We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswold Gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Save Saved
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
For 3 nights or more.
Ranked #4 of 233 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
D.C.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cotswold Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we spent three nights here...it was absolutely delightful...a wonderful room, a great breakfast, and super service...I was a bit concerned about staying in Johannesburg...this was a very safe place...and it was close to the places we wanted to visit...we also did a tour of Johannesburg/Soweto and the van came to the house to pick us up

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. I appreciate it so much that you took the time to write a review and hope to see you back in JHB again one day.
Regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
38
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bree, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stayed in Cotswold Gardens in the end of our three week road trip through South-Africa, just to relax for a couple of days .Mike and Janine made us feel very welcome, as did all of their staff. Their friendlyness and helpfullness made us feel right at home! The B&B has everything you could wish for: clean and comfortable rooms, a tasty breakfast, a beautiful garden... all on a walking distanbce from Rosebank Mall.
If we go back to Johannseburg, we certainly will go back to Cotswold Gardens

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you Bree for your super review of CG, it is much appreciated and I hope you will make your way back here again in the not too distant future.
Warm regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On our trip to South Africa we decided to avoid hotels and stay in B&B guest houses. We read a review of Cotswold Gardens in a guide book and made a reservation. The owner helped arrange our airport transfer and was standing in the garden to greet us on arrival, literally! We found this guest house to be lovely, situated in a very nice neighborhood of tree-lined streets. The owner was very helpful in getting us settled and advising us on attractions, restsurants, shopping. Our room was very comfortable, looking out on a small garden. The bathroom was large and well-equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful & tasty, with eggs and bacon cooked to order. You can easily walk to the Rosebank Mall. We highly recommend this guest house!

Room Tip: Ask for room #3 if you want a room looking outvon a small garden & fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much Craig, your lovely review of CG is much appreciated. We hope to see you again one day. Best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at Cotswold Gardens for the second time in November 2012. As before, Janine and Mike are extremely welcoming and helpful with recommendations and practical matters; the room was well maintained and equipped, and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Most important, Janine's artistic eye and attention to detail is evident everywhere, making this B & B a true haven from the minute you walk through the door into the magnificent garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for ;your lovely review for the second time! We are so pleased that you enjoy staying at CG and look forward to your third visit in the near future. Warm regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would really recommend this B&B to everybody! We have spend 3 weeks in South Africa and all people are extremely nice, but the owners here are truly fantastic! Janine and Mike are the most welcoming, helpful and lovely people! The B&B has everything you could wish for : a beautiful / peaceful garden, lovely rooms, yummy breakfast and very nice staff. You feel straight at home! We had a lovely time there! It’s just perfect and 100% worthwhile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hylke, thank you so much for your lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed here late in September and found everything just perfect - spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, and a warm welcome from Janine and Mike. Very central, too, in a safe, leafy suburb of the city.
We have booked to stay again - a place we will always come back to when going to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
David hi, Thank you so much for your great review CG. I appreciate it so much and look forward to seeing you both at the end of January 2013. Best regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 9 nights and had such a wonderful and relaxing time. In fact Cotswold Gardens was the highlite of our 2 weeks in South Africa. This was our 2nd time staying at 46 Cotswold Gardens.
The accomodation is clean, comfortable ,up to date and spacious.
The breakfasts were fantastic, better than any fancy hotel. great food and amazing service. Nothing was too much.
Our hosts Mike and Janine made us feel so welcome ,like family.
Cotswold Gardens is so well situated . Close to everywhere. And SAFE. Beautiful gardens and pool.
My wife and I, both in our 60's have travelled all over the world and we can honestly say that this is hard to beat.
Worth every cent and more.
You better book quickly before everone finds this gem.

Room Tip: Room 2 was our room. 2 new upstairs rooms looked amazing as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Ron & Gwen
Thank you so much for your superb review of Cotswold Gardens. I am so pleased you felt so relaxed here and enjoyed our little oasis! Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.