We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and fab hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Less 10% for 3 days +
Ranked #4 of 229 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Harpenden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent accommodation and fab hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a wonderfully relaxed and friendly place to stay - a spacious and comfortable room, delicious breakfasts both buffet and cooked; attentive and friendly staff and a stunning garden and pool to relax in.Thank you Janine and Mike and team for your wonderful hospitality and I look forward to staying with you again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much Meg, what a superb review and truly appreciated. I am happy that you enjoy staying at Cotswold Gardens and look forward to your return later in the year. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
35
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have yet to find a place that has the same warmth and comfort as that of Cotswold Gardens. Janine and Mike are absolutely wonderful hosts. We are ever grateful for their kindness and support during our stay at their lovely premise in Saxonwold over several occasions between December 2011 and December 2012 . The service is nothing less than excellent. Cotswold Gardens is truly a home away from home. A treasure for any traveler. Thank you Janine, Mike, and the Cotswold Gardens team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Neema thank you so much for writing such a wonderful, positive and glowing review. We hope that one day you will return to Johannesburg and stay at CG. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Thank you to Janine for being super efficient and very welcoming. Accommodation was pleasant and conveniently located. I would highly recommend using this B&B and would stay again without hesitation when next in Johannesburg. 5 mins from the Gautrain and 30 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I hope to see you back at Cotswold Gardens in the near future. Kind regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadhurst
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Janine went out of her way to help us when we had to change dates at short notice.She and her staff made our stay very calm and relaxed. The faclities were excellent, the gardens magnificent and the breakfasts could not have been bettered. Throughout our 6 night stay we felt we were being unobtrusively looked after, from being offered an international adaptor plug on arrival, to help loading the car on departure. A definite 'will return to' on our next visit to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The self catering apartment had everything one needed to be independent if one chose to be, enough c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. We hope to see you here again soon. Best regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at Cotsowold Gardens in one of the self catering flats for over a month. The place is very well located close to Rosebank mall. I really enjoyed staying here, owners and staff were very friendly and the guesthouse was great. It has a very nice pool and garden .. the rooms are very well kept. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I will definitelty stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Gian hi, thank you for your review written so promptly after you left. I hope your trip back to Colombia was good. I am pleased your accommodation came up to the standard that you were looking for and I must tell you my staff were so delighted with the fact that you could speak to them in their own language, that was a real bonus for them. Look forward to your staying again when next in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent b&b, I would reccomend it to anybody who is in johannesburg, very spacious rooms, and an atmoshpere that makes you feel at home.

The service is great, and it is located securely. It is also in close proximity to a very nice shopping mall.

I will definitely stay there again when I need a place in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Adib, thank you for your review, I am most grateful. It was so interesting to meet your family and I do hope we will see you again when you come in to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Provided a practical and convenient venue for accomodation while on business in Johannesburg for 3 days. What worked the most for me was the dedicated study area, adjoining the bedroom and large bathroom and comfortable room. Very decent breakfast and hospitable hosts. I would have preferred a bar fridge in the room to keep my own refreshments chilled.

Room Tip: Room No2 has the dedicated study area. Bath and shower although the shower is not very practical for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Matthew
Thank you so much for doing a review on CG. Regarding the Bar Fridge, there is one in the cupboard on the right hand-side of the desk/working space area. All our rooms have bar fridges for the guests convenience. What a pity, I could have corrected this for you at the beginning of your stay. Hope to see you again when you are in this part of Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 229 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list