We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert T” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Save
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2014 rates for January
Ranked #4 of 235 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Robert T”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have being staying at this guest house over a number of years.The service has been consistently good during this time. The accommodation has met my needs, the breakfast offering is comprehensive and a big attraction is the tranquil gardens amid the rush of the city. The location is ideal between the city and Sandton and is directly accessible from the freeway. Lastly the friendliness and the accommodating nature of the hostess is the cherry on the top.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much Robert, I really appreciate your wonderful review and hope you will be back again in the not too distant future. My best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
39
26
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Cotswold is such a beautiful homestay. From the moment you walk in, the beauty of the place strikes you- with beautiful purple trees and flowers and a huge garden. The rooms are absolutely delightful and the bathroom is very neat and clean. There is coffee, tea and cookies in each room and you are welcome to steal fruits from the dining area! The location is convenient- as it is walking distance (10 mins) from the Rosebank mall which has really good stores and the amazing Grillhouse (and a hoard of other restaurants). Janine is a wonderful and warm host and makes sure that you are taken care of as soon as you land. She arranges pick-ups and drops and cabs and would gladly make a reservation for you. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is super. I can't wait to go back! Thank you Janine xoxoxo

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which is the largest room, with a separate dressing area and a bathroom with a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
What an absolutely wonderful review, thank you so very much. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic location within walking distance to shopping, dining and entertainment; paired with comfortable and tasteful rooms as well as lovely hosts (Janine and Mike Hobbs)=an experience to be desired by anyone traveling in Johannesberg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of CG. I really appreciateit so very much and hope one day to see you back here again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Once you get inside the gates of Cotswold Gardens, it is hard to believe that you are in the middle of a large city. The gardens are just lovely and it is a real pleasure to just chill out and watch the many birds that visit.
Inside is just as good with very comfortable rooms and Mathias' breakfasts are just perfect.
Janine and Mike go to a lot of trouble to make sure that you have a wonderful stay and are perfect hosts.
We will definitely stay there again if we are ever in that area and would highly recommend it to others.
Kate Beecroft

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens.. It was so good to meet you both and we do hope you will visit our beautiful country again. Warm regards Janine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The beautiful gardens, the well appointed and comfortable rooms, the excellent breakfasts and the warm hospitality of owners Janine and Mike Hobbs make Cotswold Gardens a place to come back to year after year. A short, safe walk to the Rosebank African Craft Market is a definite plus. A wide variety of restaurants close by as well as a booklet supplied for take away orders to be delivered to your room from restaurants offering Italian, Chinese, Indian, and good old hamburgers was a very helpful. Janine and her staff make sure you are comfortable and she is a wealth of knowledge about Johannesburg and all it has to offer. My yearly trips to our sister Hospice in Zululand always end with a few days in JoBurg. This was my first stay at Cotswold Gardens, but only the first of many more to come! It is so well deserving of the highest quality rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
What a wonderful review. Ruth, I thank you so much for this and am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at Cotswold Gardens. i do look forward to your visit again next year. All the very best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris (France)
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I go to Johannesburg fairly often for business and try different guesthouses almost each time! My criteria are pretty straightforward in that I am looking for a nicely decorated self-catering unit that is clean, safe and totally quiet, with the owners living on the premises.

Cotswold Gardens definitely matched my expectations and Jeanine was extremely pleasant and professional to deal with.

Although I found that I could hear a bit too much traffic noise from the nearby road and from the neighbors using the same staircase as mine (but then, I am noise intolerant), I am giving the highest mark because of the electrical blankets which proved a blessing in an otherwise cold Johannesburg in August. I am not used to floor heating at all and had the impression the rooms were not heated... until I slipped under the bed covers!!! This says everything about how caring the owners are for the well being of their guests. I soon regretted them when I moved into the next guest house...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Cotswold Gardens and I do hope you will return to stay with us again some day. Warm regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at a number of very good guesthouses/B & B's in Johannesburg and all offer spacious rooms, pleasing properties, appetizing breakfasts etc. Cotswold Gardens is conveniently situated and is up to the same standard as its accomplished competitors at the top of the Johannesburg scene. Where it really distinguishes itself is in the level of service which is exceptional. Janine sets the standard to make sure her guests are comfortable and is extremely helpful in making people aware of all the possibilities the area has to offer. The staff are professional and very accommodating. With its reasonable pricing for an upmarket guesthouse, Cotswold is an excellent choice for a visit to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your absolutely marvelous review. I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Cotswold Gardens so much. It is great to hear that we did not disappoint you especially as you have stayed in so many guesthouses/B&B's in Johannesburg. We look forward to your next visit. Warm regards. Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.