We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Gardens Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johannesburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotswold Gardens Guest House
Save
You added Cotswold Gardens Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 260 Johannesburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On our trip to South Africa we decided to avoid hotels and stay in B&B guest houses. We read a review of Cotswold Gardens in a guide book and made a reservation. The owner helped arrange our airport transfer and was standing in the garden to greet us on arrival, literally! We found this guest house to be lovely, situated in a very nice neighborhood of tree-lined streets. The owner was very helpful in getting us settled and advising us on attractions, restsurants, shopping. Our room was very comfortable, looking out on a small garden. The bathroom was large and well-equipped. The breakfast buffet was plentiful & tasty, with eggs and bacon cooked to order. You can easily walk to the Rosebank Mall. We highly recommend this guest house!

Room Tip: Ask for room #3 if you want a room looking outvon a small garden & fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much Craig, your lovely review of CG is much appreciated. We hope to see you again one day. Best regards
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
41
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at Cotswold Gardens for the second time in November 2012. As before, Janine and Mike are extremely welcoming and helpful with recommendations and practical matters; the room was well maintained and equipped, and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. Most important, Janine's artistic eye and attention to detail is evident everywhere, making this B & B a true haven from the minute you walk through the door into the magnificent garden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for ;your lovely review for the second time! We are so pleased that you enjoy staying at CG and look forward to your third visit in the near future. Warm regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would really recommend this B&B to everybody! We have spend 3 weeks in South Africa and all people are extremely nice, but the owners here are truly fantastic! Janine and Mike are the most welcoming, helpful and lovely people! The B&B has everything you could wish for : a beautiful / peaceful garden, lovely rooms, yummy breakfast and very nice staff. You feel straight at home! We had a lovely time there! It’s just perfect and 100% worthwhile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Hylke, thank you so much for your lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we stayed here late in September and found everything just perfect - spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, and a warm welcome from Janine and Mike. Very central, too, in a safe, leafy suburb of the city.
We have booked to stay again - a place we will always come back to when going to Johannesburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
David hi, Thank you so much for your great review CG. I appreciate it so much and look forward to seeing you both at the end of January 2013. Best regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 9 nights and had such a wonderful and relaxing time. In fact Cotswold Gardens was the highlite of our 2 weeks in South Africa. This was our 2nd time staying at 46 Cotswold Gardens.
The accomodation is clean, comfortable ,up to date and spacious.
The breakfasts were fantastic, better than any fancy hotel. great food and amazing service. Nothing was too much.
Our hosts Mike and Janine made us feel so welcome ,like family.
Cotswold Gardens is so well situated . Close to everywhere. And SAFE. Beautiful gardens and pool.
My wife and I, both in our 60's have travelled all over the world and we can honestly say that this is hard to beat.
Worth every cent and more.
You better book quickly before everone finds this gem.

Room Tip: Room 2 was our room. 2 new upstairs rooms looked amazing as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Ron & Gwen
Thank you so much for your superb review of Cotswold Gardens. I am so pleased you felt so relaxed here and enjoyed our little oasis! Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 1 month (August 2012) in this spacious, impeccably kept, beautiful Johannesburg property. Janine and Mike were wonderfully welcoming and the staff are just the best ever. Comfortable spacious rooms - more storage space than one could wish for, under-carpet heating. Fabulous breakfast and gorgeous garden and veranda to sit on. Ideally located next to Rosebank mall and very close to the Gautrain station. The most responsive and quick laundry service we've ever known. Will never go anywhere else.
Ethne and Andy

Room Tip: Room 3 was perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Andy thank you for your reveiw of CG. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your long stay with us. I wish you and your Mum all the best for the coming year. Warm regards Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We spent one night here in March 2012. The hosts Janine and Mike were a great help to us, very warm and welcoming, even though we only stayed one night. When there was a mix-up with the car that was to pick us up at the airport, they even came in their own car to pick us up from the Gautrain station.
The room was lovely, stocked with maps and fresh cookies, and the gardens and neighborhood peaceful. The Rosebank mall is a walkable distance away through a very charming neighborhood, although due to security (which is a concern for all of Joburg) we only made the walk in the midday hours. Janine had lots of great recommendations and was both were extremely helpful.
Thanks to our hosts who made our short time in Joburg such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
46Cotswold, Owner at Cotswold Gardens Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Cotswold Gardens. It is much appreciated and we hope to see you again for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Gardens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gardens Guest House

Address: 46 Cotswold Gardens | Saxonworld, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 260 B&Bs / Inns in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gardens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Gardens in Saxonwold Johannesburg is a 4 Star guesthouse offering peace, tranquility and the very best in personal attention.Our rooms are clean and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. The house is warm and inviting in winter and in summer, relaxing in the garden to the sounds of many different species of birdlife brings joy to many of our guests. We are great art lovers and this can be seen by the many examples of artwork displayed in all of the rooms. We offer a full English breakfast which our guests have always raved about. Our two self-catering suites are in great demand. They are fully equipped and perfect for long stays. They are perfect for a single person or a couple. Our location is without a doubt one of our main attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Gardens Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.