We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Save Saved
You added Lebo's Soweto Backpackers to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We chose to do the 2-hour tour of Soweto. A driver was sent to Braamfontein station to pick us up and drove us back there after the tour. He was really nice and friendly and explained a lot of things to us as he was from Soweto (but he wasn’t taking part in the tour, he was just helping the Backpackers with the picking-up of people).
This has been a really interesting and original way of visiting Soweto. The use of bikes allowed us to be closer to the population and not only have a look at the location through car windows. Very moving experience.
Little disappointment though: in the highlights of the tour, Nelson Mandela’s house is mentioned. But note that it is not the entrance to the house. Just a look around it behind bars. And as we didn’t have much time, we could not stay longer there…
Otherwise, I find it a bit pricey compared to other attractions in Jo’burg but as part of the money is going to the community, I don't really mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
26
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jinja
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This guesthouse provides a great way to experience life in Soweto. To be able to see Soweto from the inside, and realize what a vibrant and safe neighborhood it actually is was a really great experience. Staff is friendly and helpful and the garden with the fire pitch is a great place to spend some time relaxing and socializing in the evenings. Bike tour was really nice. This place I would recommend because of the experience and the atmosphere.

Room Tip: I was in the twin room that had the window out to the dining room, it was a very nice room, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lebo and Lungi took my family and I (wife and two daugters aged 11 and 9) around the sites and sounds of Soweto. This was an amazing experience, which gave a balanced and experienced insight into the area. They say that history is written by the victors, but in the case of Soweto this line is less defined.
Although we didn't stay at the backpackers there was certainly a great vibe in the time we spent there and our hosts during the tour could not have been more helpful. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed in Soweto and it has been one of the most impressive visits during the holiday - the staff is very nice (although vegetarian is a flexible definition, it seems), and combining a stay here with one of the bicycle tours and/or the apartheid museum makes for a worthwhile destination.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I loved staying at Lebo's. I was travelling solo and was the only guest there during my stay, so I was sooo well looked after. Really nice place, clean rooms (and newer, brighter, better quality than a lot of others I have stayed at), secure hostel and rooms. Lovely staff and awesome bar area outside - loved hearing the beats from the street at night while sitting in the upstairs indoor-outdoor area having a few beers. If you are here, you HAVE to do the bike tour of Soweto, the guides were fantastic and there is so much history to the area.
(I was here around September 2012 but am just slow getting my review up)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanary-sur-Mer, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

You should stop here ! You are in the most famous township of the world, outside of the touristic Vilakazi street (Mandela's and Tutus houses), but only 30 minutes by walk. Then, you will feel the incredible atmosphere of this place and discover a warm population, with a big heart ! You will sympathize with a very nice staff (who cooks delicious dishes), with the owners Lebo and Maria (and their children), ready to help you everytime and talk about their experiences, Soweto, South Africa, ... Then, take your time here, and just go outside to understand a little bit the Soweto's spirit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A safe, comfortable place to stay in Soweto, friendly staff (they showed us around when we arrived), a very good vibe, excellent bicycle tour (fun, informative), a great stay, wish we could have stayed longer, recommended! Some observations: Security - They didn't find the key to our double room but we arrived in the evening and stayed for one night only. Luggage storage after checkout was a corner in one of the communal areas. We didn't mind, though. Sleep quality - Don't know for how long the loud music in the bar area outside continued in the evening because I used ear plugs (the bar area is a great place to hang out with staff and other travellers) + the room door opened to one of the communal rooms next to the communal kitchen. Airport pickup - The driver was late which resulted in a hassle but the driver was a very nice young man, and took special care to be there on time when we needed to return to the airport. Should have paid by cash to the driver because the hostel did not have cash to give to him and he needed to wait to receive the money through his bank.
This should be part of your stay in Johannesburg!

Room Tip: Rooms more removed from the communal areas (inside and outside) may be more quiet. Expect loud music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lebo's Soweto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;