We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm oasis in a bustling city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% discount for 3 nights
Ranked #5 of 232 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Wadhurst
1 review
“A calm oasis in a bustling city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Janine went out of her way to help us when we had to change dates at short notice.She and her staff made our stay very calm and relaxed. The faclities were excellent, the gardens magnificent and the breakfasts could not have been bettered. Throughout our 6 night stay we felt we were being unobtrusively looked after, from being offered an international adaptor plug on arrival, to help loading the car on departure. A definite 'will return to' on our next visit to Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The self catering apartment had everything one needed to be independent if one chose to be, enough c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. We hope to see you here again soon. Best regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
38
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at Cotsowold Gardens in one of the self catering flats for over a month. The place is very well located close to Rosebank mall. I really enjoyed staying here, owners and staff were very friendly and the guesthouse was great. It has a very nice pool and garden .. the rooms are very well kept. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I will definitelty stay again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Gian hi, thank you for your review written so promptly after you left. I hope your trip back to Colombia was good. I am pleased your accommodation came up to the standard that you were looking for and I must tell you my staff were so delighted with the fact that you could speak to them in their own language, that was a real bonus for them. Look forward to your staying again when next in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent b&b, I would reccomend it to anybody who is in johannesburg, very spacious rooms, and an atmoshpere that makes you feel at home.

The service is great, and it is located securely. It is also in close proximity to a very nice shopping mall.

I will definitely stay there again when I need a place in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Adib, thank you for your review, I am most grateful. It was so interesting to meet your family and I do hope we will see you again when you come in to Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Provided a practical and convenient venue for accomodation while on business in Johannesburg for 3 days. What worked the most for me was the dedicated study area, adjoining the bedroom and large bathroom and comfortable room. Very decent breakfast and hospitable hosts. I would have preferred a bar fridge in the room to keep my own refreshments chilled.

Room Tip: Room No2 has the dedicated study area. Bath and shower although the shower is not very practical for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Matthew
Thank you so much for doing a review on CG. Regarding the Bar Fridge, there is one in the cupboard on the right hand-side of the desk/working space area. All our rooms have bar fridges for the guests convenience. What a pity, I could have corrected this for you at the beginning of your stay. Hope to see you again when you are in this part of Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can recommend this guest house wholeheartedly, in fact is is more than a guesthouse with the hosts so helpful and their beautiful place full of impressive artworks.

There are delightful touches like the home-baked biscuits and freshly baked croissants for breakfast.
The area is safe and if you are lucky enough to go at Jacaranda time you will be in for a treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Stella hi, thank you so much for your great review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stay here. Hope to see you again on your next trip to SA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Sadly we were only able to spend one night at this delightful guest house. Janine and Mike were perfect hosts - warm, friendly and extremely helpful. We would have loved to stay on for a few days to enjoy the beautiful gardens and the comfortable accommodation - next visit to South Africa will most definitely include a longer stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet with a leafy outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Shirley
Thank you so much for your terrific review, I loved the photograph you sent of the 6 of you. I really hope to see you here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A wonderful guest house. Janine and the team were very attentive but not intrusive. The guest house has lovely gardens and a pool - the perfect retreat to relax in after a day in the vibrant and busy city. Traveling as a solo female, I felt safe and secure and well looked after the whole time. Highly recommended. Great value for money.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in had its own entrance separate from the main guest house so that I could come an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Laura hi, many thanks for your great review of Cotswold Gardens and I'm delighted you enjoyed Room 4. I hope that you will return someday and I wish you all the very best for a wonderful festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list