Sugar before and after the 11 day Livingstone Trials tour (see my review on them also here on TA) which has a pickup from Brown Sugar.
First contacts were via e-mail and they were swift, friendly and very correct. The place itself is huge, but still gives you a pleasant feeling to it. It’s not too big or impersonal. Crew is (mostly) very fun and correct. Providing information, tour arrangements, and more than ok food during the day and evenings. Breakfast is average, but it’s included for free.
Accommodations come in many different options. And were perfect value for money. Showers come with good hot water (nice during the cold winters) and rooms were equipped with extra blankets and even electrical blanket for the cold nights. The free pickup service was nice and very convenient.

Central living room / bar is a nice place to meet fellow backpackers and to share tips and stories while traveling. Or watch movies or sport on the big tv. Bit aught though that they do not have a full license to sell beer from the bar. But they’ve found a work-a-round to solve that. Prices for internet access / WIFI are way too expensive. And should be offered for free, as we live in 2012.

Because of the multiple day Livingstone Trails tour on return Brown Sugar offered a free night, free dinner and free transportation to the airport! This was really amazing and very appreciated. The option to safely store remaining bags there for free was very convenient.

So the stay in Brown Sugar was pleasant and good value for money. The place is safe (you are staying in Joburg after all) and clean. And the location is good. Although the city is huge, so driving will take you some time. It’s a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancora, Peru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

After several months in West Africa it was a delight to arrive at Brown Sugar. The staff were helpful and friendly, it was clean, had all the facilities you wnat, lots of areas for relaxing indoors or out and extra touches like the sale of postcards and stamps which they then took to the post box for you.
The breakfast was great and the kitchen had all the things you need to prepare your own food or they do good pub lunches and a set meal at night.
The efficient airport pickup service was a pleasure and while it is located in a quiet pleasant suburb, they will arange transport to wherever you want to go or tell you how to use local transport.
A brilliant start or finish to your travels in South Africa

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.0 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Reef Hotel
The Reef Hotel
#32 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Curiocity Backpackers
Curiocity Backpackers
#3 of 78 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
Ghandi Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 78 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
5.2 mi away
HomeBase Melville
HomeBase Melville
#14 of 78 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Sugar Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Sugar Backpackers

Address: 75 Observatory Avenue | Observatory, Johannesburg 2198, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 'Ex-Mafia Mansion' offers clean, spacious, comfy and secure accommodation from camping, dormitories, family rooms, doubles, twin, triples and singles with shared or privite bathrooms. We are the largest hostel in Johannesburg and offer the following freebies: A Scrumptious breakfast, Free pick up from OR Tambo Airport and Park Station, Wi-Fi and internet, Lockers, day and long term storage, tea and coffee. Print, scan and postage facilities available. Self service coin operated laundry room. We have credit card facilities and our own ATM on site. We have our own drivers and vehicles for cheap shuttles to the shops and other locations. Our in-house tour guide is available daily for the most popular local tours of Joburg. The staff can assist you with a Kruger Park Tour, Victoria Falls or Chobe National Park tours. We are a Baz Bus stop and just waiting to welcome you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown Sugar Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.