We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lebo's Soweto Backpackers
Save
You added Lebo's Soweto Backpackers to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The friendliest people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out today. I stayed 2 nights in a single room. Everything was great, the people that work here and all of Soweto are the friendliest people. I took the 4 hour bike tour and it was great. I was able to see and so some things that a normal car tour would not be able to do. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to South Africa and I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
29
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I thought doing a bike tour would be a relaxing way to see Soweto. It certainly was. We meandered along at a leisurely pace, stopped at a few places, and enjoyed the food.
The problem was the price. It cost R480 or ~$60 per person for the tour. For that price, no matter what country I'm in, I would expect to have comfortable bikes and a highly qualified tour guide. The bikes were all junk - brakes that didn't work, seats that didn't adjust, wheels off kilter, etc... In the mean time, the tour guide was NOT highly qualified. She was very friendly and fun to chat with, but misinformed. As we were staying with family, we shared some of what we learned with highly educated S. African's later that day. Apparently, we had been entertained but not very well educated.
In addition, they said they could pick us up in Joberg's Northern Suburbs for a "good price." When we got there, it turned out the price for the trip was R350, which is not a discount in the slightest.
For R240 per person, this is 4 stars. For R160, it's five stars. At the currently pricing structure, it is a rip-off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi! Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have such a great experience on our tour and that we did not meet your expectations. It seems as our operation was not 100% up to standard on the day of your tour and we are truly sorry about that. However, our guides are well trained and they are all from Soweto, they have been doing intense studying on Soweto's history and them being from the neighborhood puts them in a good position knowing life and culture of Soweto. We always make sure to include a "fun" element on the tour, we use singing, dancing and exposure to traditional customs as a way of "lighten" up the mood, perhaps it was too much of this element and not enough of education on history for you and we will definitely take this in to account!

Regarding our pricing - we do believe we offer good value for money and being a Fair Trade in tourism certified tour our guests can rest assure parts of their spending goes back to the community and to people around us. Regarding our shuttle, although it can feel pricey we beat as far as we know any cab or private shuttle service in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not only a great funky backpacker hostel, but also the place to book your bike tour of Soweto. If you are not feeling energetic or have younger children with you, ask for the TukTuk tour version. Great fun and less exhausting too. But book ahead as they only have a few tuktuk's. Plentybof bike's though.

We saw and learnt about a whole new side of Soweto, and this tour certainly displaced a lot of preconceptions for us. Well worth the 4 hours! At the end you head back to the backpackers for an easy lunch, with a local flavour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A very welcoming place to stay in Soweto with good vibes. Problem is that a lot of entertainment stuff doesn't work. example: pool table is broken, no ball for fooseball, and 1 of 2 TVs doesn't work. But all the bathrooms and important stuff works fine. It was just a little disappointing.

definitely do the bike tour. If you do the 4 hour tour, you dont need a helmet. if you do the full day, you DO need a helmet (they are available at Lebo's but optional)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaLebo, Manager at Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi! Thanks for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy you chose Soweto as one of your destinations. We do apologize that you found some of the entertainment not up to standard, sometimes things get broken or some of the kids mess around ;). We do however try to fix things as soon as we can. The best thing with Soweto however is that entertainment is right on our doorstep with a vibrant friendly community, cool music in our beach bar and all our friendly staff at the Backpackers! :) Hope to see you back one day and challenge you in a game of pool ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbabane, Swaziland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We wanted to explore Soweto from the inside so decided to stay at Lebo's Backpackers .....stay in Soweto and take their cycle tour.

Lebo's is a great little backpackers...rooms are basic but clean and tidy. The team who run it are friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere is relaxed and chilled out.

We had our 3 young kids with us and they found it a fun place to explore, climbing the tree to the secret lookout and playing with the table soccer etc.

We had limited time so opted for the 2 hour bike tour which was great fun....not too hard work......and very informative and entertaining The tour guides were both fun and informative.

If you want to see Soweto from the inside...dont hestitate to stay at Lebo's..we'll be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful backpackers with a great vibe! Please make some time during your holidays to spend at Lebo's backpackers! Great garden to spend your evenings around the campfire, dancing and relaxing with other travellers and friends of Lebo. During the day you can do a cycle tour in Soweto (awesome!) or discover Johannesburg. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is great, the sanitary is very clean, the environment is unforgettable! It was a real highlight during our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great nice arranged backpackers hotel, friendly and competent staff, good dinner if you want to, nice fire with people playing music, dancing, drinking and telling their stories... The 4-hour bike tour is a perfect way to discover Soweto, with local guides who make you discover cultural and historical aspects... Hope to come back there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lebo's Soweto Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lebo's Soweto Backpackers

Address: 10823A Pooe Street | Orlando West, Johannesburg 1804, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Johannesburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Lebo's Soweto Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Lebo`s Soweto Backpackers Hotel Johannesburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebo's Soweto Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.