We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Save
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long beach
1 review
“Very comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Cotswold gardens was very inviting after a long 22 hour flight. The rooms were very quaint, the service very hospitable, and grounds very tranquil. A close walk to an upscale mall and eclectic African market places this beautiful bed and breakfast at the perfect and safe location. We look forward to returning to this establishment where we felt like we were home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
41
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Cotswold Gardens is the perfect place to stay in Johannesburg. The B&B is conveniently located to all major attractions and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. And the breakfast is delicious!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My fourth time in Joburg and third time in Cotswold Gardens. The rooms are large, cozy (they have heating) and very clean. Excellent money´s worth. The owners, Mike and Janine are always around to make sure we are very well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We booked the whole place for the time of the Soccer World Cup 2010 after our excellent experiences during the Confederations Cup in 2009. Cotswold Gardens is a perfect place to stay. The owners Janine and Mike Hobbs make you feel like being home just as Maria an Aaron who prepare not only a great breakfast but give you a wonderful feeling of being welcomed. All prejudices of Joburg as a dangerous and violent city are wiped away in this wonderful oasis... Whenever going back to JNB I will return to Cotswold Gardens... Arne Richter (dpa)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The rooms were large clean and well appointed.
The service was excellent.
The house and gardens are lovely and the location is very central and easily accessed.
The owners were exceedingly accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

During the World Cup this was our newsroom , our base camp and our retretat. The owners Janine & Mike as well as the staff (Maria & Aaron) go the extra mile in order to have their clients satiesfied. It's a remarkable caring and unintrusive attention they offer to their guests, who feel immediately at home and amongst friends. This is a little oasis of well being in the very heart of Jo'burg!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had the best time! Thanks for an amazing time! Especially the breakfast was brillant. "It's match day" :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.